Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 18 Nov 2019, 23:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Dpup Exprimo 5.X.15
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 95 of 148 [2213 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, ..., 146, 147, 148 Next
Author Message
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 271

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 06:04    Post subject:  

update to 8.01. problem has been fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 13:24    Post subject:  

Seamonkey wants to update ... anyone allowed that yet?

All good or do they share the Firefox bug?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5485
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 16:03    Post subject:  

Edoc. No I havent tried. I think you could test it with pfix=ram condition and let it update. Then you see it yourself. Be adventurous. That`s what puppy is. Fun and experiment is the fuel for us.

I have wondered how people get the Firefox 8.0.1 update. Mine Exprimo does not offer that update when I click Help > About Firefox. Just curious. No really need for me. I have fixed the Firefox bug in 5.X.10.2 version already which is my test bed now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 17:36    Post subject:  

I will have to be adventurous on one of our other Puppy computers - this one is sorta "mission-critical" and I in the middle of a major home addition - so no free time to fix anything big that might have avoided breaking. Smile

I just observed that my wife had gone ahead and accepted the update on her laptop and it appears to be working fine.

So it may be all-good.

Sure good to have this Forum back.

Thanks for everything!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

Last edited by edoc on Tue 29 Nov 2011, 18:56; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6734
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 17:45    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:

I have wondered how people get the Firefox 8.0.1 update. Mine Exprimo does not offer that update when I click Help > About Firefox. Just curious. No really need for me. I have fixed the Firefox bug in 5.X.10.2 version already which is my test bed now.


I'm running both 5.X.9 and 5.X.10.2.....both Firefox's auto-updated here to 8.0.1. Had to apply the fix to 5.X.9 ,5.X.10.2 worked fine ootb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6734
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 17:47    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
Seamonkey wants to update ... anyone allowed that yet?

All good or do they share the Firefox bug?


On my 5.X.9 install, SeaMonkey updated to 2.5 before I did the Firefox "fix"......appeared to work correctly with no problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5485
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 18:28    Post subject:  

Our unbelievable distro hopper, as positive expression, has provided all the needed information about browser updates. Only my Firefox does not want to update. Finnish shyness...perhaps.
Thank you James C.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 815
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 21:35    Post subject:  

Pemasu,

In Firefox, go to : Edit -> Preferences -> Advanced

The settings are the update tab.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
soundNICK

Joined: 13 Oct 2010
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 00:38    Post subject:  

pemasu - Hi. Glad to report that the rock-solid eXprimo
(im using "5.8") is still performing faultlessly... remastering and
PPM both work perfectly, as do all my favorite apps - but, I do
have two issues regarding text stuff in the shell

1) when writing an alias_ example, in a terminal I can type:
alias yahoo='echo eXprimo rocks !' now ENTER key, and this
alias works after typing "yahoo"_but_ is retained only for current
session. I want to keep a file so aliases would be available also
in later sessions - however; trying an "aliases" text file, even when
this is made executable, does not load or make the
aliases useable (??)

2) ROXTERM (this is now default in 5.9 I believe_ soundNICK
waves the roxterm flag : - ). I cannot find a configuration file in which
to set roxterm terminal geometry

sorry if all this is fixed in 5.9. Any help appreciated.
aliasProblem.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  aliasProblem.png 
Filesize  12 KB 
Downloaded  213 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5485
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 14:18    Post subject:  

SoundNICK.
/etc/profile.local is the place to insert your own aliases:
alias yahoo='echo Exprimo rocks'

About Roxterm. I will keep on urxvt now.
How to change geometry with Roxterm. I dont know.
For urxvt the file is: /root/.Xdefaults but I am not sure if Roxterm reads it.
I believe generic google method will show you from where Roxterm reads its parameters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 16:19    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
Seamonkey wants to update ... anyone allowed that yet?
All good or do they share the Firefox bug?


Allowed the Seamonkey update to 5x9 on my laptop - all appears well.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5485
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 17:14    Post subject:  

Edoc. Seems safe then...if you dont feel insane. Lol.
Sorry. Have had really tough day at work today. Decided to clone one of reference site in the evening. So far hundreds of pages of occupational html pages and 221 pdf documents-articles-howto-manuals and still downloading.... Something to read if I feel like boring. Decided to take them to Lapland.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pulmac

Joined: 26 Sep 2011
Posts: 20
Location: Monterrey, Mexico :)

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 17:33    Post subject: Re: Dpup Exprimo 5.X.9
Subject description: 2.6.39.4 kernel, 14.10.2011 woof, 23.10.2011 build debian squeeze distro
 

pemasu wrote:


Download link: http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/DpupSqueeze5X/DpupExprimo5X9/

....
laptop_tools_all-dpup-0.0.1 --- laptop functionality I add to all my builds, modified to use squeeze apps




what do have in this package ?

I'm looking for something to make some Fn+FKeys work in my laptop, I was wondering if this can help, I'm using Finlandia, I'll give it a try to you Dpup as soon as I can.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5485
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 17:47    Post subject:  

It has xbindkeys and xbindkeys-config (in menu) which helps to create keybindings.
It has a lot other things also. I have posted several slightly different laptop pets during months.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
soundNICK

Joined: 13 Oct 2010
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 22:21    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
SoundNICK.
/etc/profile.local is the place to insert your own aliases:
alias yahoo='echo Exprimo rocks'

pemusu - thanks so much for taking time to reply. Sorry to
bother you again with this... it seems to be something not
enabled in the kernel(?), where nothing changes/takes effect
at user level [whatever is tried with text shell commands].

I did try aliases in /etc/profile and /etc/profile.local, and as I first
commented, a regular aliases text file, which is the old way.
None of this works, even with EXPORT or making executable, so again
I have to presume it is simply not enabled... however, I wont suggest
changing your kernel for sake of some text aliases - I like eXprimo
too much as it is Smile

soundNICK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 95 of 148 [2213 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, ..., 146, 147, 148 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0718s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0200s) ][ GZIP on ]