Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Nov 2017, 09:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
XFE (X File Explorer) - file manager for Lucid 525
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [49 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 21:22    Post subject:  

Hey, thanks for the answers.

@ Sylvander its a frugal install, i didn't read the benefits of 005, i'll check now. And i used that method you said.
Is it safe to remove the .pet? Will i have rox work as always?
If i can't make XFE the default, can i at least use the desktop drive icons but without poping up ROX-filer?

@ `f00

I didn't understand very well... doing that would work as i wanted?



thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 808
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 21:59    Post subject:
Subject description: ..
 

desktop driveicons are pretty much as they were originally set up to work with rox by BK (in other words, not for the faint-of-heart-nor-skill to change) but you can try if you're the adventurous type.

editing pmount is safer Wink

rox is basically good to go in the original sfs of your pup. "work as always" depends on what changes you've made, but it's fairly robust so.. (haha, I just remembered doing some things that fubar'd gtk a long time ago & that rendered rox and many other gtk-based apps temporarily useless but not xfe since xfe uses fltk)

the rox->openwith->xfe dodge I mentioned just in passing, there's a particular way to make it work properly as expected if I recall (why the Confused emoticon, I've only done it rarely)

good luck and have fun
___addenda120518 (sleeping dogs smile)
a few this'n'that, fwiw:

lines for filetypes section of xferc to enable 2-4fs and sfs open(mount/unmount):
2fs=filemnt;2fs file system;2fs_32x32.png;2fs_16x16.png;;
3fs=filemnt;3fs file system;3fs_32x32.png;3fs_16x16.png;;
4fs=filemnt;4fs file system;4fs_32x32.png;4fs_16x16.png;;
sfs=filemnt;Squash file system;sfs_32x32.png;sfs_16x16.png;;
SFS-=filemnt;Squash file system;sfs_32x32.png;sfs_16x16.png;;

typical filetype entry etc:
png=gqview,gview,mtpaint;PNG Image;png_32x32.png;png_16x16.png;;
<ext>=<open>,<view>,<edit>;<a description>;<bigicon>;<smallicon>;;
note - full path(s) for open/view/edit may be used if desired

pmount I use (from q142) as a SAMPLE:
rename your original /usr/sbin/pmount to pmountOEM, then
rclick->Properties, Permissionstab and tick the execute flags to try this
1932duo.png
 Description   blurb-pic for duo (no release since it's too darn big :roll: )
shows following icons and gives an idea of fltk 'theming'..
 Filesize   75.72 KB
 Viewed   1175 Time(s)

1932duo.png

xtraicons-xfe.tar.gz
Description  2-4fs, sfs and some tan folder icons for xfe
gz

 Download 
Filename  xtraicons-xfe.tar.gz 
Filesize  7.29 KB 
Downloaded  459 Time(s) 
pmountSAMPLE.tar.gz
Description  SAMPLE custom pmount
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmountSAMPLE.tar.gz 
Filesize  7.6 KB 
Downloaded  459 Time(s) 

Last edited by `f00 on Fri 18 May 2012, 15:49; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 11:28    Post subject:  

I just edited pmount and now it doesn't open rox everytime i click on mount... but i want to make use of the drive icons on the desktop, i'd like to make them behave like pmount, when i click on a drive icon, mount it but don't open rox nor xfe. But that seems hard... so i think i'll just leave it as always.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4297
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 15:19    Post subject:  

1. "Is it safe to remove the .pet?"
Yes.

2. "Will i have rox work as always?"
Yes.

3. "If i can't make XFE the default"
At some time in the past...
I DID make Xfe the default...
And it worked OK...
But, when I didn't want it to open, it was such a HUGE window...
So I uninstalled it, so as to go back to ROX opening instead [its a nice/small window, and easy to close].

4. "can i at least use the desktop drive icons but without poping up ROX-filer?"
I've no idea how to do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4757
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 12:47    Post subject:  

Quote:
can i at least use the desktop drive icons but without poping up ROX-filer?"



When the Rox desktop icon is clicked ------->
I think this can be done by changing the desktop file
in /usr/share/applications/



or else change the description of the desktop icon



___________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4297
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 19 May 2012, 13:19    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
When the Rox desktop icon is clicked ------->
I think this can be done by changing the desktop file
in /usr/share/applications/

What should that setting be changed to?
If I wanted NOTHING to auto-run when I clicked on an icon for a partition on the desktop/pinboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012, 00:16    Post subject:  

Hey, i managed to make it work as i wanted. I don't know if it's allright or what, but i modified AppRun, which is in .pup_event, there are 4 lines about rox, changed 2 of them so when i click on the drives XFE opens, and the icons still refresh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kooliepup


Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Victoria, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 20 May 2012, 02:55    Post subject:  

-now with *fs mounting-

I have been using XFE for years, and the thing I have always wished it had is partition mounting.
Recent versions have partition un-mounting, so it will probably happen some day.

Using 1.32.4, and still not there.

Some of the whizz coders here could surely help the developer out by implementing mounting, I reckon.

_________________
There's no place like 127.0.0.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1345
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sat 30 Sep 2017, 05:19    Post subject:  

Quote:
I have been using XFE for years, and the thing I have always wished it had is partition mounting.
Recent versions have partition un-mounting, so it will probably happen some day.

Using 1.32.4, and still not there.

Some of the whizz coders here could surely help the developer out by implementing mounting


So some years later ..........
I want to ask ......is there any Method how to mount /unmount Partitions with
XFE ?

Thanks in Advance !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 372
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 30 Sep 2017, 06:45    Post subject:  

https://sourceforge.net/p/xfe/feature-requests/208/?limit=25 says:

Quote:
In Xfe 1.42, there is now the possibility to enter custom mount / unmount commands in the Preferences / Program dialog.


Also see:

https://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-general-1/%5Bsolved%5D-view-other-devices-partitions-in-xfe-file-manager-4175550594/

It appears you might need to add some entries to /etc/fstab unless things have changed:

http://www.leonardoborda.com/blog/how-to-add-a-new-partition-to-the-fstab-file/

And, Ctrl-M according to:

http://roland65.free.fr/xfe/index.php?page=docs

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1345
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sat 30 Sep 2017, 07:55    Post subject:  

Thanks wiak !

No luck with your links .

Too complicated ?.......too dumb ?.....too lazy ?

Did another trick ....configured Desktop Drive Icons to open with XFE when clicked .
Now the clicked Device/Partition will be opened in XFE .....and so this (clicked )
Partition is also shown as mounted in XFE.....can also be unmounted again with XFE .
Anyway ....Thanks Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1345
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Wed 11 Oct 2017, 10:00    Post subject:  

Hi !
Regarding mounting Dives/Partitions with XFE ......maybe a few years later ....
or maybe it will be accomplished in my next Live .

Meanwhile :

"I didn't mean to take you up all your sweet time
I'll give it right back to you one of these days ....I said, I didn't mean to take you up all your sweet time
I'll give it right back to you one of these days
And if I don't meet you no more in this world...

.... I'lll meet you in the next one
.....don't be late......"

Voodoo Child :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZBlqcbpmxY
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1305

PostPosted: Fri 13 Oct 2017, 04:31    Post subject:  

backi wrote:
Thanks wiak !

No luck with your links .

Too complicated ?.......too dumb ?.....too lazy ?

Did another trick ....configured Desktop Drive Icons to open with XFE when clicked .
Now the clicked Device/Partition will be opened in XFE .....and so this (clicked )
Partition is also shown as mounted in XFE.....can also be unmounted again with XFE .
Anyway ....Thanks Smile



Hi Backi,

Two questions:

1) How do we get rid of the annoying popup from XFE (about being 'root') every time we open XFE?

2) Can you explain to me exactly how I do your trick? This: Did another trick ....configured Desktop Drive Icons to open with XFE when clicked . Now the clicked Device/Partition will be opened in XFE .....and so this (clicked )Partition is also shown as mounted in XFE.....can also be unmounted again with XFE .

Do I have to go into /root.pup_event folder and somehow modify each 'AppRun' script for every partition? If so, how and what?? Also, what happens when you plug a new USB or whatever in??? Does XFE from then on automatically grab it & mount it?

Or are you modifying for each partition the right-click menu option? Again, if so, what is it? And what happens when you plug something new in?? Do we have to manually do the modification each time???

I like XFE, since it seems more stable than SpaceFM when copying things, but this not mounting my partitions inside its open window is driving me nuts, and the annoying popup that "it is root" isn't helping things Cool
XFE-1.4.2-questions.png
 Description   
 Filesize   160.14 KB
 Viewed   32 Time(s)

XFE-1.4.2-questions.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Robert123

Joined: 20 May 2016
Posts: 370
Location: Pacific

PostPosted: Fri 13 Oct 2017, 04:41    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
backi wrote:
Thanks wiak !

No luck with your links .

Too complicated ?.......too dumb ?.....too lazy ?

Did another trick ....configured Desktop Drive Icons to open with XFE when clicked .
Now the clicked Device/Partition will be opened in XFE .....and so this (clicked )
Partition is also shown as mounted in XFE.....can also be unmounted again with XFE .
Anyway ....Thanks Smile



Hi Backi,

Two questions:

1) How do we get rid of the annoying popup from XFE (about being 'root') every time we open XFE?




Preferences/Dialog tab.

_________________
Devuan Linux, Stardust 013 (4.31) updated https://archive.org/details/Stardustpup013glibc2.10
s57(2018)barebonehttps://sourceforge.net/projects/puppy-linux-minimal-builds/files/s57%282018%29barebones.iso/download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1345
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Fri 13 Oct 2017, 04:47    Post subject:  

Hi Belham !
It is quite easy .....
For stopping popup "you are running as Root" ....go uncheck at the bottom Preferences>Dialogs>Warn if running as root
To make XFE (instead your default File-manager which opens every time you click Desktop Drive Icon )
Mouse right-click on some of the Drive Icons >Settings .....put in
File manger xfe $dir

Regards !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [49 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0798s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]