Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 12:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-520 beta4
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1400
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jul 2011, 07:10    Post_subject:  Fatdog64-520 beta4
Sub_title: All 64 bit.
 

I've uploaded beta 4.

Changes since beta 3:

Firefox-5.0.1
udev-166
Linux-3.0rc7
Other fixes.

James has made some needed improvements to Openbox's rc.xml and configured Sven to run at boot. So now some of the multimedia keys on your laptop should work, such as volume control keys. There's a icon in the tray to customize Sven. The big change is the kernel and it's configuration. I spent quite a bit of time going through the kernel config, think I've made some improvements.

Changes since beta 2:

Firefox-5.0
Thunderbird-5.0
Added Peasyscan.
Fixed encrypted saves
Fixed some mime types for Firefox and Thunderbird integration.
Added folder /usr/share/cups/model.
Other small fixes.

Changes since beta 1:

Upgrade to Mesa-7.10.3
Added Shinobar's SFS-on-the-fly
Added nmblookup
Recompiled kernel with Radeon KMS enabled by default.
Fixed JWM menu.
Fixed Downloads folder drag and drop.
Fixed Cups permissions.

The beta 1 notes and change log are here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69138
Get it here:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/fatdog/

Make sure you delete any old save files before testing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2082
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jul 2011, 08:46    Post_subject: Fatdog64-520 beta4  

I did a manual frugal install of beta 4.

Wed 13 Jul 2011 Operating System: Fatdog64-520 Linux 3.0.0-rc7
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5500 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: REDWOOD 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (508x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD REDWOOD
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10.3

AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 810 Processor
Core 0: 2593 1: 2593 2: 2593 3: 2593 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
302 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.361 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.004 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.004 FPS

No problems so far, thanks for changing the re-size save file limit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2082
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jul 2011, 15:42    Post_subject: Fatdog64-520 beta4  

I'm running beta 4 from the live cd with a save file.
I deleted the nouveau.ko driver and installed the nvidia proprietary
driver:
Wed 13 Jul 2011 Operating System: Fatdog64-520 Linux 3.0.0-rc7
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600 GT] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia: vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1280x1024 pixels (382x302 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 8600 GT/PCI/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 275.09.07

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600
Core 0: 2394 1: 2394 2: 2394 3: 2394 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.
# glxgears
51164 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10232.688 FPS
51179 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10235.609 FPS
51212 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10242.373 FPS

I'm using a linksys usb wireless adapter and it setup with frisbee and
is working fine.

kirk: I can install the nvidia proprietary driver on this desktop but on my other
desktop the ati proprietary driver won't install, what do I have to
change or delete to be able to install the ati proprietary driver?

The screenshot is from vlc running a hd video on channels.com
b4scrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   171.47 KB
 Viewed   1349 Time(s)

b4scrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1400
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jul 2011, 21:23    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the feedback Bill. Good to here about the Nvidia driver. ATI usually drags their collective butts when it comes to new kernels. Someone has probably made a patch for the kernel driver part of their package. The folks at Arch linux forum are pretty good about posting them. I'll make a ATI pet package when we get closer to final. James will make a Nvidia pet package for us.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9060
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jul 2011, 09:35    Post_subject:  

Flash player 11 for 64-bit Linux is now available. I ran a quick test in Fatdog and it looks fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1400
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jul 2011, 12:09    Post_subject:  

Thanks, Flash player 11b seems to work well. Just watched a movie trailer with it. It's big 18Mb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2082
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jul 2011, 21:59    Post_subject: Fatdog64-520 beta4
Sub_title: acer laptop
 

I did a frugal install of beta 4 to my acer laptop using the universal
installer.
Thu 14 Jul 2011 Operating System: Fatdog64-520 Linux 3.0.0-rc7
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Manhattan
[Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: PARK 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1600x900 pixels (423x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD CEDAR
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10.3

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 430
Core 0: 2260 1: 2260 2: 2260 3: 2260 MHz
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
303 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.452 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.956 FPS
Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR928X Wireless Network Adapter
(PCI-Express) (rev 01)
I installed/compiled a few applications, beta 4 is working well so far.
beta4scrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   154.76 KB
 Viewed   1250 Time(s)

beta4scrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 764
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 14:41    Post_subject:  

Hi kirk,

FD64b4 - very nice puppy, as always and mostly all seems ok.

However, one small niggle - acpi not working as in previous FD’s.

IE - previously, when shutting the lid of the laptop, FD64b3 and earlier, would suspend (ie - go to sleep) everything would shut down and only the power LED would be illuminated, indicating that power was still plugged in. All connected USB drives would also power down.

When the laptop lid was re-opened, everything would come back on when a key was pressed and wifi would be re-connected.

Sadly, none of this occurs with FD64b4, only the screen blacks out and re-activates when a key or touchpad is used. Everything else is still on.

Checked and re-checked to make sure I was not doing something dim, and can confirm that above is factual.

Not a show-stopper and am guessing that something in the new kernel is not activated.

JFYI - I usually run puppy live (ie no save-file) from either CD, USB stick or an SDcard.

Just for interest did also make a save-file in each medium, thinking that puppy boots so fast, if suspend don’t work, not the end of the world. Sadly no-go and to add injury, wifi settings were not fully retained.

Not sure about this but FD64b3 seems slightly snappier in operation,
file copy, transfer, disk mounting etc. (especially NTFS)

The only file-format that I have not yet tried is ext4.
Maybe there is an improvement to be seen there.

Anyway - thank you once again for all the sterling work you do to produce an outstanding OS.

Much appreciated.

Very best regards - Ray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 776
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 20:31    Post_subject: Great Job -- OpenBox (LX?) panel/Configuration Questions  

Hi Kirk,

Great Job. It runs flawlessly on my system:
Processor: 4x AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 945 Processor
Memory: 3375MB (268MB used)
Resolution: 1600x900 pixels
VGA compatible controller: ATI Radeon 3100 Graphics
Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI

Only two questions so far: I wanted to add mtpaintshapshot to the tray (or PupSnap if I ran into a problem that for unknown reasons occasionally shows up). LXpanel does not appear on the menu, but is in /usr/bin.
Are the "launchers," such as "show desktop," currently on the tray in Openbox via lxpanel? Or were they somehow entered manually? Note, clicking either the lxpanel script or executable in /usr/bin does not start anything.

Looking for a way to add to the tray, I went to desktop>Openbox Configuration Manager. A number of themes are demonstrated, but how to you change from the default theme? Sorry if this is a nooby question. I'm still just getting the hang of Openbox.

FYI: Via bootmanager, I have fd64-32bit-libs, wine-3.8 and LibreOfc64 starting at bootup. Via wine, I am able to run the following XP portables:
Foxit Reader, 7-zip and Filezilla, all on /mnt/home; and installed InfoCentral Relational Database. Pets I wrote in Lupu created menu entries for them and also (with a little editing) for Opera64 also on /mnt/home. The later apparently uses your installed Flash.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 20:38    Post_subject:  

Hi All,

Having a good experience with FDbeta4...cheers all 'round.

I find the core temps are higher with all FDs and wonder if there is a thermal hack to run a tad cooler. I'm around 10C on average higher than the one that shall have no name.

I jumped from beta 1 to beta 4 and now have sound. I had to "tab" into the capture settings to turn up the volume to get sound....but sound there is now...hooray!! I hope that's correct as it was a fast install.
TY,
Eric

PS..I use this as a daily OS as well as a CD boot for secure functions...again TY ALL

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1400
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 22:18    Post_subject:  

Ray MK,

Try the attached pet package. It contains a new acpid, which wasn't really the problem, and some modified scripts. After installing reboot and give it a try. There will also be a Suspend option in the menu for desktops to use. I haven't tested that though. With this pet installed, closing the lid should suspend and opening the lid should resume.


mikeslr,

You'll have to edit /usr/share/lxpanel/profile/default/panels/panel.

Caneri,

I don't know why it would run hotter. You did check this in beta4?
Acpid-2.0.10.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Acpid-2.0.10.pet 
Filesize  28.52 KB 
Downloaded  195 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 23:02    Post_subject:  

Hi Kirk,

I'm running 68.50C at a low usage at this moment.
Any ideas?

TY..Eric

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1400
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul 2011, 15:07    Post_subject:  

Caneri,

You could try this:

modprobe cpufreq_ondemand

Here's it definition:

'ondemand' - This driver adds a dynamic cpufreq policy governor. The governor does a periodic polling and changes frequency based on the CPU utilization. The support for this governor depends on CPU capability to do fast frequency switching (i.e, very low latency frequency transitions).

How are you getting your cpu temperature? I'm using a laptop and it can be hit or miss with those. Maybe I should build cpufreq_ondemand into the kernel. Let me know how it works for you, especially if you notice a performance hit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul 2011, 15:38    Post_subject:  

Howdy Kirk,
I am using a lappy (AMD X2) as well, and get my info from System>Hardinfo>Sensors.....

Here's a pic of the terminal.

Eric

EDIT: during the run for the modprobe I reached 71.38C and if that is accurate then it's hot. I'm aware of AMD running hot but I think it's a tad too hot for my comfort zone...TY
EDIT!: Kirk, this is on a USB stick with no alterations. I just D/L and install without changes to the original ISO...HTH
modprobe_ondemand.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.4 KB
 Viewed   336 Time(s)

modprobe_ondemand.jpg


_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1400
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jul 2011, 20:11    Post_subject:  

The i915.conf error is nothing to worry about. It will be fixed for final, probably just removed.

I don't get anything from System>Hardinfo>Sensors, but that's not unusual for laptops.


Try this:

modprobe powernow-k8 (this one may error)
modprobe acpi-cpufreq
modprobe cpufreq_ondemand

Install the attached pet package then do this:

cpufreq-info | grep current

You might need to run the "cpufreq-info | grep current" several times. With this setup the CPU frequency should automatically scale based on load. It does on my laptop, it currently shows two cores at 1.2GHz and two cores at 2.4GHz. I'll make this the default in the next kernel build. Thanks for the problem! Though I don't know if it will fix your temperature problem, but I suspect it will. The kernel is currently configured for "performance" which sets the CPU frequency to max. But if cpufreq_ondemand does it job all should be well.

P.S. The cpufrequtils will be in the next release as well. Don't know if we'll call that beta5 or RC1. What's in a name Smile
cpufrequtils-008-x86_64.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  cpufrequtils-008-x86_64.pet 
Filesize  19.23 KB 
Downloaded  248 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0989s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]