Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 07:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 312.37 110807
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 24 of 30 [437 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 448
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 07:24    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Brown Mouse wrote:
Glxgears not working for me.I get this, 'command not found'.

275 nvidia driver? I probably forgot it's inclusion.. Embarassed



Yes Micko 275 nvidia driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 07:30    Post subject:  

I guess one of the problems with the grey tray icons is non match by third party ones.
grey.png
 Description   
 Filesize   5.93 KB
 Viewed   889 Time(s)

grey.png


_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 07:37    Post subject:  

Brown Mouse, next version (delayed a few days) will have at least nvidia-280, including glxgears Smile

Dave.. SM-2.3b3 is 42 minutes through compiling at this minute.. (any second now Razz ).. will upload when done.
I guess when theming tray icons it's great at first... Laughing (gnome, kde, win7 all have that issue! Apple don't.. but then what can you do with a mac apart from eat it?)

EDIT: Seamonkey-2.3 Beta 3 uploaded [17M]

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 10:29    Post subject:  

Mick.. put your compile of 2.3 into the iso, no problems. No bugs so far. Why do we have the zdrv? is it to make re-builds easier during the development phase?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1399
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 16:52    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
peebee,
If you want to go the frisbee route, after your puppy install afresh, don't run any connection network wizard, but install directly frisbee and use it exclusively.


Hi Beem

Thank you for your advice which I have followed exactly including doing a reboot after installing Frisbee_beta-2-spup

After setting up my wifi connection I have no internet connection and the 2 versions of ip-info show quite different wifi states as shown in the attached screen shot.

Frisbee did work OK in the previous 311.37 spup.

Cheers
peebee
screen.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  screen.png 
Filesize  138.65 KB 
Downloaded  134 Time(s) 

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 17:20    Post subject:  

peebee
The right most ipinfo indicates you have a connection at 1Mbps.
This seems to indicate a problem between your wifi card and the router/modem.

As for the left most ipinfo I got that also at times.
Don't know why I got it.

Does your other PC with Wifi connects correctly to the same router/modem?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1399
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 18:49    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
peebee
The right most ipinfo indicates you have a connection at 1Mbps.
This seems to indicate a problem between your wifi card and the router/modem.

As for the left most ipinfo I got that also at times.
Don't know why I got it.

Does your other PC with Wifi connects correctly to the same router/modem?


hi beem

there's nothing wrong with the wifi or router - all other pups lupu/luci 525/528 and dpup5x2 and wary 513connect just fine with frisbee

only spup 312.37 that has problems....

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 19:38    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:


After setting up my wifi connection I have no internet connection and the 2 versions of ip-info show quite different wifi states as shown in the attached screen shot.

Frisbee did work OK in the previous 311.37 spup.

Cheers
peebee


peebee that makes sense as Frisbee overwrites sns and connection wizard scripts, so at some point could have two different as shown. I use Frisbee in spup and works ok once configured.

If you cannot use Frisbee exclusively to configure your driver and use sns or connection wizard to acquire your wifi, I did this once, just reboot before using Frisbee. after reboot only use Frisbee which will read those scripts and thus acquire your wifi settings. hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 20:21    Post subject:  

Hi guys

I am going to download kirk's RC of FatDog-64-520 and see what he has done with Frisbee. I'm pretty dumb when it comes to network stuff, although I'd love to write an utility that works from the prompt so wifi can be connected outside of X. Porteus Linux has a pretty cool one which I may steal some ideas from.

As for Brookdale... I plugged in my widescreen LCD to my brookdale machine and this time it worked! No special voodoo. Bummer really.. Rolling Eyes [mine is rev 1]

Charlie, MinHundHettePerro (cum, Chien, or Koira maybe Laughing ).. can you see the dialog boxes when they pop up after boot? That is the first run wizard by shinobar. [It certainly seems as though JWM is part of the problem here, re cowboy]. If so, I may put in an extra gui detecting Brookdale and then offer to run a modded xorgwizard with Charlie's hacks. If not, I'll have to intercept Brookdales before xorgwizard is run and write a dialog that implements the modifications from the prompt before X starts at all.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 21:04    Post subject:  

fatdog64 and pemasu's snow pup and polar pups have built in wl.ko drivers and frisbee all working flawlessly with my hp broadcom wl.ko driver.

Unfortunately, I have no code writing skills but have read quite abit here on frisbee with wl.ko driver. some have added short 4 or 5 lines of code to correct the possible conflict between frisbee and sns. the conflict only occurs from what I've read when use frisbee and sns or connection wizard. I looked about for that code snipit but couldn't find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5723
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 23:34    Post subject:  

Slacko 312.37 live pfix=ram.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 312.37

Chip description:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device (rev 01)

Driver used by Xorg:
intel

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: "1024x768" Depth: Depth 24

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#


-Computer-
Processor : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.00GHz
Memory : 513MB (141MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sun 14 Aug 2011 10:50:22 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH4 - Intel 82801DB-ICH4

VGA compatible controller : Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device

The xorgwizard dialog boxes,as well as the shutdown dialog boxes, were much smaller than normal but still readable.
No problem on a CRT monitor.I'll hook up the LCD in a few.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5723
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 00:02    Post subject:  

Back hooked up to a widescreen 1440x900 LCD monitor. No problems with display.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 312.37

Chip description:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device (rev 01)

Driver used by Xorg:
intel

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: "1440x900" Depth: Depth 24

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video

Appears to be working fine on this box...no complaints.
slacko.png
 Description   
 Filesize   86.71 KB
 Viewed   660 Time(s)

slacko.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 00:34    Post subject:  

Thanks James.

Your chipset is rev 01 like mine so I'll filter them out as they appear to be unaffected by the Brookdale bug

EDIT... bugger! I just checked.. Charlie has rev 01 too, MHHP has rev 03.. IIRC cowboys is rev 02.. oh well we play along then ... Laughing

EDIT2: Ok, Charlie.. I have downloaded the updated intel driver you recommend.

I will put in a recommendation in my little "Brookdale" wizard to download mesa from slickpet driver tab, I will update it and package it up including glew. We already have the same version of libdrm included.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1399
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 02:32    Post subject:  

jim3630 wrote:
peebee that makes sense as Frisbee overwrites sns and connection wizard scripts, so at some point could have two different as shown. I use Frisbee in spup and works ok once configured.

If you cannot use Frisbee exclusively to configure your driver and use sns or connection wizard to acquire your wifi, I did this once, just reboot before using Frisbee. after reboot only use Frisbee which will read those scripts and thus acquire your wifi settings. hope this helps.


Hi Guys

I am only reporting this because it is a difference in behaviour between 311.37 and 312.37 when using Frisbee.

I will try using Jim3630's suggestion of using sns - reboot - Frisbee and report back.

The thing I notice really different about Frisbee on 312.37 is the message mechanism - most of the Frisbee messages have disappeared completely and the first one that appears warning of a possible 45 second delay to acquire a connection seems to hang around for far too long....

Cheers
PeeBee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 03:35    Post subject:  

Congratulations
To 01micko for his spup being nominated officially a puppy and thus will hit distrowatch.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 24 of 30 [437 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0923s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0092s) ][ GZIP on ]