Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 20:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 312.37 110807
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 23 of 30 [437 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 14:25    Post subject:  

Hi all

tried a manual frugal install on usb stick with grub4dos and boots ok here (with a hard drive installed)

hope that helps

stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7785
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 17:52    Post subject:  

Stripe wrote:
Hi all

tried a manual frugal install on usb stick with grub4dos and boots ok here (with a hard drive installed)

hope that helps

stripe


Hmm.. yes thanks Stripe. Seems to me grub4dos is very good with USB drives. I have grub4dos on my 2GB SD card that has slacko, old spup and puppeee installed with libreoffice-sfs and skype! What other distro can do that? The only thing that bothers me is vanchutr's report of failing when the HDD is removed. I'm going to try it with different methods of USB install, and if I can get at least 1 to boot I'll leave the kernel.. else I'll have to recompile with usb_storage built in to the kernel, which will mean recompiling all those drivers!! Rolling Eyes

---Onwards..

Anyone know the game TORCS? Well it runs fine in Slacko, just needs one small dependency. [I simply had to try out a game once I got the new radeon card!]

http://www.smokey01.com/01micko/lupu520/torcs-1.3.1-2.sfs 146M
7980eb799b43dbcfa56ca1ec0b5c28e9 torcs-1.3.1-2.sfs

See attachment for deps.

Have fun Razz
openal-soft-1.13-i486.pet
Description  needed for TORCS to run
pet

 Download 
Filename  openal-soft-1.13-i486.pet 
Filesize  102.65 KB 
Downloaded  150 Time(s) 
openal-soft_DEV-1.13-i486.pet
Description  for DEV only, not needed
pet

 Download 
Filename  openal-soft_DEV-1.13-i486.pet 
Filesize  13.62 KB 
Downloaded  131 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5650
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 17:56    Post subject:  

Torcs Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Shouldn't that be in Slickpet

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7785
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 02:44    Post subject:  

Charlie.. MHHP.. anyone else with an Intel Brookdale chipset (cowboy, you have one.. James .. you too)..

I have experienced exactly what Charlie described with my Brookdale by having no text in menus, a fuzzy section near centre screen,, only when the widescreen LCD monitor is used. When I plugged it into an old 15" CRT all was perfect .. Confused .. which actually makes things worse as there are literally millions of different monitor and screen brands. Maybe, before I try to do gymnastics with xorgwizard, I'll re-compile i915. It can't hurt. I'll do this for the next version and we go from there.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5684
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 03:05    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Charlie.. MHHP.. anyone else with an Intel Brookdale chipset (cowboy, you have one.. James .. you too)..

I have experienced exactly what Charlie described with my Brookdale by having no text in menus, a fuzzy section near centre screen,, only when the widescreen LCD monitor is used. When I plugged it into an old 15" CRT all was perfect .. Confused .. which actually makes things worse as there are literally millions of different monitor and screen brands. Maybe, before I try to do gymnastics with xorgwizard, I'll re-compile i915. It can't hurt. I'll do this for the next version and we go from there.


I'll drag mine off the shelf tomorrow and give it a go. Smile

I generally use it on a CRT monitor but I'll try it on my LCD too.Heading toward 3 am here so I need sleep first. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6

Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 995
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 04:03    Post subject:
Subject description: 845G Brookdale
 

Hi 01micko,
01micko wrote:
Charlie.. MHHP.. anyone else with an Intel Brookdale chipset (cowboy, you have one.. James .. you too)..

errh ... what does MHHP acronym(?) mean ?

01micko wrote:
I have experienced exactly ... only when the widescreen LCD monitor is used. When I plugged it into an old 15" CRT all was perfect ..

I remember, by 7 or 8 august (before my 9th august post on page 20 this thread) getting also a fuzzy screen and no menu text when used on a 17" CRT monitor. Will get (within a few days as I am out of work now) a try applying the i845G.conf and disable-composite.conf files.

I also installed the following:
mesa-7.10.2-i486-1.txz + needed
xf86-video-intel-2.15.0-i486-1.txz
libdrm-2.4.25-i486-1.txz
glew-1.5.7-i486-1.txz
with Load glx and Load DRI manualy enabled in xorg.conf;
my spupsave file is 256MB sized with freespace= 117MB.

In attachment my current xorg.conf file;
also installed: a wacom Bamboo tablet - see driver here:
http://www.datafilehost.com/download-bc55bec0.html

and go this
Code:

# lspci | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device (rev 01)

# glxinfo
name of display: :0
display: :0  screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
server glx extensions:
...
    GLX_MESA_copy_sub_buffer, GLX_INTEL_swap_event
client glx vendor string: Mesa Project and SGI
client glx version string: 1.4
client glx extensions:
...
    GLX_INTEL_swap_event
GLX version: 1.4
GLX extensions:
...
    GLX_INTEL_swap_event
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa Project
OpenGL renderer string: Software Rasterizer
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10.2
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.20
OpenGL extensions:
   ...

# glxgears
434 frames in 5.0 seconds = 86.760 FPS
568 frames in 5.0 seconds = 113.553 FPS
560 frames in 5.0 seconds = 111.873 FPS
568 frames in 5.0 seconds = 113.259 FPS
557 frames in 5.0 seconds = 111.381 FPS
558 frames in 5.0 seconds = 111.595 FPS
512 frames in 5.0 seconds = 102.341 FPS
516 frames in 5.0 seconds = 102.951 FPS
536 frames in 5.0 seconds = 107.074 FPS
563 frames in 5.0 seconds = 112.326 FPS
509 frames in 5.0 seconds = 101.650 FPS
...
^C
#

CPU temperature is given 64°C while running glxgears after ca. 5 minutes (52°C if not).
Using this configuration since quite a week ... all looks OK.

Cheers, Charlie
xorg.conf.tar.gz
Description  DO NOT uncompress ! to read this file, rename it deleting .tar.gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorg.conf.tar.gz 
Filesize  6.5 KB 
Downloaded  127 Time(s) 

Last edited by charlie6 on Sun 14 Aug 2011, 04:13; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 04:04    Post subject:  

Given that Seamonkey is broken just now, would Firefox/SM 2.0.* be a better choice?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7785
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 04:19    Post subject:  

Charlie, Thanks again. I will try with the wide monitor. By the way, MHHP is for forum member MineHundHettePerro Smile

Dave, I'm thinking to go with sm-2.3beta, will compile tonight. And what I'd love to do is have both FF and SM on the iso as sfs and hitting the browse button the first time gives the option to load either.. we'll see..

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5650
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 05:31    Post subject:  

MHHP should be read "my dog's name was Perro" Very Happy
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7785
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 05:35    Post subject:  

...Perro being Spanish for "dog".. so there is out Swedish/Spanish lesson for the day from a Norwegian and an Australian.. Laughing
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 05:42    Post subject:  

Same in finnish: mun hurtta on Perro > MHOP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 847
Location: SE

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 05:56    Post subject:  

.... and if I ever get a dog again I'll call it Chien, or Koira, and change my username accordingly to MinHundHeterChien (MHHC) / MinHundHeterKoira (MHHK) Rolling Eyes Smile Smile ...


Intel 82845
On first boot I also get fuzzy patches on the screen and missing text in menus and window titles. This is using a 1280x1024 LCD monitor.

Cheers Smile/ MHHP

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 448
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 06:55    Post subject:  

Glxgears not working for me.I get this, 'command not found'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7785
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 07:13    Post subject:  

Brown Mouse wrote:
Glxgears not working for me.I get this, 'command not found'.

275 nvidia driver? I probably forgot it's inclusion.. Embarassed

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 07:16    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Charlie, Thanks again. I will try with the wide monitor. By the way, MHHP is for forum member MineHundHettePerro Smile

Dave, I'm thinking to go with sm-2.3beta, will compile tonight. And what I'd love to do is have both FF and SM on the iso as sfs and hitting the browse button the first time gives the option to load either.. we'll see..


2.3 beta runs fine and seems bug free with regard to Komposer module

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 23 of 30 [437 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0930s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]