Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 21:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.7 RC2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 91 [1351 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 89, 90, 91 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5441
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 17:08    Post subject:  

Been running Luci-261 for a while on the troublesome computer with no problems......now to figure out what the deal was with 262.
luci-261.png
 Description   
 Filesize   28.08 KB
 Viewed   829 Time(s)

luci-261.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 17:44    Post subject:
Subject description: No internet access using Wifi
 

Hi playdayz,

Everything appears to be working fine on my main system which is connected to a wired LAN connection. However, with a frugal installation on wife's Dell Dimension E510 on an NTFS partition everything appears to work fine with one glaring exception. Internet setup does not recognize my Wifi network, so no internet access. It does not see the Belkin Wireless USB Adapter N300. As you can see below there are a number of WPA and WEP connections available. This is posted from Fatdog 64-520 b3 from the Dell.

Regards,
Jim
image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   44.24 KB
 Viewed   775 Time(s)

image-1.jpg


Last edited by Jim1911 on Sat 09 Jul 2011, 20:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5458
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 17:46    Post subject:  

I havent had time to download latest isos. But....

sszindian. What does which xset tells you. For me in my puppy:
Quote:
sh-4.1# which xset
/usr/bin/xset

If luci-262 have it, then xset s off -dpms should disable screensaver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 578
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 18:40    Post subject: No Screen blank  

pemasu wrote:

sszindian. What does which xset tells you. For me in my puppy:
Quote:
sh-4.1# which xset
/usr/bin/xset

If luci-262 have it, then xset s off -dpms should disable screensaver.
--------------------------------------------------
Yes, there is a usr/bin/xset in 262

I did a '# xset version' in terminal and got this so I take it if I type in '-dpms' that will disable the no-blanking yes? If yes, how do you turn it back on? and... get it into a menu-entry? I'm not a programmer pemasu so if it's possible, someone else will have to do it that knows how!!!!!



'thanks'

>>>---Indian------>
xset-terminal.png
 Description   
 Filesize   3.33 KB
 Viewed   767 Time(s)

xset-terminal.png


_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5441
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 18:41    Post subject:  

Posting from Luci-262 now,pfix=ram.Apparently, on this particular machine/videocard combination, booting straight to the desktop results in a 800x600 desktop.Running xorgwizard then results in the loss of icons,Openbox errors,etc..
Booting pfix=nox,ram then running xorgwizard and choosing Vesa is a no go as well.
But, booting pfix=nox,ram...running xorgwizard,"probe","1440x900" results in Vesa being used anyway and a 1600x1200 desktop with icons.Installing the correct Nvidia driver then brings the correct 1440x900 resolution.

Anyway,it was a bit of a runaround but things are working well now. Smile Uptime over an hour so far...no other problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 19:04    Post subject:  

James C and others

The deal with 262 was my fault. I did not get all of rerwin's enhancements properly installed.

Stay tuned tomorrow.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 19:41    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
jim3630 wrote:
can not get that so useful cpu temp gauge. how did you do that?
I use gatotray


Beem thanks, is it unpacked in /usr/sbin/ as well?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 19:49    Post subject: Re: No Screen blank  

sszindian wrote:
pemasu wrote:

sszindian. What does which xset tells you. For me in my puppy:
Quote:
sh-4.1# which xset
/usr/bin/xset

If luci-262 have it, then xset s off -dpms should disable screensaver.
--------------------------------------------------
Yes, there is a usr/bin/xset in 262

I did a '# xset version' in terminal and got this so I take it if I type in '-dpms' that will disable the no-blanking yes? If yes, how do you turn it back on? and... get it into a menu-entry? I'm not a programmer pemasu so if it's possible, someone else will have to do it that knows how!!!!!


sszindian why not make yourself a menu entry with geoffrey's Menu Maker.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=539381#539381

Help: http://www.computerhope.com/unix/uxset.htm

It you want to be very adventurous you could then place the desktop files into a .PET package and share.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips

Last edited by smokey01 on Sat 09 Jul 2011, 20:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4616
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 19:58    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
James C and others

The deal with 262 was my fault. I did not get all of rerwin's enhancements properly installed.

Stay tuned tomorrow.

Thanks.

While we wait for Playdayz.

I have a question.

Should I get a dog or have kids?
Nice Doggy.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   13.6 KB
 Viewed   751 Time(s)

Nice Doggy.jpg

Kids.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   95.21 KB
 Viewed   709 Time(s)

Kids.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 20:02    Post subject:  

did several usb pfix=ram installs to ext2,3, and 4 by manually copying files. gparted recognized all partitions.

pemasu's broadcom pet along with playdayz packaged frisbee-beta-2-lucid52.pet worked in all for brief time I was online.

One failure noted after savefile made on ext4 partition the next reboot booted to blank screen. This occurred after the usual screen display showing what appeared to be a normal start up sequence. ctrl+alt+backspace also failed to initiate a restart.

Noted after adding Xorg_High the Flsynclient that was previously set then started to malfunction showing the dialog box "...client found...need to restartX" regardless of how many times x was restarted.


------------
SFS-load-on-the-fly. recognized 7 instead of 6 sfs files for the good news.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 578
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 22:39    Post subject: xset  

smokey01 wrote:

sszindian why not make yourself a menu entry with geoffrey's Menu Maker.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=539381#539381

Help: http://www.computerhope.com/unix/uxset.htm

It you want to be very adventurous you could then place the desktop files into a .PET package and share.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi smokey... good to see you around the activity Very Happy

Thanks for the tip on the menu-maker... I downloaded it and have it for 'maybe' doing something like you suggest but... I believe there is a bit more to this issue than just making a menu entry... Nobody has wanted to touch base on this since way back in 525 development, only that one .pet was ever developed and if it 'Worked' in 26x series that would be nice, but it doesn't so I kind of believe this is beyond a project I could handle. I would have thought by now one of the programmers would have looked into it and made a 'fix' to the already existing .pet, that would be the simple thing to do.

I'm just gonna' kind of see what develops... I have other puppy's that function works in and I do watch a lot of online videos (gold prospecting, rockhounding, metal detecting etc.) so if necessary, I'll just stay with one of those for my personal use!

>>>---Indian------>

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yarddog


Joined: 30 Nov 2009
Posts: 187
Location: Great Smoky Mountains, TN USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2011, 23:43    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
I have packaged up the new Seamonkey 2.2

http://www.smokey01.com/pets/Seamonkey-2.2.pet

Smokey01


D/l and installed Seamonkey-2.2.pet

Cannot get it to work. When I click on icon nothing happens.
When I try to run from command line get following error:

/root
# seamonkey
Cannot find SeaMonkey runtime directory. Exiting.

Any ideas?

thanks
yarddog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5441
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2011, 00:36    Post subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
I have packaged up the new Seamonkey 2.2

http://www.smokey01.com/pets/Seamonkey-2.2.pet

Smokey01



Working fine here....... posting from it now. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2011, 00:47    Post subject:  

yarddog wrote:
smokey01 wrote:
I have packaged up the new Seamonkey 2.2

http://www.smokey01.com/pets/Seamonkey-2.2.pet

Smokey01


D/l and installed Seamonkey-2.2.pet

Cannot get it to work. When I click on icon nothing happens.
When I try to run from command line get following error:

/root
# seamonkey
Cannot find SeaMonkey runtime directory. Exiting.

Any ideas?

thanks
yarddog


It should have installed in /usr/lib/seamonkey-2.2 not root.

What version of puppy are you using?

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5441
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2011, 00:53    Post subject:  

Your SeaMonkey installed here in /usr/lib/seamonkey/ ..........no 2.2.

Working fine, by the way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 91 [1351 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 89, 90, 91 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0980s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0139s) ][ GZIP on ]