Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 02:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Has the Mozilla Foundation lost its collective mind?
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jun 2011, 00:07    Post_subject:  Has the Mozilla Foundation lost its collective mind?  

http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/security/has-the-mozilla-foundation-lost-its-collective-mind/5687?tag=nl.e036
Quote:
Takeaway: After a long downward trend in quality for the Firefox browser, the Mozilla Foundation has decided to add insult to injury by eliminating the ability to at least stick with an older version until extensions are updated to the newest — and to do so after only three months of release status for version 4.

_________________
Puppy Help 101 - an interactive tutorial for Lupu 5.25
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1332
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jun 2011, 20:53    Post_subject: Re: Has the Mozilla Foundation lost its collective mind?  

Flash wrote:
http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/security/has-the-mozilla-foundation-lost-its-collective-mind/5687?tag=nl.e036
Quote:
Takeaway: After a long downward trend in quality for the Firefox browser, the Mozilla Foundation has decided to add insult to injury by eliminating the ability to at least stick with an older version until extensions are updated to the newest — and to do so after only three months of release status for version 4.

I does seem heavy-handed. But my experience T work (n Windows boxes) was hassle-free, just like a regular update, all the extensions worked. Seemed like it was just an update, not sure why they needed to do a version change.

_________________
MSI 970A-G46/AMD FX-8150/Plextor 128GB SSD/Corsair Vengeance 8GB: Tahr Pup 6
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5939
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jun 2011, 22:41    Post_subject:  

Updating to FF 5.0 on my Windows 7 box caused 5 extensions to quit working........... luckily I run Puppy most of the time. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
benali72

Joined: 09 Aug 2006
Posts: 278

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 00:01    Post_subject: ANSWER: Yes, from the standpoint of corporate users  

This is quite a blunder from the standpoint of anyone who supports FF in a corporate environment. You have to wonder if the FF project has anyone advising them from the corporate viewpoint.

No matter how good their rationale, they'll never sufficiently get the message out to corporate America for them to buy into this. Our company has already had a meeting on what we should do about it. Chome's lookin' better all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 04:30    Post_subject:  

Firefox (Mozilla) doesn't care about pleasing corporate customers. They care about us.

This has been fairly officially stated.

As for extensions, I didn't have a problem, suppose that's because I didn't upgrade.

~

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 04:37    Post_subject:  

I'm still running 3.6.18 because 5 wants to disable 4/5 plugins which I use regularly........

I'd sooner wait till they sort the plugins for 5
- 3.6.18 works OK, even if it IS a tad slower

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
noryb009

Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 540

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 11:34    Post_subject:  

Quote:
No matter how good their rationale, they'll never sufficiently get the message out to corporate America for them to buy into this. Our company has already had a meeting on what we should do about it. Chome's lookin' better all the time.


You do realize chrome updates at an even faster pace (new version every ~6 weeks)...

Really, it's just a different way of numbering things. I don't see what's wrong with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WindUpToy


Joined: 21 Oct 2008
Posts: 89
Location: melbourne.au Slick525DVD

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 21:06    Post_subject: Extension compatability  

Install Add-on Compatibility Reporter [sic] and you can use all your old xtns.
It used to be Called (or part of) Nightly Tester Tools.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0681s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0109s) ][ GZIP on ]