Page 1 of 6

Ymount 002

Posted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 09:46
by Iguleder
Here's a lighter alternative to Pmount, written with Yad (instead of the slower gtkdialog).

This one is a bit friendlier, it requires the same amount of clicks but lets you choose the partition according to the device it resides on. It also comes with a similar tool for safe removal of removable drives.

It should work on any recent kernel that uses the SCSI subsystem (e.g sda1 instead of hda1).

The only requirements it has are Yad (as mentioned earlier) and guess_fstype, which comes with all puppies these days.

Not heavily tested (especially optical media), but works with my netbook's hard drive and two flash drives :)

Changelog:
002:
- Added Yeject, a tool for ejecting removable drives :)
- Small bug fix

Re: Ymount 002

Posted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 16:53
by L18L
Iguleder wrote:Not heavily tested
Testresult on freshly booted drake0.1 see picture. :(

Have to boot wary now...

Edited: same result in wary512


Edited 2011-09-11
Link to latest version provided always here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=557739

Re: Ymount 002

Posted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 18:35
by L18L
Hi iguleder,

changing

Code: Select all

partition_size=$(echo "scale=1; `cat /sys/class/block/$partition/size` * 512 / 1000000000" | bc)
in functions
to

Code: Select all

partition_size=$(echo "scale=1; `cat /sys/class/block/$partition/size` * 512 / 1000000" | bc)
will make it visible

Code: Select all

#partition=sda2
# echo "scale=1; `cat /sys/class/block/$partition/size` * 512 / 1000000" | bc
16.4
#

my sda2 has size of 16 M (used as boot partition)
It is needed to be mounted if I want to edit grub/menu.lst :)

Posted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 18:49
by Iguleder
Thanks for the bug report :)

If I find enough time, I'll rewrite these tools. I want to compile a 64-bit kernel for 5.2.6 and rewrite my kernel build script before I mess with Yad again.

Ymount 002

Posted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 19:35
by L18L
Iguleder wrote:Thanks for the bug report :)

If I find enough time, I'll rewrite these tools. I want to compile a 64-bit kernel for 5.2.6 and rewrite my kernel build script before I mess with Yad again.
Here is the fix:

/usr/local/ymount/function line 54

Code: Select all

#				echo "$partition_size GB"	
                partition_size=`echo $partition_size | cut -d '.' -f 1`
                if [ $partition_size -gt 1000 ] ; then
                    partition_size=$(echo "scale=1; `echo $partition_size` / 1000" | bc)
				    echo "$partition_size GB"
                else	
				    echo "$partition_size MB"
			        fi

ymount 002

Posted: Wed 06 Jul 2011, 11:47
by L18L
sorry,
/usr/local/ymount/function line 43
has to be changed to

Code: Select all

		partition_size=$(echo "scale=1; `cat /sys/class/block/$partition/size` * 512 / 1000000" | bc)
in order to get M instead of G

ymount

Posted: Wed 06 Jul 2011, 17:39
by L18L
Hi iguleder,
you wrote:If I find enough time, I'll rewrite these tools. I want to compile a 64-bit kernel for 5.2.6 and rewrite my kernel build script before I mess with Yad again.
No need to mess with yad for you.
yad is fun

Will upload next version soon :)

Edit
Here it is.
Note, in my example rox is empty but clicking the refresh button of rox makes the content display

Edited again
sorry, please change line 89 of /usr/local/ymount/functions from

Code: Select all

	if [ "$(is_mounted $1)" != "true" ]
to

Code: Select all

	if [ "$(is_mounted $1)"  = "-" ]
and then if you mount a mounted partition another rox will be opened. (same behavior as with pmount)

2011-07-08 Attached pet deleted, see next post

Edited 2011-09-11
Link to latest version provided always here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=557739

ymount

Posted: Fri 08 Jul 2011, 09:54
by L18L
test on drake01 failed: unmount does NOT work
test on lupu525 successful

bugs:
- does not show in menu (any HELP appreciated)
start it from console

Code: Select all

ymount
- closing the application by pressing x does not yet work (I will work on this)

Anyhow here is ymount031.pet
applied the above mentioned fix
added version in title

Re: ymount

Posted: Fri 08 Jul 2011, 19:21
by L18L
L18L wrote:- closing the application by pressing x does not yet work (I will work on this)
forget this please.

start it from console
ymount sda
or
ymount

improvement in unmounting
no pet (I am yet no petmaker)
changes in attached ymount-032

Edited 2011-09-11
Link to latest version provided always here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=557739

Posted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 11:59
by stu90
Nice work guys :)

I wonder though if it is possible to skip the first device selection gui and just have all available devises / partition in the same window with the mount unmount options ?

cheers.

Ymount 002

Posted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 13:47
by L18L
stu90 wrote:Nice work guys :)

I wonder though if it is possible to skip the first device selection gui and just have all available devises / partition in the same window with the mount unmount options ?

cheers.
Something like this :?:

left button "preferences" will control this or default behavior

ymount

Posted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 16:52
by L18L
Here is ymount-0.4.pet

Edited 2011-09-11
Link to latest version provided always here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=557739

Re: ymount

Posted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 17:54
by sheldonisaac
L18L wrote:Here is ymount-0.4.pet
Thanks a lot.

May I ask a question?

I downloaded that ymount-0.4.pet to my /mnt/sda5/sources directory, and clicked it in Rox filer. (Oh,this is Puppy Lucid 5.25)

It installed, and said a menu entry was under System
But it wasn't.

I found /bin/ymount, but it didn't run.

So I looked in this Murga forum, and found yad-0.12.4-i486
and downloaded that .pet and installed it.

After that, ymount works from the command line, but there is no menu entry that I could find.

I looked and found /ymount.desktop

Can I somehow have a menu entry, maybe under Filesystem?
Is that possible, or desirable?

Thanks a lot,

Sheldon

Re: ymount

Posted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 18:08
by L18L
Hi Sheldon,
thanks for testing
you wrote:Can I somehow have a menu entry, maybe under Filesystem?
Sorry I am not (yet) a good petmaker.

If you install the original pet from Iguleder you will get the manu entry, and then reinstall 0.4.

Or better, maybe the other yad fan (hello stu90) would be so nice and make a correct pet ???

Cheers

PS ymount-0.4 was made in wary511, running now in squeeze

Posted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 18:27
by Iguleder
I won't be home for a few days, but once I get home I want to take a look at Ymount and get it working well so we can use it for dpup. Could be a very good replacement for Pmount, as you said.

I'll make sure to make a good Puppy-independent PET that can be used on any Puppy.

Cheers :)

Menu -- Ymount under Filesystem

Posted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 20:21
by mikeslr
Hi sheldonisaac,

Sorry sheldonisaac I don't have Ymount on this system.
But having run into Menu problems from time to time, perhaps the following might help:

You mentioned that ymount's executable was /bin/ymount. Click that file to be sure it will start ymount. [Typing ymount in a console will start it if it's anywhere on what Puppy recognizes as the executable path]. If not, search for other instances of what may be ymount executable, browse to it/them and test to find which one actually starts the program.
Open ymount.desktop in geany or some other text editor. You'll be interested in three of its arguments.
Make sure "Exec=" points to ymount's real executable (or a symlink to it). Note the absence of spaces after the "="'s.
Make sure "Icon=" points to an icon which actually exists.
Change Categories= from whatever it is now to
Categories=X-FilesystemUtility.

Restart X.

Hope this helps.

mikesLr

Posted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 21:29
by seaside
I repackaged the pet.

The "desktop" files were at the top "/" level instead of in /usr/share/applications.

Should be in your menu now.

Cheers,
s

Re: Menu -- Ymount under Filesystem

Posted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 22:37
by sheldonisaac
(some SNIPping)
mikeslr wrote:Hi sheldonisaac,

Sorry sheldonisaac I don't have Ymount on this system.
But having run into Menu problems from time to time, perhaps the following might help:

Open ymount.desktop in geany or some other text editor. You'll be interested in three of its arguments.
Make sure "Exec=" points to ymount's real executable (or a symlink to it). Note the absence of spaces after the "="'s.
Make sure "Icon=" points to an icon which actually exists.
Change Categories= from whatever it is now to
Categories=X-FilesystemUtility.

Restart X.

Hope this helps.

mikesLr
It did, and thank you very much!!
seaside wrote:I repackaged the pet.

The "desktop" files were at the top "/" level instead of in /usr/share/applications.

Should be in your menu now.

Cheers,
s
Thanks a lot; I will replace the old pet

I appreciate all you folks have done!

Sheldon Isaac

Ymount

Posted: Sun 31 Jul 2011, 20:49
by L18L
seaside wrote:I repackaged the pet.
Thank you very much :) :)
Please test with CD/DVD (I have got none)
Are there floppy drives anywhere?

Next version will have free space for mounted partitions, here is a preview

sda1: more free then size
size is taken from fdisk
free is taken from df

Code needs some optimazing before posting

Edited 2011-09-11
Link to latest version provided always here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=557739

Posted: Sun 31 Jul 2011, 22:08
by 8-bit
I noticed the ymount-0.5.png image shows free space as a column.
But when I downloaded ymount-0.4.pet that seems to be missing and ymount-0.5.pet seems unavailable.
Is it still in the works?
Or is there a link to be able to get it as I like the option of having free space displayed.