Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 10:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-520 beta 2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [63 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2011, 09:22    Post subject:  

[quote="kirk"]
Quote:
Quote:
@kirk, please consider returning to the old "nv" driver. Nouveau prevents the proper driver from installing, and it is a real headache to get rid of when trying to install the correct NVIDIA driver.


The old nv driver is in there too. The nv driver doesn't work for all Nvidia cards ether. I've patched Xorg-server to use the nv, nouveau, and vesa drivers depending on the pcid of the card. Open source Nvidia is kind of a mess. We'll have a Nvidia pet closer to final. I never blacklist anything, I just delete the module. If you're running a frugal install the original file is always available in /initrd/pup_ro2. The nouveau module is at /lib/modules/2.6.38.8/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau.ko.

Hi kirk,

Thanks for the location of the nouveau module, that made it simple to get rid of and install the proper Nvidia driver in Beta 3.

Beta 3 is working great with my hardware.

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2011, 14:35    Post subject:  

SiS Mirage, again - got a picture at boot up, but wrong res. Used the wizard, typed xwin:
"Starting X, specs in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, startup apps /root/.xinitrc...

giving up:
/usr/X11R7/bin/xinit: Connection refused (error 111): unable to connect to X server

/usr/X11R7/xinit: No such process (errno3): Server error.
Exited from X. .......................etc

- ran xorgwizard again and xwin at prompt - nothing
CTRL-ALT-BKSPACE put me back into incorrect res. with most stuff working.

What's the big deal with FF5? Seems that Opera has a strong following around here: a lot less bovver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2011, 21:16    Post subject: FF 5.0, Opera 11, etc.  

Hi Sage,
I like Opera also, except that I depend on some of the extensions for FF, for example, the stellar FireFTP which wasn't available for Opera when I checked earlier this year. I use web-based email so Opera's email client is a plus for some, but not for me. FF 5 opens very quickly now and themes easily. It's also ~4M smaller than FF 4 (37 -> 33M uncompressed.) My Firefox-5.0-x86_64 Pet is 16M, Opera is 15M (inc. e-mail), while Chromium is ~26M.

Maybe if enough of us asked for an FTP up loader add-on for Opera we'd get somewhere with that one...
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2011, 22:05    Post subject:  

Uploaded beta 3 here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=539538#539538


Quote:
SiS Mirage, again - got a picture at boot up, but wrong res. Used the wizard, typed xwin:
"Starting X, specs in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, startup apps /root/.xinitrc...


If you use the Xorgwizard from the Setup menu it should not drop you to a terminal. The automatic Xorg configuration depends on a monitor with EDID, so that could be the problem or we're not supporting your card correctly. I really didn't expect to see a 64bit computer with SIS graphics.

As far as the Browser goes, I'm not really partial to any. Firefox was chosen due to it popularity. Not so much to appeal to the masses, but a browser that accounts 20+ percent of web traffic is likely to be used by web site developers to test their designs. Please don't debate browser selection on the beta 3 thread, it just makes it too long.

Quote:
@kirk
Could you add an option or two to increasing the size of the save file
by adding 1024,2048?
It takes lots of reboots to get the save file up to 4 or 5 gb with the max
being 512mb.


I'll try to take a look. I was on vacation, now back at work playing catch-up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9202
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2011, 22:58    Post subject:  

The Tesseract OCR engine for Peasyscan is available here in 64-bit form. See Page 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 01:00    Post subject:  

Quote:
depends on a monitor with EDID

That test site uses a Dell 4:3 which has a chequered reputation. The SiS Mirage chipset runs perfectly with every other distro, 32&64-bit, that I've thrown at it.
Browsers - OK; FTP I don't use at test stations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jul 2011, 01:22    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Quote:
depends on a monitor with EDID

That test site uses a Dell 4:3 which has a chequered reputation. The SiS Mirage chipset runs perfectly with every other distro, 32&64-bit, that I've thrown at it.
Browsers - OK; FTP I don't use at test stations.


This is the same test on a faster pc, Opera wins by a big margin on this one.
benchmark2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   149.59 KB
 Viewed   1172 Time(s)

benchmark2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2011, 00:24    Post subject:  

Discovered a workaround for display by accident. The auto display seemed to be set at 960x600 - this is completely wrong. Managed by subterfuge (ie not sure how!) to set the monitor to 1280x1024 in Xorg Wizard, then selected 1024x768 res. Ran through the various 'Test', 'Finish' options and it started up with the correct settings.
Strangely, discovered that the incorrect initial settings with Lupu 5.2.5 also started up with 960x600, but in that case the reset option worked without any gliches.
Sorry kirk, but just got to mention Opera again. Following above fix, updated my FD FULL to your beta3. Earlier FULL had already got Opera installed so had a direct comparison with FF5. Frankly, it's no contest. Opera runs rings around FF5. To add fuel to the fire, when starting FF5 a message box pops up advising that some FTP functions are not available. Time to dump the Mozilla Foundation? It might not make you popular in Peranjori, but you will have the best browser by a long measure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4362
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 13:27    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
The Tesseract OCR engine for Peasyscan is available here in 64-bit form. See Page 2.
Sound great.

Question
(I have never used OCR in Linux, so forgive my naivete.) Under what menu subtopic is this OCR converter to be found?

I have some TIFFs and other image files I would like to test conversion on.

Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4362
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 13:40    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
The Tesseract OCR engine for Peasyscan is available here in 64-bit form. ... .
Thanks @Rcrsn51. This is a PET I could use.

Questions: (Forgive my naivete, but I have never used an OCR program in Linux)
  1. Under what Menu item is this OCR program to be found?
  2. Should I expect any problem using it to extract text from a TIFF or other video formats?
Thanks in advance for your help.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9202
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 16:06    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Under what Menu item is this OCR program to be found?

The Tesseract PET does not make a menu item - it is designed to be called by Peasyscan.

However, if you want to run it from the command line, use
Code:
tesseract xxx.tif xxx

It will product the text file xxx.txt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jul 2011, 11:46    Post subject: Thanks for Fatdog, trouble with touchpad scrolling  

Kirk,

Love Fatdog64. Amazing.

Having trouble with my touchpad. I should be able to scroll along the right side and see the browser page move up and down, but I can't seem to get it working. Tried the touchpad adjustment tool... maybe there's a setting I'm missing? Any thoughts?

hp6400
CentrinoDuo
1gig ram
live-boot cd with save file
FatDog64 520 b2

Thanks so much for making this. Fantastic.

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jul 2011, 19:48    Post subject:  

Eathray,

Assuming you have a Synaptics touch pad, you can try editing /etc/X11/xorg.conf. There's a ton of settings to play with, see /usr/share/doc/faqs/synaptics.htm

P.S. There is a beta3 and soon there will be a RC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Thu 07 Jul 2011, 20:18    Post subject:  

ho what is the bass puppy os this is built on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jul 2011, 11:35    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Eathray,

Assuming you have a Synaptics touch pad, you can try editing /etc/X11/xorg.conf. There's a ton of settings to play with, see /usr/share/doc/faqs/synaptics.htm

P.S. There is a beta3 and soon there will be a RC.


Kirk,

I looked around in those files, and don't pretend to understand it all, but I didn't see anything wrong. Hmm...

I downloaded the b3 you mentioned and burned it (I think I saw it has Firefox... cool). So, do I change the names of the b2 then reboot with the b3 disk, like normal Puppies? I tried to boot it using pfix=ram like other pups, but it loaded b2 regardless. Do you have a different procedure or did I miss something?

Thanks, and, continuing to love, love, love Fatdog64 Very Happy

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [63 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1076s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0211s) ][ GZIP on ]