Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 May 2018, 08:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Gtkdialog Development
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 56 of 56 [839 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 54, 55, 56
Author Message
TecnoGuy458

Joined: 26 Jan 2015
Posts: 124
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Sat 21 Nov 2015, 14:31    Post subject: want to stretch the width of a pixmap...  

its just the buttons that are the keys often vary in size. oh well, i guess the number bar can still serve as a visual aid of sorts.

you see the number bar is above the keys. it shows the key numbers in order. the technical side of things work. the 21-40 piano keys and 4 piece percussion all work.

EDIT: those examples didn't help the number bar issue, but i was able to get the "piano keys" to scale up when you enlarge the window!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5019
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 21 Nov 2015, 15:19    Post subject:  

A trick I often use is to center a button in a column

Code:

<hbox homogeneous="true">
<hbox>
<button>
            <text><label>"mtpaint"</label></text>
                             <action>mtpaint</action>
</button>
</hbox></hbox>



http://gtkdialog.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/examples/button/button_image_horizontal_alignment

____________________________________________


...and a column width can be controlled by a width request
Code:
<vbox  width-request="500">
...
...
...
</vbox>



http://gtkdialog.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/examples/vbox/vbox_scrollable
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TecnoGuy458

Joined: 26 Jan 2015
Posts: 124
Location: Ohio

PostPosted: Sat 21 Nov 2015, 16:48    Post subject: worked around it.  

ended up splitting the number bar into icons. which worked.

EDIT: its now finished, PET can be found here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=101714
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5019
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 23 Nov 2015, 17:52    Post subject:  

Here's a change I suggest for the about button...
Code:

[url]<window title="Thomas Virtual Piano -about" image-name="Thomas-Virtual-Piano.png"  resizable="false">[/url]



resizable="false" ---> fixes strange resizing of window in some cases

_____________________________________________________

It would be cool if pressing the keyboard keys worked as well
but that might take some C programming.

___________________________________________

Putting the version number in the window title is good practice..
I first start my scripts by defining VERSION

Code:
VERSION=1.3


then I can use it latter in script

______________________________________________

If you want to make the window color stand out
Here is an example pupmemo that is simple to understand

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96862&sid=238b5686ca9b5a9759c8d809d2fd2cae

___________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3195

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jul 2016, 18:21    Post subject:  

With the recent news that Roxterm is not going to be further developed owing to major issues getting to working with gtk3, I was wondering if gtkdialog is still being developed such that it is gtk3 compatible?

I imagine, gtk2 will mainly vanish from our systems one day in the not-so-distant future, just as gtk1 did previously.

William
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4804
Location: Kingwood, TX

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jul 2016, 21:28    Post subject:  

Gtk3 isn't even compatible with gtk3. There is no point except to beta test for gtk4 (which will hopefully be stable, but I wouldn't hold my breath)
_________________
Check out my github repositories. I may eventually get around to updating my blogspot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3195

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jul 2016, 01:56    Post subject:  

Gtk3 gtk4... either way, if we take the time to write apps based on gtkdialog (or yad or Bacon or ...) that needs to keep up with developments or wise to use a different approach guaranteed to still be usable in a few years time. And I'm talking about simple gui frontends for scripts not complex apps that are best programmed in complex programming languages like gtk... or qt themselves (programming in which are beyond the skills of most of us anyway).

So question remains: is gtkdialog being maintained or is gtk2 the end of the line for it?

William
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6796
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jun 2017, 17:41    Post subject:  

Regardless of whether gtk2 is the end of the line, does anyone know if there has been any maintenance anywhere since the google code shutdown? I see there are plenty of people that exported the repository to github. I didn't click on them all, but I did sort by most recently updated, and didn't see any actual recent commits.
_________________
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
woodenshoe-wi

Joined: 28 Jul 2017
Posts: 38
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon 30 Apr 2018, 14:07    Post subject: gtk3  

To set the record straight, Thunor did add support for GTK+ 3. It just got broken by some changes to the library interface. VTE was the main culprit, and it was relatively easy to fix. After fixing a misplaced #endif it is also possible to compile gtkdialog without VTE.

I think the problem Thunor was having with GTK+ 3 itself was actually an incompatibility between GTK+ 3 and an older version of GNOME GLib. Some functionality was being moved from GTK to GLib and had been removed from GTK+ 3 but was not yet present in GLib.

If you want to use gtkdialog on a GTK+ 3 distro I compiled six variants on the "Releases" tab of my fork at github.

https://github.com/woodenshoe-wi/gtkdialog/releases

I think it would be a shame to abandon gtkdialog when the fixes needed to get it working again with GTK+ 3 are so minor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 634
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Mon 30 Apr 2018, 17:19    Post subject: Re: gtk3  

woodenshoe-wi wrote:

I think it would be a shame to abandon gtkdialog when the fixes needed to get it working again with GTK+ 3 are so minor.


I doubt GTK+ 2 will be going away any day soon, but good that you've fixed GTK+ 3 replacement for future use - there being so many Puppy app/utils written in bash/gtkdialog some people may still want to dig them up in year 2084... Wink

Admittedly, I think it is time programming on Puppy moved on a bit from bash/gtkdialog in terms of future efforts - but there will maybe be a lot of inertia before that can come to pass or maybe not many are interested in programming for Pups now anyway; now that so many full-featured apps can so readily be installed via the Ubuntu/Debian repos.

wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1448
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon 30 Apr 2018, 18:05    Post subject:  

Dear woodenshoe-wi,

Thanks. I had thought about doing that myself but was put off by the sheer volume of work. Your gtk3 version works nicely in Tahr. I suppose gtk4 will use the same css business, so porting from gtk3 to gtk4 may not be as onerous as what you have already done. Great work.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
woodenshoe-wi

Joined: 28 Jul 2017
Posts: 38
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon 30 Apr 2018, 18:17    Post subject:  

I can't take credit for GTK+ 3 support. Thunor had already added it, I just fixed some problems with newer versions of VTE.

There was only one thing that I had to fix for GTK itself and that was only one line plus a #if GTK_CHECK_VERSION(2,2,0)

https://github.com/woodenshoe-wi/gtkdialog/commit/d8b84a472b3331b0ae58eca1b5bebc0900da04c8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6542
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2018, 01:33    Post subject:  

@woodenshoe-wi
Really great stuff!
I have linked your work in the Tips an Tricks thread

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1317
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Today, at 02:44    Post subject:  

UHHHH

GTK+4

Really,
do we have too.

Does anyone have an idea of what's the gains, against gain in size yet?

Zigbert, technosaurus, vovchick, thunor, etc, any ideas from the prelims?

thanks
scsijon
ps i'm still trying to work out gtk+3 changes for sourcery (mainly scrambled gtk2 due to age) that i need some bits from, let alone having to deal with gtk4 (a totally unknown to me).

EDIT1: AH, this may be of much interest https://blogs.gnome.org/desrt/2016/06/13/gtk-4-0-is-not-gtk-4/. It settles me a bit. Buit https://blogs.gnome.org/desrt/2016/06/14/gtk-5-0-is-not-gtk-5/ doesn't!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 56 of 56 [839 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 54, 55, 56
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1083s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0369s) ][ GZIP on ]