Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 19 Aug 2018, 02:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Other Distros
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 185 of 189 [2823 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 183, 184, 185, 186, 187, 188, 189 Next
Author Message
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2431

PostPosted: Wed 14 Mar 2018, 16:21    Post subject:  

Yay! Success Smile

Many/most pup's include mtpaint image editor.

Open that and open your picture and under Image, Scale Canvas you can enter a new value of 600 for the X value, and when you click on the Y value it will automatically adjust to a new appropriate Y value if the Fix Aspect Ratio is ticked (as it is by default). Click OK and then save and you have a resized image appropriate for posting Smile

Another useful mtpaint 'trick' is to open a image and mouse click-hold-drag and then release to select a region of the image, and then select the Image, Crop option and you'll be left with a image of just that region.
s.png
 Description   
 Filesize   156.12 KB
 Viewed   1195 Time(s)

s.png


_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SmartDuck


Joined: 20 Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed 14 Mar 2018, 18:09    Post subject:  

On my main laptop I use Bodhi Linux 4.5.
I like the Moksha desktop and Bodhi's philosophy. So I became member of the team.

Before I used Vector Linux.

But since the ssd crashed last week I now using Slacko 6.3.2 on my good old Dell D505 backup laptop. I tried Puppy Linux before. It's fun to use and most times easy to configure.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2001

PostPosted: Thu 15 Mar 2018, 03:29    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
Yay! Success Smile

Many/most pup's include mtpaint image editor.

Open that and open your picture and under Image, Scale Canvas you can enter a new value of 600 for the X value, and when you click on the Y value it will automatically adjust to a new appropriate Y value if the Fix Aspect Ratio is ticked (as it is by default). Click OK and then save and you have a resized image appropriate for posting Smile

Another useful mtpaint 'trick' is to open a image and mouse click-hold-drag and then release to select a region of the image, and then select the Image, Crop option and you'll be left with a image of just that region.


Thanks. I much prefer mtpaint to gimp which, although more comprehensively featured, I find much harder to navigate. It's rare that I need to do anything with images that mtpaint won't do.

I've now discovered there's an online handbook for it. Here's the index of contents;

http://mtpaint.sourceforge.net/handbook/en_GB/chap_00.html

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 ASCII, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Debian 9.4.0, Bunsen Labs Helium, Salix 14.2 Mate, Slackware 14.2 (32-bit), VLocity 7.2, X-Slacko 4.4, Stella 6.8 and Siduction 6.1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2001

PostPosted: Mon 19 Mar 2018, 18:40    Post subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
Exmouth on the south Devon coast is a place most British people will have heard of. Well, now it's got its own distro - based on Devuan and with the Trinity desktop, so fairly lightweight. Definitely worth a look IMO;

http://exegnulinux.net/


A quick update; I've now installed Exe Gnu / Linux and must say I count myself impressed. The whole thing installs in barely over 2 GB (which is very low for a distro in 2018), leaving plenty of room to add any software of your choosing.

It only has one problem that I've found so far, but unfortunately it's a significant one; pulseaudio is broken and has so far resisted all my efforts to repair or replace it, so there's no sound on playback.

[EDIT; I eventually gave up on pulseaudio and took some advice from a poster, norobro, in this thread; I was advised to type the following into a terminal

alsactl init

which worked. I'm now listening to music on Youtube (Lindisfarne's "Winter Song"). ]

https://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-software-2/debian-jessie-have-pulseaudio-and-alsa-installed-everything-is-unmuted-and-settings-show-sound-outputting-but-no-sound-actually-playing-4175573604/

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 ASCII, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Debian 9.4.0, Bunsen Labs Helium, Salix 14.2 Mate, Slackware 14.2 (32-bit), VLocity 7.2, X-Slacko 4.4, Stella 6.8 and Siduction 6.1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2001

PostPosted: Sat 31 Mar 2018, 12:11    Post subject:  

I've just installed Ultimate Linux 5.7, which is OK except that there's no sound on Youtube playback and alsactl init doesn't work; the same thing happened with a live version of Black Lab (which I haven't installed). It looks like either more and more distros these days have problems or my computer's getting old (maybe both).
_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 ASCII, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Debian 9.4.0, Bunsen Labs Helium, Salix 14.2 Mate, Slackware 14.2 (32-bit), VLocity 7.2, X-Slacko 4.4, Stella 6.8 and Siduction 6.1.0.

Last edited by Colonel Panic on Wed 04 Apr 2018, 15:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2431

PostPosted: Mon 02 Apr 2018, 12:39    Post subject: OpenBSD 6.3  

OpenBSD 6.3 released http://www.openbsd.org/

Recently added another net card to my (single core celeron box) server, that has dynamic dns installed along with web server, mariadb, php, wordpress etc. And moved it upstairs so as to be another wireless access point (stronger signals upstairs) as both the main hub/router (Virgin) and netgear (lan isolation off which all other PC's etc connect) are presently downstairs. Using a mains power lan extender for that downstairs to upstairs ethernet link. Also a better place for web cams (security) monitoring connected to that server (looking out/down over the front garden).

I have a mains power switching rack ready also to be added to the server, for remote power switching control purposes (connects as a printer/parallel port external unit with 8 mains power switching connections).

Wont be upgrading until after Easter however as its a headless box that I used to use the TV as a monitor when needed when it was downstairs, but now requires one of the other PC's monitors to be connected for admin purposes (I'll likely buy a inexpensive dedicated smaller TV for that purpose).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5125
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Tue 03 Apr 2018, 01:34    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
Another useful mtpaint 'trick' is to open a image and mouse click-hold-drag and then release to select a region of the image, and then select the Image, Crop option and you'll be left with a image of just that region.
Instead of using "crop option" I use SHIFT+CTRL+X and it crops the image to the selected region. I find that faster than menu hunting.

Don't know if that only works for me (Slacko 5.6 with a MochiMoppel "select buffer" addition) or if it also works for other pups....

After cropping the section I want I can then "scale" the image as you described, to get a max horizontal width of 600 as you suggested, or 700 as I think the forum sets as a maximum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5117
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 03 Apr 2018, 16:05    Post subject:  

If you can upgrade mtpaint to a recent version then scripting is available
For instance to select an exact area in image.....

Image > Script

Code:
-s/all  x=200 y=200 w=400 h=400   -image/crop


Click execute and you have a cropped image that is 400x400 pixels.
__________________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2001

PostPosted: Wed 04 Apr 2018, 15:05    Post subject:  

Another good one to report; Gecko Mate, which is based on OpenSUSE, installed with no problems and works well. The one drawback was that when I tried to install software from a .rpm file (such as Opera, Softmaker and Vivaldi), it warned me not to go ahead on the grounds that the dependencies were broken. When I did anyway, though, everything seemed to be fine.

It also doesn't have a GUI-controlled, CD / DVD file and iso burning program, but it comes with cdrecord which works from the command line and well.

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 ASCII, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Debian 9.4.0, Bunsen Labs Helium, Salix 14.2 Mate, Slackware 14.2 (32-bit), VLocity 7.2, X-Slacko 4.4, Stella 6.8 and Siduction 6.1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3512
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 08 Apr 2018, 07:50    Post subject: Other Distros  

Installed Xubuntu 18.04 beta 2 to Acer Aspire laptop:

System: Host: Aspire-5252 Kernel: 4.15.0-13-generic x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
Distro: Ubuntu Bionic Beaver (development branch)
Machine: Device: laptop System: Acer product: Aspire 5252 v: V1.03 serial: N/A
Mobo: Acer model: Aspire 5252 v: V1.03 serial: N/A BIOS: Acer v: V1.03 date: 08/04/2010
Battery BAT1: charge: 45.1 Wh 100.0% condition: 45.1/47.5 Wh (95%)
CPU: Single core AMD V140 (-UP-) speed: 2300 MHz (max)
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] RS880M [Mobility Radeon HD 4225/4250]
Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 ) drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: AMD RS880 (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.15.0-13-generic, LLVM 6.0.0)
version: 3.3 Mesa 18.0.0-rc5
Network: Card-1: Broadcom Limited NetLink BCM57780 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe driver: tg3
Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9287 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) driver: ath9k
Drives: HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (2.8% used)
Weather: Conditions: 36 F (2 C) - Overcast Time: April 8, 7:34 AM EDT
Info: Processes: 150 Uptime: 13 min Memory: 469.8/2744.8MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56

It works pretty well so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   59.37 KB
 Viewed   485 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3512
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 08 Apr 2018, 12:34    Post subject: Other Distros  

I did another install of Xubuntu 18.04 beta 2 to a usb-3.0 hard drive:

System: Host: bill-260-p029 Kernel: 4.15.0-13-generic x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
Distro: Ubuntu Bionic Beaver (development branch)
Machine: Device: desktop System: HP product: 260-p029 serial: N/A
Mobo: HP model: 81B4 v: 01 serial: N/A UEFI [Legacy]: AMI v: F.04 date: 05/10/2016
Battery hidpp__0: charge: N/A condition: NA/NA Wh
hidpp__1: charge: N/A condition: NA/NA Wh
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-6100T (-MT-MCP-) speed/max: 923/3200 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel HD Graphics 530
Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 ) drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 530 (Skylake GT2) version: 4.5 Mesa 18.0.0-rc5
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Realtek RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter driver: rtl8723be
Drives: HDD Total Size: 2063.5GB (0.7% used)
Weather: Conditions: 34 F (1 C) - Mostly Cloudy Time: April 8, 12:09 PM EDT
Info: Processes: 202 Uptime: 40 min Memory: 510.5/3807.0MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56

Updated with synaptic,added applications with synaptic.

It's working well so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   106 KB
 Viewed   446 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3512
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2018, 08:26    Post subject: Other Distros  

I also installed Xubuntu 18.04 Beta2 to a pc with Nvidia graphics card:

System: Host: bill-p7-1246s Kernel: 4.15.0-13-generic x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3
Distro: Ubuntu Bionic Beaver (development branch)
Machine: Device: desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: p7-1246s serial: N/A
Mobo: Foxconn model: 2ADA v: 1.00 serial: N/A BIOS: AMI v: 7.12 date: 06/07/2012
CPU: Quad core Intel Core i5-3550 (-MCP-) speed/max: 2048/3700 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 ) drivers: nvidia (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2 version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.48
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 2000.4GB (0.6% used)
Info: Processes: 189 Uptime: 1:21 Memory: 540.3/11965.5MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56

No problems so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   73.26 KB
 Viewed   354 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1531

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2018, 13:42    Post subject:  

Dang, Bill, you are liking Xubuntu 18.04 beta Laughing

Is it a straight road upshot for upgrading from 18.04 beta to 18.04 official when it hits on the 26th?

I figured I'd just wait till then, and give the Gnome Monster a go and see if it is as frustrating as Fedora can be sometimes, or if they smoothed Gnome around the edges & made it slick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat


Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 859
Location: Mid-mitten, USA

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2018, 15:42    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Is it a straight road upshot for upgrading from 18.04 beta to 18.04 official when it hits on the 26th?


I vaguely recall doing this some time ago, and it went smoothly (full upgrade beta > final).

I hate Gnome with a passion! Laughing Laughing Following Dedoimedo's blog, he does too - and gives plenty of insight as to why (and he's spot-on, IMHO).

I just installed the latest Ubuntu Mate beta2 to my old HP 6730b laptop last night (quick install - took no more than 10 minutes!) - and it's looking & running really, really nice so far. IOW; Mate's worth a look - they've made some excellent progress with this latest version. Why Ubuntu didn't go with Mate as the default DE is beyond me... Confused

Just FWIW,

Bob
Ubuntu Mate 18.04 beta 2.jpg
 Description   All running great so far...
 Filesize   117.22 KB
 Viewed   250 Time(s)

Ubuntu Mate 18.04 beta 2.jpg


Last edited by Moat on Wed 11 Apr 2018, 00:32; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3512
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 10 Apr 2018, 16:45    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Dang, Bill, you are liking Xubuntu 18.04 beta Laughing

Is it a straight road upshot for upgrading from 18.04 beta to 18.04 official when it hits on the 26th?

I figured I'd just wait till then, and give the Gnome Monster a go and see if it is as frustrating as Fedora can be sometimes, or if they smoothed Gnome around the edges & made it slick.


Yes, plan to make it my main OS.

Still going to use Puppy,Pyro64,etc. don't want all the eggs in 1 basket Smile

XFCE4 is the one that I prefer.

I think if one of the daily updates during the beta doesn't break it doing a dist-upgrade at the end of the beta gets the final.

Just finished installing to a laptop.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   53.35 KB
 Viewed   284 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 185 of 189 [2823 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 183, 184, 185, 186, 187, 188, 189 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1168s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0413s) ][ GZIP on ]