Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Sep 2014, 18:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Other Distros
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 110 [1646 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 108, 109, 110 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 07:34    Post subject:  

jason.b.c wrote:
i guess this is the right area to ask ,

does anyone know , which download or whatever is the lxde version of unity linux??

http://unity-linux.org/

their site is rather confusing... Laughing


Don't ask me, I never understand Geekish.

They say
Quote:
The current release for Unity Linux is 2011 Alpha 2. Unity is released in both 32 and 64bit versions.
The release is command line only but a GUI can be added with relative ease by the Smart Package Manager.

Then they have an Alpha 2 too so maybe that one add to confusion.

So either both are a CLI but you can chose LXDE using the SPM.

As easy as PanCakes. I made Waffle the other day. So just follow
their recipe here
http://unity-linux.org/unity-getting-started-guide/

I vaguely remember that I tried to boot it frugally but don't know if
I managed to to it.

Myabe you need to have grub2 to do it? or a CD burner?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxbear

Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 621
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jan 2012, 16:24    Post subject:  

[quote="stu90"][quote="DaveS"]
Bert wrote:



Ubuntu/Unity


I'm running superOS with unity on a single core rig. Unity requires a very good video card on an older PC or it will not install. That being said, I am not altogether smitten with Unity and like Gnome III even less. KDE seems a lot more usable @ present
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jan 2012, 18:21    Post subject:  

linuxbear I have KDE in Netrunner OS which is a Kubuntu variety.

I find it too demanding on my CPU and RAM only having 1GB
and I do "cheating" iso boot so that maybe is more demanding.
If I have more than three things going at same time then it totally stall
and I have to go to prompt and start all over.

What I like about Netrunner is that it has all the adobe flash for Firefox
installed from scratch. That suites me using a live session but still can do
anything I can on Puppy without being root nor using sudo.

Linus Torvalds like Xfce and Mr Knopper of Knoppix fame he like LXDE
if I get it.

So everybody has their own taste it seems.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sickgut


Joined: 23 Mar 2010
Posts: 1157
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 03:32    Post subject:  

KDE or Gnome, as i see it is like using a nice linux base then slapping a whole lot of vista b__ S___ on top.....

I know here at Puppy we are overly obsessed about size, but i think using old hardware like i do mostly forces you to be more fussy.

LXDE itself is 80mb this is almost the size of Puppy. Xfce is more like 250mb
If Torvalds is using Xfce.... maybe this actually means something, maybe the guy who invented linux might actually know a good desktop environment when he uses it. I personally see no advantage in upgrading from my JWM and optional Rox-Filer but if a new computer is used then Xfce may very well be capable of doing everything you would expect a desktop environment to do while not being a complete bloat/ bling whore.

i dont understand why people need to upgrade just so they can run the latest KDE or Gnome and waste money, electricity in the form of CPU cycles etc. Does it actually increase efficiency so you get more done in less time that cost you less money?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 08:18    Post subject:  

Both Netrunner 3.2 and 4.0 make use of KDE so that makes them too big
for my 1GB and one cor Atom CPU. Slow and FF stall when I have more
that one tab?

But it could be something else. KDE told me it shut down some Bling bling
it had because them took too long time to launch

Haha that explain why it totally went to stand still. One could not even
shut down apps that was open.

So I will use KUbuntu only when I need to do grub2 install to flash drives
or something. Or some prog that only exists for Ubuntu?

Knoppix works rather well on my little Netbook because I use an external
screen for it so my old eyes can read what I write Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5756
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jan 2012, 18:06    Post subject:  

Just installed Semplice 2.0.0 on one of my old P3's last night.(866 Mhz/512 Mb ram w/1 Gb of swap) Based on Debian Sid "unstable" with Openbox.Pretty quick and solid so far on that old P3.
http://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=semplice

Posting this now from the new Porteus x86_64 that just came out today...... looks worthy of further testing.
http://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=porteus
porteus1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   122.99 KB
 Viewed   943 Time(s)

porteus1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jan 2012, 04:15    Post subject:  

The old Porteus worked for me using frugal install
but none of the later or newer versions.
Maybe I did something wrong. But I am an impatient
guy so I deleted all of it.

I stay with Puppy, Knoppix, Cheat booting Netrunner
and out of curiosity I have also CorePlus from TinyCore.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jan 2012, 06:24    Post subject:  

James C
I am wondering if Slacko is or ever was compatible with porteus packages. I know the early versions were meant to be - don't expect the 64 bit version you are using to be compatible . . .

meanwhile . . . last week I spent probably 2hrs with Gentoo 12 live CD. Thought it was excellent in many ways. Very cutting edge as one might expect. Could not eject the DVD (by pressing its button) - enough already - not for me.

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 09 Jan 2012, 07:13    Post subject:  

If Slax is a fork on Slackware then Porteus being slax remixed
maybe would not work using it's repo for Slacko?

Or do you know if all slax variations are 100% compatible
with slackware repo?

Is NimbleX maybe compatible?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5756
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jan 2012, 02:26    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
James C
I am wondering if Slacko is or ever was compatible with porteus packages. I know the early versions were meant to be - don't expect the 64 bit version you are using to be compatible . . .


Good question.My answer is some Porteus packages work,some had so many missing libs that I lost interest.Using the 32 bit version by the way.
Because the Porteus packages (modules) are in the xzm format I extracted them while running Porteus and saved the extracted files.... to a flash drive in my case.
Booted into Slacko and then either install the extracted files manually or make a pet.And hunt missing libs. Laughing
Some will work but it's not just click and go... someone else may have had better luck though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
big_bass

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jan 2012, 00:14    Post subject:  

Hey I am very happy using Porteus !



my package tools works perfectly so I dont need to use modules I can install TXZ packages directly
with a GUI ... isnt that cool

They did an excellent job
I signed up to their forum also
will keep you posted on the progress

I offered them my tools for those who prefer just simple
packages and any help they could use
http://www.puppy2.org/slaxer/snapshot1.png

Joe

_________________
debian wheezy ,linux mint, slackware I use them all and they all have good points
Mint would be best for general users though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jan 2012, 01:53    Post subject:  

Congratulations!

I got porteus working some months ago and felt very happy
about it then something went wrong and now I totally fail
to boot it.

I got so sad that I deleted all downloads and entries in menu.lst

I do have an account on their forum but I don't want
to take up their time with my impossible questions.

So I give up on porteus until I feel less scared of failures.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5756
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jan 2012, 02:42    Post subject:  

Been trying out Zenwalk 7.0 for a while on an old test box.Another Slackware based distro ....not as cutting-edge as Porteus or Vector but pretty solid.Works pretty well.
zenwalk.png
 Description   
 Filesize   85.15 KB
 Viewed   638 Time(s)

zenwalk.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2098
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 08:25    Post subject: Other Distros
Subject description: bodhi 1.3
 

I installed Bodhi 1.3 to a partition on my emachines laptop, it uses the enlightenment window manager.
It comes with Midori but I added chrome and firefox 9.0.1 by using the synaptic package manager.
It needs all codecs to be downloaded and installed too but the first page of Midori has links to them and they are installed with synaptic.
I like it so far, seems fast on this not so powerful laptop.
shot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   206.42 KB
 Viewed   616 Time(s)

shot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jan 2012, 12:21    Post subject: Re: Other Distros
Subject description: bodhi 1.3
 

Billtoo wrote:
I installed Bodhi 1.3 to a partition on my emachines laptop, it uses the enlightenment window manager.
It comes with Midori but I added chrome and firefox 9.0.1 by using the synaptic package manager.
It needs all codecs to be downloaded and installed too but the first page of Midori has links to them and they are installed with synaptic.
I like it so far, seems fast on this not so powerful laptop.


H Billtoo,
I'm using Bodhi 1.2 with openbox and tint2 as my main OS - i see 1.3 updates are in the repo but as they are mostly enlightenment related im in no rush as i dont use it.

Here is a little Yad gui for downloading Bodhi .bod packages.
bodd.gz
Description  remove fake .gz and make executable.
gz

 Download 
Filename  bodd.gz 
Filesize  3.28 KB 
Downloaded  105 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 110 [1646 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 108, 109, 110 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0988s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0140s) ][ GZIP on ]