Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 13:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Other Distros
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 11 of 112 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 110, 111, 112 Next
Author Message
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Wed 05 Oct 2011, 08:49    Post_subject:  

Paul Sherman's recently released an update of Absolute; 13.39. I've installed it because for now I need a functioning word processor which will open Word 2003 documents, as LibreOffice will and Abiword still won't dependably IME (though it will open Word 97 ones), and Absolute's weakness on the multimedia front doesn't bother me for the moment. So far it's working fine but I'm still looking forward to getting some more RAM and installing Mint 11.
_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running PuppEX 14.1, New Year's Pup 02, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy X-Precise 2.4, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 538
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Wed 05 Oct 2011, 21:05    Post_subject:  

Yeah,...it seems like every OTHER Slackware-based distro has been busy with new releases. Then there's Vector that doesn't seem to be releasing it's version 7, until it becomes totally outdated !
Just regular Slackware has been working for me (with a lot of "tinkering" to get it set up right).....but I really would love to have a smaller slack-based distro that would do what the old Vector 6 standard used to.
I was really proud of Wary 5.1.1 today, though. I have it on my HP Pavilion notebook laptop (because it has the Conexant internal winmodem driver, etc. etc. etc.)..and I was able to play movie DVDs OOTB. Some Slackware (and Salix Linux, and Vector 6 SOHO) apps will run on Wary, too. Pretty neat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 06:25    Post_subject:  

Nitehawk how does you set up Slackware so it boot frugally on
NTFS internal HDD? What grub4dos menu code do you use?

I know how to boot slax variations like Porteus and Pmagic

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 07:46    Post_subject:  

nitehawk wrote:
Yeah,...it seems like every OTHER Slackware-based distro has been busy with new releases. Then there's Vector that doesn't seem to be releasing it's version 7, until it becomes totally outdated !


They still haven't got Vector 7 right though; the keymap installer doesn't work and you have to set the keyboard manually once you're in Vector 7.

I've been having an argument with them about this on the Vector forum. I don't think a distro should be released until it's the best it can get, and any flaws which have been revealed in bug testing, fixed or the afflicted software dropped or changed for something else. There are no shortage of distros for people to choose from now if yours doesn't work properly.

nitehawk wrote:
Just regular Slackware has been working for me (with a lot of "tinkering" to get it set up right).....but I really would love to have a smaller slack-based distro that would do what the old Vector 6 standard used to.


Yeah, Vector 6 was an all time great. I've got a feeling the Slackware base isn't as solid this time though - MPlayer keeps crashing in Absolute, for example.

I can't boot the Slack 13 DVD on my own machine for some reason, otherwise I'd be tempted with it too.

nitehawk wrote:
I was really proud of Wary 5.1.1 today, though. I have it on my HP Pavilion notebook laptop (because it has the Conexant internal winmodem driver, etc. etc. etc.)..and I was able to play movie DVDs OOTB. Some Slackware (and Salix Linux, and Vector 6 SOHO) apps will run on Wary, too. Pretty neat.


Cool. Wary is a good Pup for older computers.

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running PuppEX 14.1, New Year's Pup 02, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy X-Precise 2.4, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 08:00    Post_subject:  

So is Vector seen as a real Slackware?
Them got very upset with me for even saying that
Proteus is based on Slackware. Proteus is not based
on Slackware the Slackware people on LQ told me.

so what about Vector? I got the Soho version going on an old
XP machine with help from the Dev naturally. He was very friendly.
Helping me getting a save file for it.
But i failed to get it working on the Netbook maybe due to that one
having nosmp Atom CPU N270

What menu.lst for frugal install of Vector on NTFS?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 538
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Thu 06 Oct 2011, 17:11    Post_subject:  

Nooby,...I never have done a frugal install of Slackware or Vector (usually I just dual-booted with wXP on hard drive).
And I NEVER could get Vector 6 SOHO to boot after install. I tried on several different computers,..and it always stopped at the "Going to multiuser GUI" (?). It might be the CD I got,...(bad burn).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Sat 08 Oct 2011, 13:35    Post_subject:  

nitehawk wrote:
Nooby,...I never have done a frugal install of Slackware or Vector (usually I just dual-booted with wXP on hard drive).
And I NEVER could get Vector 6 SOHO to boot after install. I tried on several different computers,..and it always stopped at the "Going to multiuser GUI" (?). It might be the CD I got,...(bad burn).


Have you tried Vector 6 KDE Classic (which uses KDE 3 series)?It runs just fine on my machine. I mostly prefer the apps in Vector Standard though.

- CP

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running PuppEX 14.1, New Year's Pup 02, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy X-Precise 2.4, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 14 Oct 2011, 12:35    Post_subject:  

I totally failed to boot Vector frugally on NTFS.

So I tried to boot Bodhi linux which is a small version of Ubuntu?
http://bodhilinux.com/

Sure them want us to use Grub2 but I don't have that one on the internal hdd only on usb and that one already have Bodhi on it and works good. Smile

I want it to boot on the hdd too.

So I tested a variety of set ups on the menu.lst but being a noob i know too little what the code really require and how to "cheat" on it to boot anyway.

Here is a picture of the error it says.

"Please provide a name for this disk such as Debian 5.03 Disk 1"


obviously that is a very old version.
2009-02-15: Distribution Release: Debian GNU/Linux 5.0 distrowatch.com
So that is from some script inside the initrd whatever that gives a very general and not Bodhi specific suggestion by some Dev that made Debian boot.

So any suggestion how I get it to boot using grub4dos menu.lst on NTFS internal hdd?
bodhi-boot-fails.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  bodhi-boot-fails.jpg 
Filesize  71.78 KB 
Downloaded  198 Time(s) 

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
d4p


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 407

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 00:03    Post_subject:  

It works fine internal/external Hd

title Bodhi_1.2.1.iso
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /bodhi_1.2.1.iso
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /bodhi_1.2.1.iso (0xFF)
map --hook
root (0xFF)
kernel /casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/custom.seed boot=casper persistent iso-scan/filename=/bodhi_1.2.1.iso quiet splash --
initrd /casper/initrd.gz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nitehawk


Joined: 13 Apr 2008
Posts: 538
Location: West Central Florida

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 16:18    Post_subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:

Have you tried Vector 6 KDE Classic (which uses KDE 3 series)?It runs just fine on my machine. I mostly prefer the apps in Vector Standard though.
- CP

Actually,..yes I have. I've been using it recently on my second computer (PIII--1Ghz--512 ram--40G hard drive). It's pretty nice,...but no word processor at all (not even Kword)....and it still uses the Vector Linux's old file format (.tlz instead of the newer .txz). I just (as of a couple of days ago) switched to SalixOS 13.37. Now that is a nice Slackware-based distro ! I'm gonna get Vector 7 when it comes out, though (and when I can get a CD of it). Meanwhile,...Salix has made me drop Slackware,.....nice. I was able to add several apps right from the Slackware 13.37 DVD onto my install of SalixOS (and the Win32 codecs from the 2nd DVD of Vector 6 SOHO). I added MPlayer,...and used Wary to copy the Mozilla (MPlayer) plugins into Salix's Firefox (usr/lib/mozilla/plugins).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 16:36    Post_subject:  

d4p wrote:
It works fine internal/external Hd

title Bodhi_1.2.1.iso
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /bodhi_1.2.1.iso
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /bodhi_1.2.1.iso (0xFF)
map --hook
root (0xFF)
kernel /casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/custom.seed boot=casper persistent iso-scan/filename=/bodhi_1.2.1.iso quiet splash --
initrd /casper/initrd.gz


I can sure try but my poor memory tells me that grub4dos can not do

this on internal ntfs hdd at all.

map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /bodhi_1.2.1.iso (0xFF)
map --hook
root (0xFF)

Such are only used on USB? Are you sure you booted on NTFS internal hdd?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 16:45    Post_subject:  

I am writing from within a booted Nimblex 2010 Beta now.

I extracted the boot directory and the nimblex directory and placed them on /mnt/sda3 so if you have it other way you need to change those fuígures.

Flash on streaming video and on youtube just worked out of the box.
pictures and videos on the internal hdd works.

I have not tested yet if I am allowed to write to it though. I try to test and get back.

Here is the code?

Quote:

title NimbleX 2010
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-nx10 quiet vga=791 autoexec=startx
initrd /boot/initrd-nx10.gz


It boots to root and I have now tested to save changes to menu.lst and it just accepted it .

It does not boot to ram AFAIK so it is a bit slow? But that could be set with a toram code I guess

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
d4p


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 407

PostPosted: Sun 16 Oct 2011, 22:36    Post_subject:  

"I can sure try but my poor memory tells me that grub4dos can not do

this on internal ntfs hdd at all.

map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /bodhi_1.2.1.iso (0xFF)
map --hook
root (0xFF)"


It Posted: Tue 04 Oct 2011, 23:17, how to do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 17 Oct 2011, 05:00    Post_subject:  

d4p wrote:
...

I Posted: Tue 04 Oct 2011, 23:17, how to do it.


Yes sorry, I sure want to trust you but your example
did not look consistent to me.

in one example you had

map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /bodhi_1.2.1.iso (0xFF)
map --hook
root (0xFF)"

in another you told me to change the (0xFF) to (hd32)

but then you got back to (0xFF) in an example you claimed was for internal hdd.

So your suggestions did not came through as consistent to me.
But sure i try and tell result. Would be cool if it worked.

Edit No have tested with many variations now and also exactly as you described and it fails. Error 60

May I guess that you have the USB in the slot when you boot so
sure you may have the Casper and preseed on the internal hdd but
in reality you boot from the usb with the code you used. if one have
that code in a menu.lst on the ntfs hdd then it says Error 60

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
d4p


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 407

PostPosted: Mon 17 Oct 2011, 18:08    Post_subject:  

1. Change the (0xFF) to (hd32)
2. Defrag the partition where you put the iso file to fix the error 60

There are many free portable defragment tools.
I like to use Power Defragmenter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 112 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 110, 111, 112 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0985s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0132s) ][ GZIP on ]