Polarpup-005 with Qt4-4.8.0 and Gstreamer libs inbuild

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#466 Post by pemasu »

Could you post the /etc/acpi/sleep.sh script content.

marco07
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2011, 19:15
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

#467 Post by marco07 »

pemasu wrote:Could you post the /etc/acpi/sleep.sh script content.
Here it is :
#!/bin/bash

[ -e /tmp/suspend ] && exit
touch /tmp/suspend

sleep .2

PID=`ps -e |grep "sleep.sh$" |sort -n|head -n 1|cut -f1 -d\ `
[ $$ != $PID ] && exit


which acpitool
if [[ $? != 0 ]] ;then
notify-send "You Need to Install Acpitool to Enable Suspend" -u critical -i dialog-error
else
notify-send "Suspending to RAM" -i xscreensaver
/usr/local/Frisbee/disconnect
rfkill unblock all
acpitool -s
sleep 2
acpitool -a |grep on-line
if [[ $? == 0 ]] ; then
/etc/acpi/performance.sh
else
/etc/acpi/powersave.sh
fi

sleep 2
/usr/local/Frisbee/connect


fi


rm /tmp/suspend

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#468 Post by pemasu »

I believe it is that notify-send which gives hiccup. So try this version which is without it. Just replace the code with the code below and try....

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

[ -e /tmp/suspend ] && exit
touch /tmp/suspend

sleep .2

# do not suspend at shutdown proccess
PS=$(ps)
echo "$PS"| grep -q "sh[ ].*poweroff" && exit

PID=`ps -e |grep "sleep.sh$" |sort -n|head -n 1|cut -f1 -d\ ` 
[ $$ != $PID ] && exit

        /usr/local/Frisbee/disconnect
        rfkill unblock all
        acpitool -s
        sleep 2
        acpitool -a |grep on-line
        if [[ $? == 0 ]] ; then
                /etc/acpi/performance.sh
        else
                /etc/acpi/powersave.sh
        fi
    sleep 2        
        /usr/local/Frisbee/connect
        
rm /tmp/suspend

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#469 Post by pemasu »

And here is my previously created fixed package. I suppose it is still valid. This pet replaces those /etc/acpi files which needs to be replaced.
Attachments
etc-acpi-scripts-fix-0.0.1.pet
(1.44 KiB) Downloaded 689 times

marco07
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2011, 19:15
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

#470 Post by marco07 »

Pemasu:
Thanks! It now works OK. However, on resume, although Frisbee connection establishes, the Frisbee icon on the system try remains as non-connected. That is two monitors icon instead of a circle. This will switch to a circle by just clicking on the Frisbee icon, and exiting the ensuing Frisbee dialogue box.

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#471 Post by pemasu »

I will boot tomorrow Polarpup and check the proper syntax.

hoven
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon 21 Jun 2010, 23:39

#472 Post by hoven »

Are there nouveau or nvidia drivers that can be installed for Polarpup or is this kernel version not supported?

marco07
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2011, 19:15
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

#473 Post by marco07 »

pemasu wrote:I will boot tomorrow Polarpup and check the proper syntax.
Pemasu:
The audio in Libre Office Impress does not work despite all gstreamer dependencies avaiable. This used to function perfect in my prior installation. This should be checked as well.
Thanks!

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#474 Post by pemasu »

I did have fairly bad cascade of hazards. I did move my laptop linux hdd content to my development 1 Tb usb hdd so that I had partition for full install experiments. It was meant to be temporary solution for couple of days. I did find a solution to dpup full install frozen usb mouse and I used the full install to create the next fixed dpup exprimo. During that woof process...in the middle of devx sfs creation by woof script the usb hdd decided to die. The reading head broke and I got only click...click...click from it. No way to get it recognized as usb hdd anymore.....I didnt lose everything but I did lose all my Polarpup work...the woof used for it.
I have now spent 3 days....evenings...nights to get my dpup woof stuff back in condition. I am now almost there. Probably I will need to replace package here and there...but I have now ready platform for it. I did lose my kernel-kit but I have built it back for my kernel needs. I didnt lose my qt4 stuff, they were safe in other location.

But my work to create next Polarpup is gone and also all my previous builds. Due to that temporary moving of my linux partition content to that usb hdd. There is no way back. I just dont have time to start again with Polarpup. I do have working qt4 environment with dpup and I am going to use it and compile slowly more apps for it. Latest was Stellarium.

I might-could create an updated remastered Polarpup with some fixes though but that wouldnt be new build with new woof. More or less quick update by updating Firefox....some othe stuff. But...not sure yet. I will be quit busy once again with my other activities.

I can check the gstreamer - Libreoffice sound problem....but I would need sample file to play with. I cant debug the problem without having test material.

marco07
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2011, 19:15
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

#475 Post by marco07 »

Pemasu:
Sorry for what has happened! It is unfortunate because as I had indicated before in this thread Polar005 was a gem for me and my Thinkpad R60 laptop. It was functioning perfect before I accidentally messed up with it and had to reinstall it when all these new glitches started. I feel sorry about it and will miss it.
I have attached a nice pps slide show with a nice audio for you to enjoy and test the Libre Office Impress if you get to that point.
Thanks!
Edited:
I had problem with uploading of attachment. Several times I went through the process of attaching the file and submitting it. Every time I got the error message "Tried to upload an empty file" I was not able to resolve this issue. Tell me how to attach it and I will gladly do it.

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#476 Post by pemasu »

There is 2 Mb limit in attachments. The error message sounds like too big file. Can you compress it more. tar.gz should be accepted here.

marco07
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2011, 19:15
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

#477 Post by marco07 »

OK.
The file I wanted originally sent was about 2.9 MB. After compression by zip and tar.zip it turned to be 2.7. So, I found another file which is much smaller (1.3 MB)and has music embedded in it. Enjoy!

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#478 Post by pemasu »

I did download pristine Polarpup-005 and installed it as frugal install, booted it and then I did sfs_load LibreOffice-3.5.0. And your uploaded .pps played music on the background when I clicked ahead of those nice stick building pics.

So...something is wrong with your setup..

marco07
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2011, 19:15
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

#479 Post by marco07 »

Where is this pristine Polarpup005 located at? I am willing to redownload and retry it again.
I s it the one posted on page 1?

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#480 Post by pemasu »

Yes. I did download that one and then I sfs_loaded LibreOffice and then tested your .pps and it worked oob.
I didnt install any gstreamer packages because I should have fairly extensive set of them preinstalled.

marco07
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2011, 19:15
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

#481 Post by marco07 »

I have now discovered that not all embedded audios will play in LO Impress. The one I initially wanted to send you for one or other reasons does not play. I run the one I already send and noted this one played. So, it seems it is OK now. However, is there any other gstreamer packages that you think could be installed yet? I cannot see which packages are already per-installed. From my experience with other distros I know that the bad, good, ugly, base, and alsa gstreamer packages are needed for Libre Office Impress to function well. Is any of these not pre-installed?Type name of new folder
Thanks!
Edited later:
When I was configuring "qtconfig" in consol, I got some warnings about the gstreamer. I have attached a text file listing these warnings. Perhaps this will provide a clue to what is wrong with the installed gstreamer packages.
Attachments
warning.tar.gz
(1.1 KiB) Downloaded 663 times

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#482 Post by pemasu »

Okay. Firstly. You have messed your system with some libs which has broken the libs dependency. Maybe some Qt apps which has dragged incompatible Qt4 libs with it or incompatible gstreamer libs. Those warnings does not come from my installed stuff. They are surely compatible.

Next...the plugin scanner does not work right. I traced the problem. The plugin scanner is in /usr/lib/gstreamer-0.10 folder but....gstreamer expects to find it also from /usr/lib/gstreamer01.0/gstreamer-0.10 folder. Just creating that folder and placing symlink pointing to the existing location fixes the gstreamer stuff finding. the pet which creates that other location is in attached pet.

About my gstreamer and needed dependencies to other libs which gstreamer uses.

I did very exhaustive process by tracking every needed gstreamer plugin and dependent other audio-video libs. I launched clementine at early developing stage and I did add every missing reported dependency. Clementine is very good indicator. It needs and wants most extensive support of gstreamer plugins and other libs without complaining. After my hunting process....I created 2 pets which have all the needed stuff. Doing the same thing with woof specs adding would have been too long process so I created 2 ready pets for them.

I do have good, bad, ugly, alsa, http streaming, etc gstreamer plugins installed. I have in /usr/lib/gstreamer-0.10 folder 190 gstreamer plugins preinstalled. And all the dependent libs and in /usr/lib all the gstreamer base libs which I found needed. Of course for some audio-video formats something might be missing but I didnt find with my tests them.

gstreamer-phono-deps was one of those combined pets. I think I had another one also.
Attachments
gstreamer-plugin-scanner-fix-0.0.1.pet
(414 Bytes) Downloaded 726 times

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#483 Post by pemasu »

marco07.
When you have Polarpup with above gst helper plugin fix and with installation which does not complain about undefined symbols...and you cant get the LO embedded audio working....could you upload that file here or in free uploading service somewhere if it is over 2 Mb and I could try to trace the problem by trying to debug the process.

marco07
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2011, 19:15
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

#484 Post by marco07 »

pemasu wrote:marco07.
When you have Polarpup with above gst helper plugin fix and with installation which does not complain about undefined symbols...and you cant get the LO embedded audio working....could you upload that file here or in free uploading service somewhere if it is over 2 Mb and I could try to trace the problem by trying to debug the process.
Hi Pemasu:
I think I have found the culprit for messing up with my installed polarpup005. It is either Skype or the gnome-games-lite-2.26.1i486 packages. It seems when I run either of these, then the LO Impress loses its audio. I discovered this by spending quite some times yesterday going through a number of fresh clean manual frugal install polar005. After each install I started adding my desiered application packages one by one, testing the audio in LO Impress, saving the savefile by rebooting, backing up the savefile and repeating the process again with another application package. Right now without skype and gnome-games-lite packages all is OK.
About the file with audio, it now plays in LO IMpress. It is a 2.7 MB tar zipped file.
If you are still interested to test it I can post it somewhere for download. But you would have to tell me where. Because I really do not know of anyplace. Have never done that before. Perhaps I can email it to you if you pm me an email address. I will continue with testing to see how it works out. Will let you know if anything else pops up.
Thanks!

User avatar
pemasu
Posts: 5474
Joined: Wed 08 Jul 2009, 12:26
Location: Finland

#485 Post by pemasu »

Okay. I suppose those apps overwrites stuff or installs incompatible libs.
If you face the problems which you think is because of missing gstreamer plugin or dependent libs...then I am interested. I have sometimes uploaded to some free upload site...but it has been well over one year when I have done it last. So..I cant recommend you any good nowadays place. Maybe someone else could recommend.

But install that plugin scanner fix still.....

Post Reply