Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 09:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
sound corruption necessitates routine reboot
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
xophist


Joined: 10 Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Location: Coastal Texas

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 14:23    Post_subject:  

I had a problem with looping/stuttering sound on slacko5.4.

I never rebooted, just quit Firefox and the problem cleared.

For other reasons, I tried slacko5.4-PAE and have never had the problem (uptime=75 days).

The PC was always near max memory use, now on PAE "free" shows 7495788 used, way more than is available on the non-PAE version.

So how about trying a PAE version?

This kind of anecdotal voodoo might not help, but it should be easy to give it a shot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11117
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2013, 17:43    Post_subject:  

nubc wrote:
Thanks for your input, Flash. Do I understand you right, that you only have to restart Seamonkey? Or do you have to reboot the computer to get Flashplayer to work again?

It's been a while, but if I remember right all I have to do is restart SeaMonkey (or Firefox), not reboot the computer.

I'd say to go with what xophist suggests. Try a few different versions of Puppy. Burn a CD-RW of one and boot it with the pfix=ram option, then see what happens. If you have to reboot for some reason, you can save to the CD-RW (make a multisession Puppy) so it comes back up without going to the Save file on your hard disk drive. If that Puppy don't work, burn the next Puppy iso onto the CD-RW with either Burniso2cd or Pburn. I don't remember if you have to blank a CD-RW before Burniso2cd will burn a new iso on it, but I know you don't have to blank a rewritable DVD first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1073
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Apr 2013, 09:16    Post_subject:  

You're right, all I have to do is close and restart Seamonkey. However, I couldn't recover Seamonkey instances and locations without closing all Seamonkey browsers at the same time, which means Restarting x server instead of rebooting. This represents a time improvement, but it's still an inconvenient interruption, and very disruptive, plus Seamonkey is limited in its ability to recover all previous windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0515s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0108s) ][ GZIP on ]