Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 00:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
sound corruption necessitates routine reboot
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1096
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 15:46    Post_subject:  sound corruption necessitates routine reboot
Sub_title: UPDATE: March 18, 2013
 

I believe my sound issue occurs when the computer goes into standby, or whatever dormant mode. When the computer is awakened again, the sound driver is not correctly restored, perhaps because it wasn't properly saved. So if I let my computer rest for a long while, the sound driver will come back corrupted, the sound is profoundly flawed (stuck loop), and I must reboot to correct the condition. This happens three or four times a day, so I would like to find a remedy, or workaround, because I have lost my data more than once. Any suggestions?

Wary Puppy 5.1.1
ASUS mobo/P4 1.8 GHz/[desktop tower]
SiS AC'97 onboard sound (snd-intel8x0)
2 GB ddr ram
160 GB ide hdd

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 15:53    Post_subject:  

You could do a test by not letting the laptop into standby mode, but leaving it idle for a fair amount of time.
If you try some sound then and the sound is good, it has to do with the awakening from standby.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1096
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 20:09    Post_subject:  

The computer is a desktop, not a laptop. The procedure you suggest is the way I deduced that sound is corrupted when the computer wakes. I'm thinking this might be a bug. I guess I'll try ALSA Sound Wizard next time things go bad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1096
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun 2011, 22:36    Post_subject:  

Well, now I have experienced the sound going bad without the computer going into some dormant state. In this case, it was just a matter of time before the sound got corrupted, after several (3 to 5) hours of continuous operation, one single session.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2011, 00:18    Post_subject:  

How is Wary installed?
On which partition type?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1096
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2011, 10:47    Post_subject:  

Wary 5.1.1 full install
single ext2 partition with Linux-swap partition
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1096
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 06:04    Post_subject:  

After the sound had become corrupted, if I play a FLV file that is already downloaded, it plays fine. Streaming FLV video (on YouTube) is what gets corrupted. The corruption can occur in the middle of a song. Sound degenerates into a short loop. After the degeneration has occurred, if I start a streaming video, there won't be any sound for 20 or 30 seconds, and then the first audio to be heard is a loop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
chiron


Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 87
Location: Franken, Bavaria, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 06:43    Post_subject:  

actually, this sounds more like a streaming prob to me, than a sound prob in general. after the loop occurs, is the 'normal' sound corrupted also, or can you playback local files normally?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1096
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:11    Post_subject:  

Local files play normally. So then, is my problem a connectivity issue? How does one correct a streaming problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:23    Post_subject:  

How are you connected to the internet?
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1096
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:25    Post_subject:  

Hardwire cable from (hardwired) Linksys router to ADMtek NC100 Network Everywhere Fast Ethernet 10/100 pci card. HardInfo reports this card has capability of Power Management version 2.
Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:27    Post_subject:  

Spec's about your connection please.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1096
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:58    Post_subject:  

I just pulled the Linksys NIC (possibly incorrectly identified as ADMtek) and replaced it with a 3com 3c905B 100BaseTX, automagically detected and operational.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 10:19    Post_subject:  

And the result is?
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1096
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 04:10    Post_subject:  

Good chance this problem is fixed. The computer has been on for 12 straight hours, and videos still stream normally.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0609s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0048s) ][ GZIP on ]