Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 18:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
sound corruption necessitates routine reboot
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1017
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 15:46    Post subject:  sound corruption necessitates routine reboot
Subject description: UPDATE: March 18, 2013
 

I believe my sound issue occurs when the computer goes into standby, or whatever dormant mode. When the computer is awakened again, the sound driver is not correctly restored, perhaps because it wasn't properly saved. So if I let my computer rest for a long while, the sound driver will come back corrupted, the sound is profoundly flawed (stuck loop), and I must reboot to correct the condition. This happens three or four times a day, so I would like to find a remedy, or workaround, because I have lost my data more than once. Any suggestions?

Wary Puppy 5.1.1
ASUS mobo/P4 1.8 GHz/[desktop tower]
SiS AC'97 onboard sound (snd-intel8x0)
2 GB ddr ram
160 GB ide hdd

Last edited by nubc on Mon 18 Mar 2013, 23:31; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 15:53    Post subject:  

You could do a test by not letting the laptop into standby mode, but leaving it idle for a fair amount of time.
If you try some sound then and the sound is good, it has to do with the awakening from standby.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1017
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 20:09    Post subject:  

The computer is a desktop, not a laptop. The procedure you suggest is the way I deduced that sound is corrupted when the computer wakes. I'm thinking this might be a bug. I guess I'll try ALSA Sound Wizard next time things go bad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1017
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun 2011, 22:36    Post subject:  

Well, now I have experienced the sound going bad without the computer going into some dormant state. In this case, it was just a matter of time before the sound got corrupted, after several (3 to 5) hours of continuous operation, one single session.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2011, 00:18    Post subject:  

How is Wary installed?
On which partition type?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1017
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jun 2011, 10:47    Post subject:  

Wary 5.1.1 full install
single ext2 partition with Linux-swap partition
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1017
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 06:04    Post subject:  

After the sound had become corrupted, if I play a FLV file that is already downloaded, it plays fine. Streaming FLV video (on YouTube) is what gets corrupted. The corruption can occur in the middle of a song. Sound degenerates into a short loop. After the degeneration has occurred, if I start a streaming video, there won't be any sound for 20 or 30 seconds, and then the first audio to be heard is a loop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chiron


Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 87
Location: Franken, Bavaria, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 06:43    Post subject:  

actually, this sounds more like a streaming prob to me, than a sound prob in general. after the loop occurs, is the 'normal' sound corrupted also, or can you playback local files normally?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1017
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:11    Post subject:  

Local files play normally. So then, is my problem a connectivity issue? How does one correct a streaming problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:23    Post subject:  

How are you connected to the internet?
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1017
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:25    Post subject:  

Hardwire cable from (hardwired) Linksys router to ADMtek NC100 Network Everywhere Fast Ethernet 10/100 pci card. HardInfo reports this card has capability of Power Management version 2.
Last edited by nubc on Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:34; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:27    Post subject:  

Spec's about your connection please.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1017
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 07:58    Post subject:  

I just pulled the Linksys NIC (possibly incorrectly identified as ADMtek) and replaced it with a 3com 3c905B 100BaseTX, automagically detected and operational.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2011, 10:19    Post subject:  

And the result is?
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1017
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 04:10    Post subject:  

Good chance this problem is fixed. The computer has been on for 12 straight hours, and videos still stream normally.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0626s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]