Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Jul 2015, 15:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Openbox/Fbpanel, How to set it all up.
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 6 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 149
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Sun 22 Apr 2012, 23:44    Post_subject:  

This is an Openbox pipe menu to open ROX Filer Bookmarks.

# Name this file bookmarks.sh by removing the .zip extension.
# Place in ~/.config/openbox. Make executable.
# Add the following line to ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml:
Code:

<menu id="Bookmarks" label="Bookmarks" execute="~/.config/openbox/bookmarks.sh"/>

# Then click on Reconfigure in the Openbox menu.
bookmarks.sh.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  bookmarks.sh.zip 
Filesize  706 Bytes 
Downloaded  375 Time(s) 
menu.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   20.09 KB
 Viewed   1096 Time(s)

menu.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 949
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 19 Apr 2013, 20:52    Post_subject:  

Does this tutorial work with Slacko 5.5? I am trying out Slacko now. I have Openbox working, and I also have fbpanel showing up in the Desktop menu but no fbpanel at the bottom of my screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 1029
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Tue 01 Apr 2014, 23:42    Post_subject: Openbox/Fbpanel, How to set it all up.
Sub_title: Can Openbox work on Precise Puppy 571?
 

Hello, Smile
Looks like there's not much activity on this thread, but, I'll try anyway.

Can Openbox be put on Puppy 571?

Machine has:
1.5GB RAM
75GB HDD
PAE
Precise Puppy 571 as full install on HDD.

I've downloaded the .pets from the first post of this thread.
Openbox shows in desktop settings menu, but, does not activate.
Openbox does not show as a menu item when doing a right click on desktop to show desktop menu. (On Lupu 528, Openbox shows below the *shutdown* option on the desktop menu.)
Download and installation appeared to go without issue.
Thank you in advance for any suggestions.
Edit:It appears that a windows manager switcher is needed. The only windows manager that is evident in the system is JWM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mill0001

Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 375
Location: "People's Republik of Kalifornia"

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 02:11    Post_subject: Openbox  

@Sky Aisling: To start Openbox Try exiting to prompt, then type "startx openbox" (without quotes). I think that may do the trick for you. Let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Moat

Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 373

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 03:05    Post_subject:  

Hmm... or maybe try "xwin openbox"...I think?

BTW, vicmz's fantastic OpenboxPlus 1.6.1 pet includes a wm switcher, IIRC (as well as Tint2) - and works beautifully in Precise 5.7.1... if you're OK with LxPanel instead of Fbpanel, that is.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=86206

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 09:35    Post_subject:  

Sky Aisling,

You may be interested in FbBox which features fbpanel and the openbox window manager in a relatively small pet that integrates with most modern Woof-built Puppies, including Precise 5.7.1.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=92982

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 1029
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 13:16    Post_subject: Openbox/Fbpanel, How to set it all up.
Sub_title: Thank You! Options Look Good
 

Thank you everyone,
I'll give these a try and post back.
Very Happy

The the themes are so appealing in Openbox.
@radky
Your Slacko with FbBox and twilight background is stunning. Nice work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 1029
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 14:34    Post_subject: Openbox/Fbpanel, How to set it all up.
Sub_title: Test1
 

Using Precise Puppy 5.7.1 as Live CD (not full install as I mentioned in first post).

Thank you, mill0001
Quote:
@Sky Aisling: To start Openbox Try exiting to prompt, then type "startx openbox" (without quotes). I think that may do the trick for you. Let me know.

Negative
An Xpanel is thrown to the top of the screen.
The original panel is still at the bottom of the screen.
There is no activation of Openbox.
Reboot no longer activates.
Exit to prompt no longer activates.
Restart Xserver no longer activates.
Power down no longer activates.
I've uninstalled openbox and obconfig.
Shutdown options still don't activate.
I will cold cut the machine.
pause...
I have cold cut the machine and restarted.
The test changes to the save file must have carried over.
The desktop menu *shut down* options no longer activate.
I'll clean off the corrupted savefile and start a fresh Precise 571 savefile.
Then I'll try Moat's suggestion and radky's suggestion.
Note:
I took the openbox download from the first post in this thread.
I'm thinking there have been updates to the original that I've missed.
DaveS posted this .pet in 2011.
I have a hunch it's going to be the window switcher that does the trick. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 1029
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 15:24    Post_subject: Openbox/Fbpanel, How to set it all up.
Sub_title: Test2
 

Using Precise Puppy 5.7.1 as Live CD (not full install as I mentioned in first post)

Thank you, Moat
Quote:
Hmm... or maybe try "xwin openbox"...I think?


Negative
Same results as mill0001 suggestion.

I'll move on to radky's suggestion. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 1029
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 18:07    Post_subject: Openbox/Fbpanel, How to set it all up.
Sub_title: Test3 [SOLVED] Openbox FBPanel
 

Using Precise Puppy 5.7.1 as Live CD (not full install as I mentioned in first post)

Thank you, radky

Quote:
You may be interested in FbBox which features fbpanel and the openbox window manager in a relatively small pet that integrates with most modern Woof-built Puppies, including Precise 5.7.1.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=92982


YES! Beautiful!

I'll tinker with it some more, but, at first blush it's working perfect. I've added WBar-2.3.4 and it's working with it fine.

The only downer is that I was trying Openbox in order to get the theme *Anchos* which is not listed on this version. Is there a place I can download *Anchos* theme?

Such a relief to have a beautiful background image come up on first boot.

Thank you, again for all the fine work you've put into this, radky.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 521

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 19:20    Post_subject:  

You are welcome Sky Aisling.

From the Ubuntu Universe repository you can download a comprehensive package of almost 100 openbox themes, including the Anchos theme.

After downloading the deb package below, you can extract with the Xarchive utility (available in the Puppy menu), and then place the Anchos folder in /usr/share/themes.

http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/universe/o/openbox-themes/openbox-themes_1.0.2_all.deb

Enjoy! Smile

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sky Aisling


Joined: 27 Jun 2009
Posts: 1029
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 19:37    Post_subject: Openbox/Fbpanel, How to set it all up.
Sub_title: Anchos Theme
 

Thank you, radky

Quote:
You are welcome Sky Aisling.

From the Ubuntu Universe repository you can download a comprehensive package of almost 100 openbox themes, including the Anchos theme.

After downloading the deb package below, you can extract with the Xarchive utility (available in the Puppy menu), and then place the Anchos folder in /usr/share/themes.

http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/universe/o/openbox-themes/openbox-themes_1.0.2_all.deb

Enjoy! Smile



I cheated. I copied the *Anchos* folder from Puppy-528 /usr/share/themes and copied it to /usr/share/themes in Precise-571. Working fine. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 682

PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr 2015, 05:39    Post_subject:  

hi, i'm running FbBox-2.0_32Bit.pet on top of TahrPup. Generally seems to work well. Thx for that!

But, then i installed pcmanfm_1.2.0-1_i386.deb , and cannot get it to run.

It seemed to install ok, and it's available in the "Run" box, but nothing runs when i launch it.

i checked its dependencies with ListDD-Packages, and saw it's missing libfm and libfmgtk. So i installed the closest i could find in package manager, but got a whole bunch of failed downloads. Plz see screenshots. (i recently updated my repositories)

Any suggestions for getting PCManFM running on FbBox?

thx!
image-2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   43.23 KB
 Viewed   81 Time(s)

image-2.jpg

image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   45.59 KB
 Viewed   82 Time(s)

image-1.jpg

image-3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   23.1 KB
 Viewed   82 Time(s)

image-3.jpg


_________________
Now: PupTarhNOP
Tops: Vlina-R2 LxPrecise Racy xSlacko
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
Watching: Quirky-April Zagreb RapidPup
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1575
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jun 2015, 10:25    Post_subject: Re: Set wallpaper with openbox pipemenu.  

stu90 wrote:
Here is a mini guide and the scripts needed to add a pipe menu to openbox that will display all .jpg and .png images in a directory as a menu entry and then apply which ever is selected as a desktop wallpaper.



First download the two scripts at the bottom of this post - then right click > rename and delete the fake .gz extension for both scripts.
Now right click on each script > properties and tick the three boxes under the Exec column - this makes the scripts executable.
If you open this script as text near the top you will see

setwalle script:
This is the script that sets the background wallpaper - move this to /usr/bin

wallp.sh script:
This is the script that generates the openbox pipe menu - move this to /etc/xdg/openbox/scripts
(if you don't have a scripts directory there create one then put wallp.sh inside it.)
If you open this script as text near the top is:
WALLDIR="/usr/share/backgrounds"
This is the directory the script looks in for wallpapers - if your wallpapers are stored in a different directory delete the path between to two quote marks and enter the path to you own wallpaper directory.
WALLDIR="/path/to/my/wallpapers"

This next part can be quite tricky as we now need to add to the main openbox menu the new wallpaper pipe menu.
Code:
 <menu execute="/etc/xdg/openbox/scripts/wallp.sh" id="wallp-menu" label="Wallpapers"/>

/etc/xdg/openbox/menu_top.xml
/etc/xdg/openbox/menu_bottom.xml
/etc/xdg/openbox/menu.xml


These are the three files you could add the new pipe menu to - i have added mine to /etc/xdg/openbox/menu_top.xml
Navigate to this file and open as text - then paste the code above on the line above this one:
<menu id="root-menu" label="Puppy Linux">
Now save the file and open a terminal window and enter the command fixmenus

If all has gone well you should now have a new menu that lists all your wallpapers and when you click on one it should be applied as you desktop wallpaper.


Couldn't get this to work 'cause something keeps overwriting the root-menu or menu.xml. Is there a way around it? I loved having this when I ran fluxbox and wanna get it working here...

Ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1575
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jun 2015, 10:27    Post_subject:  

I would also love to be able to get rid of Rox Filer at the top of my menu as I prefer to use pcmanfm on this puppy.

But, of course, I edit menu.xml and it gets overwritten.

Anyone know a way around that one?

Edit: figured this one out. Edited the file /usr/sbin/fixmenus and added a # to comment out the line at the bottom of the file that has
Code:

[ `which obmenu-refresh` ] && obmenu-refresh

Cool

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 6 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1025s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]