Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 02:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to install Bitcoin client in Wary Puppy? (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
abexman

Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 05:57    Post subject:  How to install Bitcoin client in Wary Puppy? (Solved)  

Total newbie to Linux/Puppy - this stems from a more general question of do I need a *.pet to install a program or can I use the vanilla Linux *.bin? I would like to install a Bitcoin client with GUI on my machine (32 bit). I goto

http://www.bitcoin.org/

There is only a vanilla Linux download and *.bin but I cannot seem to figure out a way to install in Puppy? Is this possible or would I need to do some coding to get this program "compiled" in a way that can run on Puppy?

Wary Puppy version 5.1.1

Thanks! Sorry if this exists somewhere I spent about an hour of time googling around and looking on this forum and could not figure it out! doh!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1722
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 10:28    Post subject:  

hi abexman
right click on the 'bitcoin' file in the /bin/32/ folder , then choose 'permissions' then 'make executable/searchable'. it should work then.

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
abexman

Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Fri 20 May 2011, 11:37    Post subject:  

Cool thanks 666!

Next question - how do I make a "shortcut" to get the program execution to appear as an icon on my desktop or under the "menu" ?

====================
UPDATE: figured it out, just drag/drop to desktop!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1722
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2011, 05:43    Post subject:  

to make a desktop icon just drag and drop the bitcoin binary onto the desktop, you can then right click on it and add an icon. Note that there are some bitcoin icons in the tar.gz in /src/xpm/.

Menu entries are determined by .desktop files in /usr/share/applications/. You could open one as text (preferably in the same category that you want bitcoin in) and alter it, then save it as bitcoin.desktop.(note: you can drag and drop any desktop file onto the desktop for a desktop link to start an app)

Or alternatively you could use this .pet to make a menu entry... http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64969.

You will have to refresh menus for the menu entry to appear.... by dropping to prompt.(ctrl, alt & backspace or in the menu/shutdown/exit to prompt) and typing
Code:
fixmenus jwm
. then type
Code:
xwin
to restart.
_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
canbyte


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Location: Hamilton, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 03 Sep 2012, 00:26    Post subject:  

Hi, This thread is just what I was looking for as I'm looking to play around with this bitcoin thing, which is bit-overwhelming at the moment! Like what's a client? Is it the same thing as a wallet or a miner?

Would the instructions be the same for Slacko as for Wary?

I found an e-wallet here
http://multibit.org/
which has a download file which is .jar
What should be done with that?

At the bitcoin.org site I now see that the linux download is
bitcoin-0.6.3-linux.tar.gz
A popup window offers to open with pupzip or save in root.
Will this auto install by clicking on it?

Standing back a bit, is there any way of knowing if these things are safe, at least on my own machine? Is Puppy a suitable OS to use and should I be taking any other precautions? Any other thoughts much appreciated.

thanks in advance

_________________
1. Dell Dimension E521, AMD Athln 64, 2 GHz 1.93GB ram,
Puppy 533 on CD, accesses flash drive only,
FFox Nightly12.0
2. Compaq P3 733Hz 375RAM
Printer: Oki C3400 > LAN

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 880
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 05 Sep 2012, 20:43    Post subject:  

I could be wrong about this but aren't many of our everyday applications known as clients because the way they work involves requesting a service from a server? They actively initiate the connection whereas a server waits passively for it.

I did a quick test of the bitcoin-qt client binary in Slacko 5.3.3 and it did fire up.

I notice it is not stripped. Stripping reduces the size from about 9.2 to 7.4 M if that is a concern.

The .jar file is a java file so you would need java installed to do anything with it. I haven't so don't know if it would install and run.

Clicking on the .tar.gz file won't install it. It just unpacks (or extracts) it into a new folder but that folder contains the binary "bitcoin-qt" (in the sub-folder /bin/32) which may be all you need, not certain about that though as I only took a brief look. You may wish to move it into /usr/bin or /usr/local/bin. Obviously you do need to have qt installed (from PPM or Slickpet) as well. You will also find some icons in the new unpacked folder which you can use for a desktop icon and/or menu entry.

Regarding safety it is difficult to know for sure, but I feel much more safe running it on Puppy than I would on any other OS.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
canbyte


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Location: Hamilton, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 28 Mar 2013, 21:13    Post subject:  

Having another go at this project but am stuck on the qt thing. The 528 quickpet / PPM doesn't list qt (can't be found by search). There's a mention of this file here but I can't understand what it points to (sfs? pet?) or what to do with this info)

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/bitcoin

Hmm.... well, there's a qt listed on this page but seems to be for wary (511). I'll try downloading and running in 528 anyway, or will try switching to 511 or 533.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-wary5/

Anybody tried this?
Other suggestions much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

------------------------EDIT
ok, the package seems to install in 528 but i get the following message when trying to run bitcoin-qt

/root/bitcoin-0.8.1-linux/bin/32/bitcoin-qt: symbol lookup error: /root/bitcoin-0.8.1-linux/bin/32/bitcoin-qt: undefined symbol: _ZN9QListData7detach3Ev
Script completed hit RETURN to close window.

so i still don't know what to do Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Fri 29 Mar 2013, 00:38    Post subject:  

canbyte wrote:
Having another go at this project but am stuck on the qt thing. The 528 quickpet / PPM doesn't list qt (can't be found by search). There's a mention of this file here but I can't understand what it points to (sfs? pet?) or what to do with this info)

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/bitcoin

Hmm.... well, there's a qt listed on this page but seems to be for wary (511). I'll try downloading and running in 528 anyway, or will try switching to 511 or 533.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-wary5/

Anybody tried this?
Other suggestions much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

------------------------EDIT
ok, the package seems to install in 528 but i get the following message when trying to run bitcoin-qt

/root/bitcoin-0.8.1-linux/bin/32/bitcoin-qt: symbol lookup error: /root/bitcoin-0.8.1-linux/bin/32/bitcoin-qt: undefined symbol: _ZN9QListData7detach3Ev
Script completed hit RETURN to close window.

so i still don't know what to do Sad

is it solved or...?
You can try these .sfs
http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/Sfs/qt4-4.8.0.sfs
http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/qt_all-4.7.3.sfs
try one by one
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
canbyte


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Location: Hamilton, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 29 Mar 2013, 16:25    Post subject:  

Hi Capicoso. The answer to your question is yes and no! I got one machine to run bitcoin (on Slacko 531) but my favourite pc is quite cranky (will only run on 528 (dual screen) or 511 (mono screen), neither of which want to run the bitcoin app. Well, at least one works.

I got into problems though (on the 531 PC) while trying to sync to the bitcoin network. I suppose I should have read the instructions first as I ran out of memory, which crashed the system and wouldn't let Bitcoin client restart until I took out the log files. The instructions said I should set up enough memory to handle the full block / chain file or whatever they call it. That's 6gb!!! And growing by a gig every few months. Apparently the sync can take up to a full day! Ouch.

I suppose that means the _save file should be at least 6g? Maybe 20g by end of year? Can Puppy handle this sort of thing? Especially when trying to avoid installing to the hard drive, which seems like the thing to do with Bitcoin. Kinda makes me wonder about the whole idea. I'd be interested in your thoughts on this.

_________________
1. Dell Dimension E521, AMD Athln 64, 2 GHz 1.93GB ram,
Puppy 533 on CD, accesses flash drive only,
FFox Nightly12.0
2. Compaq P3 733Hz 375RAM
Printer: Oki C3400 > LAN

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capicoso

Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 172
Location: Argentina

PostPosted: Fri 29 Mar 2013, 19:10    Post subject:  

canbyte wrote:
Hi Capicoso. The answer to your question is yes and no! I got one machine to run bitcoin (on Slacko 531) but my favourite pc is quite cranky (will only run on 528 (dual screen) or 511 (mono screen), neither of which want to run the bitcoin app. Well, at least one works.

I got into problems though (on the 531 PC) while trying to sync to the bitcoin network. I suppose I should have read the instructions first as I ran out of memory, which crashed the system and wouldn't let Bitcoin client restart until I took out the log files. The instructions said I should set up enough memory to handle the full block / chain file or whatever they call it. That's 6gb!!! And growing by a gig every few months. Apparently the sync can take up to a full day! Ouch.

I suppose that means the _save file should be at least 6g? Maybe 20g by end of year? Can Puppy handle this sort of thing? Especially when trying to avoid installing to the hard drive, which seems like the thing to do with Bitcoin. Kinda makes me wonder about the whole idea. I'd be interested in your thoughts on this.

You don't want to use HDD? Where do you have your puppy savefile? flashdrive? For huge programs it's good to symlink the big folder outside puppy i.e /mnt/home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
canbyte


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Location: Hamilton, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 30 Mar 2013, 12:53    Post subject:  

I definitely don't want to access the HDD since my ability to reinstall XP is hopeless and I need all the stuff on Windows intact especially now at tax time. So the _save file is on the flash drive - 8g so ok for now but useless too soon!

I'll need some coaching on your symlink suggestion. The big folder seems to be /root (for the log files) and /root/spot (for the whole .bitcoin subdirectory). Can root really be moved to a new flash drive say sdc if /mnt/home is on sdb? Messing with root seems risky, no??

Well, I guess I shouldn't be such a useless noob so i'll post this and try dragging root to a new drive (albeit i'm now on the other pc/ 528 instead of the 531 but hopefully they're the same in that respect).

>EDIT
Well, ok, it gives a choice of linking absolute or relative. Not sure what those mean but I'd guess that it should be absolute sine the objective is to move not copy. Here goes.... ok, so the linking operation is not permitted, neither absolute nor relative. So now i'll try a move..... OK, it seemed to start doing it's thing and there's now a root directory on sdd but then it stopped, said 'done. There was one error. Failed to move /root as /mnt/sdd1/root.' What I ended up with seems to be a copy of root on sdd. So i guess root can't be messed with. There seems to be some reason the bitcoin client resides in /root/spot so I doubt that can be touched either. Can the _save file just be increased to the required size?

_________________
1. Dell Dimension E521, AMD Athln 64, 2 GHz 1.93GB ram,
Puppy 533 on CD, accesses flash drive only,
FFox Nightly12.0
2. Compaq P3 733Hz 375RAM
Printer: Oki C3400 > LAN

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
abexman

Joined: 20 May 2011
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue 23 Apr 2013, 20:39    Post subject:  

Hello Canbyte,

Any reason you want to install the Satoshi client? I'm thinking that since it needs to download the Blockchain it may be too big an install for many machines. Why not use a light client like Electrum? Of course there are web based wallets too like Blockchain.

A fellow Bitcoin enthusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
arseh2

Joined: 30 Aug 2013
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue 24 Dec 2013, 18:36    Post subject: Electrum.  

Hi - How can I install Electrum?

I tried to implement the tutorial here:

http://www.musicresolutions.com/portfolio/portable-encrypted-usb-bitcoin-wallet-puppy-linux-electrum/

However, I have Slacko 5.6 and I already seem to have the python installed? In any case I attempted to do what has been instructed there but these files do not appear in package manager:

------------------------
python-pip-1.0

python-setuptools
python-sip
python-qt4_4.9.1
libqtwebkit4_2.2.1
python3-pyqt4_4.9.1
------------------------

Only a pip file for a later version. I installed it.

And - on the installation instruction of Electrum, I directly downloaded it and extracted - is it the same way as on the above link which tells me to do with console?

I did not say on the console:

pip install https://download.electrum.org/Electrum-1.9.6.tar.gz#md5=0d92d137ba26136f3908f2bf50271fe3

Which it gives error.


But I just downloaded and clicked, then extracted:

https://download.electrum.org/Electrum-1.9.6.tar.gz#md5=0d92d137ba26136f3908f2bf50271fe3

Are both of these the same?

And when I look at the Electrum folder I see some files. Nothing happens when I click on them. There are some "python" icons.

How can I have these get to work? What should I do to make Electrum work? Both in terms of Electrum and Python?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0890s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]