Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 19:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Akita Linux, Beta 16 ISO
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 70 [1044 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 68, 69, 70 Next
Author Message
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2011, 14:59    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:

I do like this idea.. A LOT.. Defo something for pUpnGo or PULP, and I will look into it as well.. This would squeeze out all the extra performance possible on older PCs Smile

Good thinking, hope I can do something with it!

EDIT: Hmmmm, maybe combine the OTF-SFS loader and the RAM-check thing to auto-load any additional SFS files found, if enough RAM... I could move some of the larger apps into a separate SFS, which is only loaded when enough RAM is available..

Now that I think about it, perhaps it would be better to set a variable called RAMLEVEL (round down to the nearest power of 2 in Mb ... for instance 256mb would be ram level Cool this would be useful for recommending defaultapps or hiding apps that outspec the machine in an app-chooser/package-manager.

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 628
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2011, 15:02    Post subject:  

scOttman

restartjwm.log appears in /tmp

There are slight differences in the time the refresh takes, but only a second or two, and the main delay is always on 'fixmenus'.

Muted sound:
Bit of a hack, but adding
Code:
 amixer set -c 0 Master 70 unmute
amixer set -c 0 PCM 70 unmute

to ~/Startup/retrovol
does the trick. I'm sure there are better places to put the lines, but it'll do me for now.
(got this from: http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Alsa-sound-7.html)

Last edited by Keef on Fri 22 Jul 2011, 19:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oligin10

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Posts: 189
Location: Buckeye State, USA

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2011, 15:37    Post subject:  

Hi sc0ttman, thanks for working on Opera. I will test it all this weekend. Also, I like the ideas for personalizing the desktop, works for me! As does Akita Linux, as you are right, it is much different than 4.20, but I am beginning to like it as much as 4.20, which is still my favorite. Thanks, Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 08:44    Post subject:  

oligin10 wrote:
Hi sc0ttman, thanks for working on Opera. I will test it all this weekend. Also, I like the ideas for personalizing the desktop, works for me! As does Akita Linux, as you are right, it is much different than 4.20, but I am beginning to like it as much as 4.20, which is still my favorite. Thanks, Rob

OK cool, thanks very much Smile hope it works OK... I had no problems with Opera, tried facebook, youtube, google, yahoo mail, mashable, and wired news.. Spend about 30-40 mins browsing, no crashes, no issues for me..

Keef, I have attempted to make the "Refresh Desktop" as fast as possible.
I also did the same with a few other scripts,
here are the changes I have made since uploading that Alpha7 ISO..

x updated PPM, now scalable, updated .mo files (en, fr)
x changed from htop to lxtask in jwm apps menu (~/.jwmrc-apps)
x updated livepackages files to make the columns widths shorter in PPM

x fixed /usr/sbin/create_jwmrc_drives.sh - all icons should now be correct again

x update VLC-GTK
- kill vlc_nogui as well as vlc
- pass fullscreen setting onto vlc-gtk-btns, so it know whether or not to resize playback window on first load
- disabled fullscreen by default
x updated VLC-GTK-BTNS (the on screen controls)
- less time skipped with each SKIP button press (now only 1min)
- hides toggle subtitle button for newer VLC (controls changed)
- only run resize_playback function if not fullscreen at startup
- run resize_playback twice - required for large res files
- updated tooltips

x updated toggle-rox-desktop
- uses sed on the .jwmrc file in /root now *as well*, to update wallpaper settings
- now only needs "jwm -restart", not "restartjwm"
x updated restartjwm, rc.services, .xinitrc, toggle-rox-desktop, startups, fixmenus, pup_event_frontend_d, pup_event_backend_d,
- all now use ash (and LANG=C, where possible).. and are now faster

I have yet to run the 'time' command on the changes, compared to the old files, but it is definitely quicker! the "Refresh Desktop" command is not about 3 seconds quicker, down to about 4 seconds, on my 1gz sempron.

I still want it faster, of course, but I think that is about the limit.
Unless someone knows how to make these scripts faster Wink

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search

Last edited by sc0ttman on Sat 23 Jul 2011, 09:29; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 08:50    Post subject:  

Keef wrote:
scOttman

restartjwm.log appears in /tmp

There are slight differences in the time the refresh takes, but only a second or two, and the main delay is always on 'fixmenus'.

Muted sound:
Bit of a hack, but adding
Code:
 amixer set -c 0 Master 70 unmute
amixer set -c 0 PCM 70 unmute

to ~/Startup/retrovol
does the trick. I'm sure there are better places to put the lines, but it'll do me for now.
(got this from: http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Alsa-sound-7.html)

YOU da man! Nice, I'll add it somewhere appropriate...
Cheers for that.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 09:27    Post subject: puplite alpha7, update 001  

here's a pet with most of the stuff I have updated since uploading the alpha7 ISO ...
(not including opera package updates, of course)

Install when not using a save file!!, boot with pfix=ram Smile

Includes:

- all the stuff I did since, plus Keefs amixer fix thing in .xinitrc

EDIT: Adding the amixer commands into xinitrc makes my volume go up to 100% on PCM and MASTER ..
Distorting the sound quite badly..
Must find a way to check if muted, then apply the fix!

EDIT 2: Is this relevant? Would knowing the value (1 or 0) help?
Code:
cat /proc/asound/pcm
or maybe
Code:
cat /proc/asound/card1/pcm0


EDIT 3:

The above may or may not be relevant, but I changed the values from 70 to 30 (master) and 21 (pcm), as amixer sees 31 and over as 100%.. This seems to work fine for me (not included in update-001).

Testers, please :

- Test audio volumes, good info in /proc/asound
- Test the speed of desktop switching and desktop refresh!
- Don't be as dumb as me, and think it through first...

Run the command:

Code:
time restartjwm

then install the update-001.pet and run it again! I didn't, before remastering!
...But I can test in an older Puplite, will reboot it soon..
puplite_alpha7_update-001.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  puplite_alpha7_update-001.pet 
Filesize  73.11 KB 
Downloaded  208 Time(s) 

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search

Last edited by sc0ttman on Sat 23 Jul 2011, 14:02; edited 8 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 11:18    Post subject:  

Re: speeding up refresh
One way would be to parse all of the .desktop files for the necessary info into a file similar to the pet packages list, and maybe drop a timestamp so only new entries need to be parsed. ( I once did this parsing for a gtkdialog program that showed each program in its own categorized notebook tab.... )

Ideally this file should be generated/updated via installpkgs.sh so that the menu generator can be a single awk command.

Ex. (untested b/c I am posting from my Droid)

Category¦name¦description¦icon¦executable....

grep $some_category file ¦awk -f "¦" {print ... $2.....$5.....}

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 11:49    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
Re: speeding up refresh
One way would be to parse all of the .desktop files for the necessary info into a file similar to the pet packages list, and maybe drop a timestamp so only new entries need to be parsed.

Isn't the actual "/usr/sbin/fixmenus" script mostly unchanged in all puppies?? Cos if fixmenus is the same across many puppies, or at least the JWM part, then it might be worth doing.. Not got my head round the code quite yet, though.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 14:39    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
technosaurus wrote:
Re: speeding up refresh
One way would be to parse all of the .desktop files for the necessary info into a file similar to the pet packages list, and maybe drop a timestamp so only new entries need to be parsed.

Isn't the actual "/usr/sbin/fixmenus" script mostly unchanged in all puppies?? Cos if fixmenus is the same across many puppies, or at least the JWM part, then it might be worth doing.. Not got my head round the code quite yet, though.

Yes it is mostly the same, but the code for building the menus from .desktop files is the slow part iirc. (each file takes ~.02s) ... it may require modifying the templates too... personally I would have all the templates as variables in the fixmenus script.

BTW bashbox has a utility called time2 that gives finer grained results than time by using the difference between date before and after.

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 628
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2011, 15:55    Post subject:  

I applied the update pet.
Got the barks after running alsaconf to load the module.
Ran retrovol and sound was on about 70%. After a reboot it was up to 100%.
Volume info looks to be in /etc/asound.state. I kept a copy when it was on 100%. Lowered it to around 70% then ran
Code:
#alsactl store
to save the settings. Ran Xfdiff-cut on the two files (renamed one of them of course), and the values changed as below:
Code:

      name 'Master Playback Switch'
      value true
   }
   control.2 {
      comment.access 'read write'
      comment.type INTEGER
      comment.count 2
      comment.range '0 - 31'
      comment.dbmin -4650
      comment.dbmax 0
      iface MIXER
      name 'Master Playback Volume'
      value.0 23
      value.1 23
   }
   

Code:

   control.2 {
      comment.access 'read write'
      comment.type INTEGER
      comment.count 2
      comment.range '0 - 31'
      comment.dbmin -4650
      comment.dbmax 0
      iface MIXER
      name 'Master Playback Volume'
      value.0 13
      value.1 13
   }
   


Edit: when muted, the value is 0 of course.
There is the alsafix.pet for Lucid which aims to fix the same problem, but it won't work on Puplite (I gave it a hopeful shot...).
See here
The script in the pet is a bit beyond me to see if it can be adapted. Actually any script over about 5 lines long brings on a glazed look.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2011, 07:21    Post subject:  

Keef wrote:
I applied the update pet.
Got the barks after running alsaconf to load the module.
Ran retrovol and sound was on about 70%. After a reboot it was up to 100%.
Volume info looks to be in /etc/asound.state. I kept a copy when it was on 100%. Lowered it to around 70% then ran
Code:
#alsactl store
to save the settings.

Thanks for the info again, Keef, I will update the file in /etc/asound.state,
or add one there, if it's not already there (I've yet to check it all out)..

Just for you info, I think I will continue to use the following in ~./xinitrc.
I hope this does not conflict with the settings in /etc..
Any thoughts?

Code:
amixer set -c 0 Master 30 unmute
amixer set -c 0 PCM 21 unmute

I noticed for me, that when PCM is over the ALSA-recommended value of 70%, sound is badly distorted.. but not with MASTER, which can go to 100% with no problems.

So, the above code should enable PCM at 70% and master at 100%,
which is as loud I can get across PCs, without distortion.

I think I may also need to add another line, to control the CENTER speaker as well, to cover laptops as well. But I am not sure.

Hope that all makes sense.

EDIT: This may also be relevant: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=546623#546623

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search

Last edited by sc0ttman on Sun 24 Jul 2011, 08:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2011, 07:24    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
the code for building the menus from .desktop files is the slow part iirc. (each file takes ~.02s) ... it may require modifying the templates too... personally I would have all the templates as variables in the fixmenus script.

Maybe I could start a thread about "improving fixmenus",
just like the "improving snapmerge" thread...

Quote:
BTW bashbox has a utility called time2 that gives finer grained results than time by using the difference between date before and after.

Great, I will have a look. Yet to get onto checking out bashbox,
but I look forward to it, hope I can use it to replace lots of other code snippets and functions used elsewhere.. I already noticed FFConvert 1.1-devel, and will start making the wrapper "/usr/bin/ffconvert" containing "exec bashbox ffconvert".. Is that the right way to do it?

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2011, 12:43    Post subject:  

You don't even need a wrapper, just make a symlink of the same name as the function to bashbox.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oligin10

Joined: 17 Jul 2010
Posts: 189
Location: Buckeye State, USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2011, 14:10    Post subject: Flash problems  

Hi Scott, just wanted to give you a quick update. All my testing is from live cd, running in ram. Booted cd, wif connection, installed Opera from browser install, ran update.pet (definitely made my sound much louder), installed flash 10.pet using your flash installer. Went to insideline.com, went to video sub section, still complains needs Adobe flash 9 or newer. Flash does not show up in installed .pets. After installing flash 10.1rc pet from forum, flash works fine. Also, is cups already installed? Had to install cups to do printer setup. Also, puppizard has 2 menu entries. Went to PPM, saw new Wary repository. Thanks again, Rob
Edit 1: Sound works upon boot, but having problems with not seeing sound button in jwm tray.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2011, 14:28    Post subject: Re: Flash problems  

oligin10 wrote:
Hi Scott, just wanted to give you a quick update. All my testing is from live cd, running in ram. Booted cd, wif connection, installed Opera from browser install, ran update.pet (definitely made my sound much louder), installed flash 10.pet using your flash installer. Went to insideline.com, went to video sub section, still complains needs Adobe flash 9 or newer. Flash does not show up in installed .pets. After installing flash 10.1rc pet from forum, flash works fine. Also, is cups already installed? Had to install cups to do printer setup. Also, puppizard has 2 menu entries. Went to PPM, saw new Wary repository. Thanks again, Rob
Edit 1: Sound works upon boot, but having problems with not seeing sound button in jwm tray.

Hi oligin10,

Glad wifi is working, which tool did you use to connect?

And yeah.. The menu needs a lot of cleaning up, puppizard and more!
It is one of the last jobs I will do.

Hmm, I will test Opera on that site as well.. The Flash installer downloads the latest from the Adobe site, and unpacks it to /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins .. At least is should (always works for me)..

And no, cups it not installed by default, there is an all-one-one printing SFS file that you can download ... It is here: http://eminima.org/puplite/ .. I do not use printing if I can help it, am am a real CUPS noob, so cannot offer much help with printing.. But I do know the CUPS package in the printing SFS is the one from the pup4 repo which actually works..

The retrovol audio mixer will not appear in the tray by default, it must be enabled first. Go to Menu->System->Startups and enable it from there. Then restart X. It will then load up in the tray every time X starts..

Also, the Wary repo is not done yet, it's not showing the actual Wary5 repo, when it does, most pets will end with 'w5' ... It will be the main repo, but there will not any way of checking which are already installed.. Care will need to be taken.

Thanks again for testing, it's a real help, makes life much easier for me!
Very Happy cheers

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search

Last edited by sc0ttman on Sun 24 Jul 2011, 14:52; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 70 [1044 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 68, 69, 70 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1239s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0145s) ][ GZIP on ]