Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Jan 2020, 00:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
SolidPup 5.1.1-B Lite and OBXF
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 21 [311 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 815
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jan 2012, 00:04    Post subject:  

I have made a custom search html file that combines a google search with the well-minded puppy search. I find it also loads faster than using Firefox's about:home as well as Google's home page. And if you click on the logo, it takes you to the murga forum.

Edit: I have removed the original tar.gz file and replaced it with a pet that installs it into /root/my-documents. The html file has been further cut-down.
custom_search.png
 Description   
 Filesize   67.79 KB
 Viewed   1112 Time(s)

custom_search.png


Last edited by Tman on Sun 04 Mar 2012, 20:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 884
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Mar 2012, 16:56    Post subject: Re: SolidPup 5.1.1 FINAL
Subject description: Elegant remastered editions of Wary 5.1.1
 

Tman wrote:

Solidpup 5.1.1-Tint2 -- Smaller Alternate Version (97MB)


Downloaded to other computer:

ASUS P5A from about 1998
ISA SB16 sound card
2 PATA HDDs on primary IDE
2 optical drives on secondary IDE

So far only classic 214X boots without a very long delay after GRUB says it's loading the vmlinuz and the initrd.gz

Like some other Puppys I've tried, this SolidPup has the long delay.

I searched on line, and some people mention the
Quote:
ata3:00:qc timeout (cmd 0xec)
ata3:00: failed to IDENTIFY (I/O error, err_mask=0x5)
as possibly related?
Those lines occur 3 times in dmesg, and same for ata3.01

Code:
title Solid
root (hd1,8)
kernel /vmlinuz
initrd /initrd.gx


I hope someone can help.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 815
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun 04 Mar 2012, 17:53    Post subject:  

Shouldn't the last part of your code be initrd.gz? or was that a typo?

Also, Have you tried using the grub4dos config tool to automatically detect and configure your pups?
I have mine frugally installed in /mnt/home/solid511. The following is one of my grub4dos codes:

Code:

title SolidPup 5.1.1 - Normal Mode
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /solid511/initrd.gz
  kernel /solid511/vmlinuz   psubdir=solid511 pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
  initrd /solid511/initrd.gz


Grub4Dos, sets the code differently for different computers, but once you have it automatically detect your Operating Systems, you should be able to figure the rest out by looking the the menu.lst file
But keep a backup of your old bootconfig file just in case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 884
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Mar 2012, 18:41    Post subject: Solid on ASUS P5A  

Tman wrote:
Shouldn't the last part of your code be initrd.gz? or was that a typo?

Yes, Tman, it was a typo.
Quote:

Also, Have you tried using the grub4dos config tool to automatically detect and configure your pups?

Not yet, but thank you, I hope to do that soon.
Quote:

I have mine frugally installed in /mnt/home/solid511. The following is one of my grub4dos codes:
Code:

title SolidPup 5.1.1 - Normal Mode
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /solid511/initrd.gz
  kernel /solid511/vmlinuz   psubdir=solid511 pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
  initrd /solid511/initrd.gz


Grub4Dos, sets the code differently for different computers, but once you have it automatically detect your Operating Systems, you should be able to figure the rest out by looking the the menu.lst file
But keep a backup of your old bootconfig file just in case.

Many thanks for such a prompt reply - I appreciate it.
Thus far I'd just added a Solid stanza(?) to the existing menu.lst, in /mnt/sdb6/boot/grub/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 815
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun 04 Mar 2012, 19:07    Post subject: Re: Solid on ASUS P5A  

sheldonisaac wrote:

Thus far I'd just added a Solid stanza(?) to the existing menu.lst, in /mnt/sdb6/boot/grub/


I am not all too familiar with grub, as the grub4dos config tool that comes standard in many pups has done what I needed it to do.
I always install grub4dos to the mbr on the first partition of my first hard-drive.
Grub4dos uses a menu.lst file as well, which makes it easy to confuse the two.

A quick google search led me to some grub menu.lst samples:
How to edit Grub menu.lst
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper

Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1350
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 04 Mar 2012, 19:28    Post subject:  

Hi Tman,

You wrote:
Code:
title SolidPup 5.1.1 - Normal Mode
  find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /solid511/initrd.gz
  kernel /solid511/vmlinuz   psubdir=solid511 pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck
  initrd /solid511/initrd.gz

Am I correct in thinking the "ignore" statements are to speed bootup and that they are not specific to SolidPup (I'm using Slacko)?

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 884
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Sun 04 Mar 2012, 19:57    Post subject: Re: Solid on ASUS P5A  

Tman wrote:
sheldonisaac wrote:

Thus far I'd just added a Solid stanza(?) to the existing menu.lst, in /mnt/sdb6/boot/grub/


I am not all too familiar with grub, as the grub4dos config tool that comes standard in many pups has done what I needed it to do.
I always install grub4dos to the mbr on the first partition of my first hard-drive.
Grub4dos uses a menu.lst file as well, which makes it easy to confuse the two.

A quick google search led me to some grub menu.lst samples:
How to edit Grub menu.lst

Thanks, Tman.

I managed to get grub4dos working (had tried it some time ago) , and it
can boot Solid , per your advice above, from /mnt/sdb9/solid511

But it doesn't help with the long delay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 815
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun 04 Mar 2012, 20:01    Post subject:  

Jasper wrote:

Am I correct in thinking the "ignore" statements are to speed bootup and that they are not specific to SolidPup (I'm using Slacko)?

My regards


Hi Jasper,

No the grub4dos config settings are not specific to SolidPup. When I want to add another frugal-pup entry, I just copy the previous entry and only change the title and the foldername. With the find option, it searches all of your partitions, so frugal installs can be scattered over different drives and it will still find them. As I understand it, the --ignore option bypasses checking for pups on floppies or cd's.

That is just how the grub4dos config tool sets it up on this P4 test computer. But it sets it up a bit differently on my AMD dual-core.

I am guessing that specifying the drive ( hd 0,0 ..or whatever) and the name of the root (home) partition (sda1 ..or whatever) might make it a tad faster, cause it doesn't have to 'find' them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 815
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun 04 Mar 2012, 20:10    Post subject: Re: Solid on ASUS P5A  

sheldonisaac wrote:

I managed to get grub4dos working (had tried it some time ago) , and it
can boot Solid , per your advice above, from /mnt/sdb9/solid511

But it doesn't help with the long delay.

Maybe ttuuxxx has done some hacking to his initrd file in 2.14X or perhaps he has some optimized code in his bootconfigurations.

If you want to find out, I suggest asking him. I guess I cannot help you with the long delay. Please let the rest of us know if you find out, or better yet, let Barry know so that he can upload a fix to woof (if applicable).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 884
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 20:39    Post subject: Re: Solid on ASUS P5A  

Tman wrote:
sheldonisaac wrote:

I managed to get grub4dos working (had tried it some time ago) , and it
can boot Solid , per your advice above, from /mnt/sdb9/solid511

But it doesn't help with the long delay.

Maybe ttuuxxx has done some hacking to his initrd file in 2.14X or perhaps he has some optimized code in his bootconfigurations.

If you want to find out, I suggest asking him.

I asked in the 214X thread - no response. Should I have PMed ttuuxxx?
Quote:
I guess I cannot help you with the long delay. Please let the rest of us know if you find out, or better yet, let Barry know so that he can upload a fix to woof (if applicable).

I took out the Creative CT2950 ISA sound card, which has an IDE port.

Then SolidPup booted without the very long delay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 815
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 21:17    Post subject:  

sheldonissac,

So it appears the problem is that their is no supported driver for your soundcard. Thanks for your report.

_________________
Custom Puppy Linux search page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2012, 09:40    Post subject: solid pup
Subject description: eh, the house is not finished !
 

eh, the house is not finished ! je suis franais. I amfrench.
ou la la ! the mouse stop working when the cursor theme change. First i tried the light version, then i told me they have done a second one with bugs corrected. but no. Always the mouse stop working.
I decided no to use the welcome ? panel. I amher. Its not finished....

But your distro has a fine look on you tube.

It's Saturday, it's raining outside, i burned 2 CDs. I will try to beat this solid (hum) pup.

But dont mind, it's not a crime.

Good afternoon, messieurs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 815
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat 28 Apr 2012, 13:02    Post subject:  

Pelo,

Did the mouse work for you before you changed the cursor theme with "pcur"? If so, maybe try a different mouse-icon theme and see what happens.

If that is not the problem, all I can suggest to you is 3 things:
- check the MD5-checksum to make sure you got a good download
- try a different usb-port ( if your mouse uses one )
- try a different mouse

If you burn to disc, I recommend using a re-writable cd or a re-writable-DvD. It saved me lots of money in the long run.
Or if you learn how to create a manual frugal install, you can get all of the needed files from the ISO and do not need to burn to disc at all.

Beyond this, I cannot help you with your mouse problems and I have decided not to spend my time developing for a while...a long while.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5649
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jul 2012, 05:10    Post subject:  

Nice work Tman. I am using TINT2 on a 2Ghz Toshiba TE2100 512Mb laptop and it's great! Love the periodic table too.

Only problem so far is the Flash plugin doesn't get detected by Opera 11.62 which I downloaded via your "Internet Apps", so not working with youtube vids. (I tried placing various Libflashplayer.so versions in the /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins and /opt/opera/lib/opera/plugins folders, including the "Internet Apps" version you have available, but no joy). Not a biggy though, as I also downloaded Seamonkey to handle the Youtube stuff.

Actually, Opera is running really fast - I will be using it as my main browser as it has always been a favorite of mine and it is just so quick and easy on the eye. Waaaaay quicker than Seamonkey or Firefox.

Sorry to see you've moved on to other projects, but hey, thanks for this little gem. It's a honey. (As is Saluki, on the newer gear...). All the best with whatever you're doing next.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 815
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jul 2012, 16:58    Post subject:  

thanks greengeek!

I'm puzzled as to why flashplayer is not working with Opera. I will probably have to look into it, for knowledge's sake. But that will have to wait for the weekend, when I have more time for tinkering with Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 21 [311 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1143s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0493s) ][ GZIP on ]