Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 15:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
spup-121.02 pre-alpha3 based on 13.37
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 38 [567 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 36, 37, 38 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 07:24    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx

Gconf and ORBit2 are in the PPM, they are derived from another salix PACKAGES.TXT
http://salix.enialis.net/i486/13.37/PACKAGES.TXT
So looks like they double up on some stuff. According to that one both packages are around 1156K compressed, that would include docs and dev. The only package that we have in that could use gconf is gnumeric I think, I compiled it with that disabled, still works ok, but as DaveS pointed out if you put a hot link in gnumeric it don't work. Is that because of yelp? I dunno!
now, as far as compat goes I think it's wise to stick with matching versions. That's why i want to go through most of the quirky libs and recompile. Nothing worse than getting 'symbol lookup error' or whatever.
Space is at a premium. i don't want to bloat this thing too much. I intend to compile a new kernel too, hope that doesn't ramp it up much, shouldn't. The BABY build works ok, but it is severely cut down in drivers. I hope I can get SM-2.0.14 going ok as it is the smallest bang 4 byte, you get email, composer, address book included, so that's cool. I think composer is the deal breaker, unless you know of a really tiny wysiwyg editor Smile then I'd go firefox, even 3.6x series for size.
Playdayz had a good idea with no browser, well there was dillo and midori but midori was only there to run CUPS, that's a fair bit of overhead I reckon for printing and it's dead weight. I'd rather have a few more meg and a useful browser. It also had to carry a few meg of nss and nspr, sitting there as dead weight because midori couldn't use it. Anyway that's just my take on it, it worked fine and i just am doing it differently. If CUPS didn't need a browser then the no browser idea I reckon would be great, and I'd go that way. Smile
So, there you have it, if we don't need it then it's out!
Have to find the right balance.. I guess that's it with anything. We want a nice smooth experience, many things at the fingertips, and anything extra just a few clicks away. I think that's why quickpet was popular, that was playdayz idea too, nice and handy for a few popular apps. I do intend to update quickpet for spup, maybe call it "slickpet" Laughing

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 773
Location: de

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 07:36    Post subject:  

Brief test of spup-120 in a manual frugal install, starting with pfix=ram.

First impression....WOW!

It boots directly to the desktop without the usual dreaded 5mm right-shift. This one has maybe 1mm shift. Small enough to live with without having to install the nVidia driver.

First task is setting up a pppoe connection, which failed entirely.

Network wizard is successful in establishing the eth0 connection. Next is pppoe-gui (see picture). Setup as usual, "Start", however , gives me this:

Code:
................TIMED OUT
/usr/sbin/pppoe-start: line 193: 24381 Terminated              $CONNECT "$@" > /dev/null 2>&1

Press ENTER key to continue:


"Status" shows this:

Code:
pppoe-status: Link is down (can't read pppoe PID file /var/run/pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid.pppoe)

Press ENTER key to continue:


This file /var/run/pppoe.conf-pppoe.pid.pppoe doesn't exist at all.

In trying to make a screenshot, I notice that mtPaint-snapshot does not store its shots, or rather doesn't make any. The usual places like /.root or /tmp have no pictures stored. Even pfind can't find anything.

Keyboard in de settings works fine.

That's as far as I got before hurrying back to 525 Very Happy
pppoe.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   23.84 KB
 Viewed   1123 Time(s)

pppoe.jpg


Last edited by wuwei on Tue 03 May 2011, 08:59; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2589
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 08:12    Post subject:  

Will download and test ASAP. Signing in so I can monitor new posts in my control panel.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Tasgarth

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 202
Location: France, Besancon

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 08:56    Post subject:
Subject description: spup 120 quick tests
 

spup 120 quick tests

1 The keyboqrd lqyout is not chqnged : Wink
The keyboard layout is not changed to azerty France
No change in xorg.conf. Only the light xorg.conf no any devices section...

2 : ;tpqint snqpshot screen cqpture is i;possible Wink
mtpaint snapshot screen capture impossible
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8555
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 09:11    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
but midori was only there to run CUPS, that's a fair bit of overhead I reckon for printing and it's dead weight. I'd rather have a few more meg and a useful browser.

Exactly. Using those toy browsers in CUPS was a nuisance. I could never find the Back and Forward buttons when I needed them.

There were numerous complaints in Lupu about not having a real browser available when running as a Live CD. That's an essential feature if you want to promote Puppy for things like safe online banking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 09:14    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
pupdail is failing.
Quote:
--> The PPP daemon has died. (exit code = 127)


copied wvdail from puppeee4.4rc2 into spup120. same dead PPP daemon as above.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 10:01    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
bigbup, yes I'm aware of Phillipe's work, he does a nice job, thanks

firefox 4 is recompiled, saved nearly a meg (smaller than official version), also seamonkey-2.1b3... it's 19M, about the size of the static "official" version. Dunno why it's so bloated Rolling Eyes Confused

see the main post for download


Don't worry about it, I've compiled Seamonkey 2 and its 13MB tar.gz.
Still have some work to do to it first Smile You know me, I just don't like boring default settings etc. I'll be ready tomorrow, its late tonight.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1925
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 10:11    Post subject: spup-120 pre-alpha based on 13.37  

I installed spup120 to a 4gb flash drive.
It booted to the desktop at the correct resolution.
I ran the network wizard and used sns for eth0 and it worked.
I installed some pets and rebooted saving to the flash drive.

Mon 2 May 2011 Operating System: Slack Puppy-120 Linux 2.6.34.1
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C77 [GeForce 8200] (rev a2)
oem: NVIDIA product: MCP77 Board - mcp78pvo Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: unknown
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes


Athlon(tm) Dual Core Processor 4850e
Core 0: 2500 1: 2500 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.

I installed the devx and kernel source and tried installing the nvidia
driver but it had to uninstall the nouveau driver and reboot but after
doing that it found another problem (broken devx I think), started
over and redid the flash drive install Smile

I adjusted the sound levels with alsamixer and it's good now.
I made a seamonkey 2.0.14 pet the other day in luci 253 (I think) and it works,
really big though at 28mb

Spup120 is working pretty well on this pc for a pre alpha version.

edit: I noticed that the time was incorrect even though the time zone was set correctly, a day behind as well.
Also has an error message displayed every time urxvt is run.
image-5.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   9.42 KB
 Viewed   1007 Time(s)

image-5.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Tue 03 May 2011, 13:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 12:17    Post subject:  

Hi mick,

Frugal installation of spup-120 is working great including printer, scanner, and sound. And you call this a pre-Alpha. Only problem noted is that ePDFView doesn't work. I did not check Abiword and Gnumeric because, I prefer to always install something like LibreOffice. I've installed the following applications that appear to be working fine:
Bibletime_lucid-2.7.2a.sfs
LibreOffice-3.3.2_en-US.sfs
java_jre-6u22-Lucid-sfs4.sfs
gnome-games-Lite_2.26.1-i486-Spup
hplip-3.9.12-scan HP Scanner Drivers
pwidgets-2.3.5 Pwidgets tiny desktop apps
uget-1.6.1 Uget download manager
nvidia-260.19.21-k2.6.34.1s5 Configure NVIDIA X Server Settings
Firefox-4.0rc1-Lucid Firefox web browser
LHP_sys_info-0.3 Lighthouse System Information & Video Report
get_libreoffice-0.6 Get LibreOffice download and install LibreOffice
Acrobat_Reader-9.3.3-Lucid Adobe Acrobat Reader PDF application

Great job, Very Happy
Jim

System: BFG NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS 512MB, Asus P6T Motherboard, Intel core i7-920 (8MB Cache, 2.66 GHz), DDR3 3GB 1333MHz ram, Pioneer DVR-2910 DVD+-RW Dual Layer Burner, Realtek ALC1200 Audio, HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One

_________________
Favorites: Lighthouse 64 and Lucid + theWord
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 12:39    Post subject:  

You can download the latest seamonkey 13.7MB compiled on spup @ http://www.smokey01.com/ttuuxxx/Spup/120/seamonkey-2.0.14.pet
I added all of Barry's install scripts etc, plus I added extra search engines for the forum,barrry's blog and a few others, I also made a theme for it, I added a home button and enable the personal toolbar with puppy linux,spup,puppy forum links already there for you.

to install it for close seamonkey, then delete /root/.mozilla <--hidden folder.
then install the pet Smile
enjoy
ttuuxxx
seamonkey-2.0.14|seamonkey|2.0.14||Internet|33856K||seamonkey-2.0.14.pet||SeaMonkey mail and news|slackware|13.37||
sm.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   32.51 KB
 Viewed   966 Time(s)

sm.jpg


_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2589
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 12:53    Post subject:  

Uh, well, I gave it a quick check on my laptop (Fujitsu Siemens Esprimo Mobile 5355, 455 MB RAM, 1.87 Ghz CPU, manual frugal install)
I also had locale error but I ran chooselocale and changed it to serbian locale (sr@RS latin)
After locale change mtpaint screenshot worked (YAY, I hacked mtpaint snapshot first Razz )
Couldn't get right resolution for my laptop widescreen monitor (1280x800, SiS Integrated graphics?) when I run xorgwizard and choose that resolution X doesn't want to start.
Also keymap seems messed up (didn't see it reported, maybe error on laptops?)
Here's a screenie me trying to enter "murga-linux/com/puppy" in urlbar Laughing


_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2589
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 13:39    Post subject:  

OK, second run, now on my desktop PC Xorg has correct resolution here, keyboard works ok, changing locale fixed mtpaint, haven't tried slackware's mesa yet though, that's my next test.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 21:46    Post subject:  

Hi dejan, there is a bug in xorgwizard, I don't know what happened there, it's the same one as in spup-100 but for some reason, in the drivers section a stray " (quote) is appearing. You can edit with MP and you should get X.

Weird how keyboard worked on one system and not the other. I'm looking into that. Funny, mtpaint snapshot has been working for me, what did you do?

wuwei, thanks for confirming PPPOE has a bug. I'll try and track down a stable version.

~

Seems if a user leaves the locale as en_US then the LC_COLLATE bug appears in rxvt. So something isn't getting set right in startup, I think I'm onto it.

James C. Using gparted on a drive that has any partiton on it mounted results in gparted not working. I think it is the intended behaviour. It worked fine for me in pfix=ram. Maybe an explanation in the first window (where you choose the drive with a radiobutton) needs to be written.

As for grub, looking into it, may revert to quirky grub. most users will only use it once, so it has to work the first time right? Smile

ttuuxxx.. thanks for seamonkey, but, it suffers the same bug as the version in the iso, gifs don't work. I may go with firefox.

Billtoo.. I have to come up with something to disable nouveau when you want to install nvidia proprietary drivers. The kernel module would need to be unloaded, perhaps even moved, before the nvidia driver is installed. Tricky.

Anyone test on an old nvidia yet? Nouveau is still a little buggy. I could play fullscreen flash until I installed mesa, then fullscreen flash results in a black screen with cursor, hitting [Esc] recovers.

Jim.. I see you have the nvidia driver listed in your list of installed apps.. what procedure did you use to install it? If it was standard procedure then 'vesa' must have been loaded for you at startup I guess.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5440
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 22:45    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

James C. Using gparted on a drive that has any partiton on it mounted results in gparted not working. I think it is the intended behaviour. It worked fine for me in pfix=ram. Maybe an explanation in the first window (where you choose the drive with a radiobutton) needs to be written.


Pretty certain nothing was mounted,only had an old Lucid test frugal and swap and I turned swap off so....... I'll test again later.

01micko wrote:

Anyone test on an old nvidia yet? Nouveau is still a little buggy. I could play fullscreen flash until I installed mesa, then fullscreen flash results in a black screen with cursor, hitting [Esc] recovers


Old Nvidia here. Smile

Started out with Nouveau (more than a little buggy) and installed Mesa from Brainwave. Just watched a Sneekylinux video fullscreen with no problem.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slack Puppy, version 120

Chip description:
oem: NVidia
product: NV18 () Board Chip Rev A2

Driver used by Xorg:


Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth:

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#

# glxgears
493 frames in 5.0 seconds = 98.586 FPS
474 frames in 5.0 seconds = 94.666 FPS
463 frames in 5.0 seconds = 92.439 FPS
489 frames in 5.0 seconds = 97.706 FPS
497 frames in 5.0 seconds = 99.395 FPS
491 frames in 5.0 seconds = 98.109 FPS
450 frames in 5.0 seconds = 89.812 FPS

VGA compatible controller : nVidia Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5440
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 23:04    Post subject:  

I attempted to install and use the Nvidia 96.43.19-k2.6.34.1 driver that I'm using in 100 however X wouldn't start.
Using same Nvidia card in 100 now......


# glxgears
8235 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1646.915 FPS
8293 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1658.597 FPS
7878 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1575.520 FPS
8129 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1625.649 FPS
7804 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1559.472 FPS
8236 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1647.122 FPS
8418 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1683.512 FPS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 38 [567 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 36, 37, 38 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1128s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]