Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 01:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Reborn Puppy v0.44
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
TLM


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Central United States

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2011, 11:16    Post_subject:  

Thanks for this pup-it is really nice!
I have added cursor themes, firefox and proprietary nvidia driver.

How do I configure the shortcuts? When I hit Start+W it still launches chrome, even tho i set firefox as default.

Also, is there a way to get the cpu temp readout in F instead of C?

And finally is there a way to have the desktop icons displayed at all times? everytime I boot up I have to go to desktop icon switcher and run it to see my icons. But if i can learn how to configure additional shortcuts, i can use those instead of clicking on icons. I am not familiar with what script or programs are being used to display all of the shortcuts and memory and cpu and other data on the desktop. However i am familiar with the linux filesystem layout and can usually edit text files and things.

I guess what i really want to know how to do is edit the script on the desktop so i can add more shortcuts. I like the idea of launching things this way, and it will give a nice clean desktop with no icons.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexandrion


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2011, 14:36    Post_subject:  

TLM wrote:
Thanks for this pup-it is really nice!
I have added cursor themes, firefox and proprietary nvidia driver.

i'm happy to hear you're enjoying it Smile

TLM wrote:
How do I configure the shortcuts? When I hit Start+W it still launches chrome, even tho i set firefox as default.


the reason start+w launches chromium is because i made start+w launch chromium instead of the default browser Razz (instead of calling a function [start+w] to call a function [default browser] who calls chromium, i thought i saved a function call and just launch choromium instead)
the shortcuts are handled by the openbox window manager
the whole openbox config is stored at /root/.config/openbox/rc.xml

before you read any further please back up your /root/.config/openbox/rc.xml so you can restore it in case something goes wrong

cp /root/.config/openbox/rc.xml /root/.config/openbox/rc.xml.bak



the <keyboard> binding section should start at around line 156 in the original file (assuming you haven't changed any default settings)
scroll down until you get the end of the keyboard section (</keyboard>)
any new shortcuts should be above that line, check where the chromium combination is (W-w) and change the custom chromium launch command with the firefox launch command (i don't know it off the top of my head but if you attach your menu.xml i might be able to help you)

the keyboard bindings look like this
Code:
    <keybind key="CUSTOM-KEYS">
      <action name="Execute">
        <command>LAUNCH-COMMAND</command>
      </action>
    </keybind>

obviously replace CUSTOM-KEYS with the desired key combination and LAUNCH-COMMAND with the custom launch command
accepted keys are A,C,S,W for alt,control,shift,start and the letters should be in lower case
the keys should be separated by -
for example Control + H is C-h, Control+Alt+q is C-A-q, you get the idea
there is a way to add custom keys (such as print screen, xf86audiolowervolume) but i won't go there unless you're really interested

once you're done open a terminal (very important to be in a terminal because if you mess it up [happens] you won't be able to do anything until the config file is repaired) and type
Code:
openbox --reconfigure

and if you don't get any output from the terminal it means everything went great, if you get an error you'd better restore the backup file (assuming you made one) with
Code:
mv /root/.config/openbox/rc.xml.bak /root/.config/openbox/rc.xml


TLM wrote:
Also, is there a way to get the cpu temp readout in F instead of C?

sure, edit the conky configuration file located at /root/.config/conky/conkyrc
and just above the TEXT line add
Code:
temperature_unit fahrenheit


TLM wrote:
And finally is there a way to have the desktop icons displayed at all times? everytime I boot up I have to go to desktop icon switcher and run it to see my icons.

yes, there is a way but i wouldn't advise you to
one of the highlights of this version is that it doesn't use rox for the desktop (which renders the desktop openbox bindings useless) and it uses nitrogen instead
nitrogen not only allows openbox desktop bindings but it also works better with conky (the system monitor thing)
to enable rox at startup look in the .xinitrc file for the PuppyPin block of code and uncomment it (again i don't recommand this)

TLM wrote:
But if i can learn how to configure additional shortcuts, i can use those instead of clicking on icons.

sweet, well i told you above how to edit them, if i wasn't clear enough please tell me and i will be happy to clarify what you don't understand

TLM wrote:
I am not familiar with what script or programs are being used to display all of the shortcuts and memory and cpu and other data on the desktop. However i am familiar with the linux filesystem layout and can usually edit text files and things.

the thing in the right is conky
THE CONKY WEBPAGE wrote:
Conky is a free, light-weight system monitor for X, that displays any information on your desktop. Conky is licensed under the GPL and runs on Linux and BSD.

conky just displays whatever you tell it to so if you change the shortcut keys in conky nothing will happen to the system since conky just displays things

TLM wrote:
I guess what i really want to know how to do is edit the script on the desktop so i can add more shortcuts. I like the idea of launching things this way, and it will give a nice clean desktop with no icons.

again, editing conky will not result in a change in bindings (those are done in the openbox file), conky just displays whatever you tell it to display
TLM wrote:
Thanks!

no problem, and if i wasn't clear enough on any of my points don't hesitate to ask me to clarify

p.s. i rebuilt the image without chromium this time for guys like you (i really thought nobody used firefox anymore) but i didn't do any tests on it so there could bugged but chances are it isn't
with chromium - 168.6 mb - 1.7 gb (mounted) - 53706 files
without chromium - 140.5 mb - 1.6 gb (mounted) - 53343 files

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TLM


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Central United States

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2011, 15:56    Post_subject:  

Thanks so much. I learn more from linux forums than anywhere else. I will try some configuring later following your excellent instructions. I have to wait until i get some time and a clear mind. Working on a bathroom right now! Again your last reply was very helpful and written in a manner easy to follow and understand. I really appreciate all those in the linux community who take the time to share knowledge. Thanks again! I will post back after i have tried it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexandrion


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2011, 16:03    Post_subject:  

sure, take your time Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TLM


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Central United States

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 00:12    Post_subject:  

Hi again--Things are working great. Changed the command in my rc.xml file to firefox. The command is:

[code]
/usr/lib/firefox/firefox


Also got my cpu temp to display in farenheit. One other thing on this i found out it will still say C (example 100C) but I fixed this by changing line # 58 to:

[/code]
Temperature $alignr$color1 ${acpitemp}F$color

The F just before the $color is a C by default.

This is good for now. Will try adding more shortcuts later for Kompozer and other programs i use. Thanks again for the great tutorial. I copied and saved it just in case anything happens to your post. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexandrion


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 02:33    Post_subject:  

TLM wrote:
Hi again--Things are working great. Changed the command in my rc.xml file to firefox. The command is:

Code:
/usr/lib/firefox/firefox

that's great news!
did you check menu.xml yourself? Smile
TLM wrote:

Also got my cpu temp to display in farenheit. One other thing on this i found out it will still say C (example 100C) but I fixed this by changing line # 58 to:

Temperature $alignr$color1 ${acpitemp}F$color

The F just before the $color is a C by default.

well sure it's C, i didn't tell you that on purpose because i wanted to challenge you to figure it out for yourself, you learn more things that way Smile
the acpidtemp command returns how many degrees, it doesn't mention the temperature unit, you have to put that manually and as i said conky displays whatever you tell it to display Smile
as an added bonus, if you want conky to display the degree sign (that little o) add this
Code:
${iconv_start UTF-8 ISO_8859-1}°${iconv_stop}


TLM wrote:
This is good for now. Will try adding more shortcuts later for Kompozer and other programs i use. Thanks again for the great tutorial. I copied and saved it just in case anything happens to your post. Smile

sure, it shouldn't be hard now, you've done most of the hard part, now it's just copypasta a bunch of code and replacing two lines

by the way, by default Start+up / down / left / right launches a script i made that changes the volume and notifying you about the changes
also print screen and alt print screen launches another script i made Smile
but unfortunately the scripts are not dynamic, because different keyboards have different codes for keys, check if they work and if they don't i will try to help you personalize them Smile
the default output of the volume should be Master Front: x % PCM: x %
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TLM


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Central United States

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 10:34    Post_subject:  

Yes i noticed that Start+Up and Down arrows controls my PCM. I also saw the entries for scrot-x, however I have just been launching the run dialog and typing in scrot-x to take screenshots. I just tested them and both Print Screen and Alt Print Screen both work on my keyboard. The Alt option has the 5 second delay which i noticed in your rc.xml as scrot-x 5. Now that i know where these configuration files are, the rest is fairly easy. Thank you again. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexandrion


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 12:09    Post_subject:  

you can bind the the volume up / down / mute to your media keys
also you might want to modify the script since it's not working properly (if you don't have master front it's most likely that something else controls your master volume)
run alsamixer in a terminal and check which controls make a difference for your volume then add those instead of "Master Front" which you don't have
the script's at /usr/bin/ali-vol
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TLM


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Central United States

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 14:37    Post_subject:  

I have a Master, Master Mono and PCM. It is the Master which controls my volume. How do i modify the ali-vol script to use Master? I tried just replacing the text everywhere it said Master Front with just Master, and then I ran openbox --reconfigure from terminal. This left my Start+Up and Down without any function at all. So for now I have put the ali-vol script back the way it was (with Master Front) and once again it is using my PCM. I do not have media keys on my keyboard, so I want to use the Up and Down. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexandrion


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 15:18    Post_subject:  

type this in a terminal and attach the /root/HERE-I-AM file to your next post

Code:
 amixer > ~/HERE-I-AM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexandrion


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Sat 30 Apr 2011, 16:55    Post_subject:  

new release available Very Happy

i made my ppy-mount tool (v0.01) the default mounting handler since pmount wasn't doing it's job most of the time (it could be just me tho)

you don't have to download the new release you can just install that manually

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TLM


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Central United States

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 01:36    Post_subject:  

alexandrion wrote:
type this in a terminal and attach the /root/HERE-I-AM file to your next post

Code:
 amixer > ~/HERE-I-AM


Here it is:

Code:
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 27 [87%] [-6.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 27 [87%] [-6.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Master Mono',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Mono: Playback 24 [77%] [-10.50dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'PCM',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 29 [94%] [9.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 29 [94%] [9.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Surround',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-46.50dB] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-46.50dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Surround Jack Mode',0
  Capabilities: enum
  Items: 'Shared' 'Independent'
  Item0: 'Shared'
Simple mixer control 'Center',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Mono: Playback 31 [100%] [0.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'LFE',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Mono: Playback 0 [0%] [-46.50dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Line',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined cswitch cswitch-exclusive penum
  Capture exclusive group: 0
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-34.50dB] [on] Capture [off]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-34.50dB] [on] Capture [off]
Simple mixer control 'CD',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined cswitch cswitch-exclusive penum
  Capture exclusive group: 0
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-34.50dB] [on] Capture [off]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-34.50dB] [on] Capture [off]
Simple mixer control 'Mic',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined cswitch cswitch-exclusive penum
  Capture exclusive group: 0
  Playback channels: Mono
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Mono: Playback 0 [0%] [-34.50dB] [on]
  Front Left: Capture [on]
  Front Right: Capture [on]
Simple mixer control 'Mic Boost (+20dB)',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [off]
Simple mixer control 'Mic Select',0
  Capabilities: enum
  Items: 'Mic1' 'Mic2'
  Item0: 'Mic1'
Simple mixer control 'Video',0
  Capabilities: cswitch cswitch-exclusive penum
  Capture exclusive group: 0
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Front Left: Capture [off]
  Front Right: Capture [off]
Simple mixer control 'Phone',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined cswitch cswitch-exclusive penum
  Capture exclusive group: 0
  Playback channels: Mono
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Mono: Playback 0 [0%] [-34.50dB] [on]
  Front Left: Capture [off]
  Front Right: Capture [off]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined cswitch cswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Capture channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [off] Capture [off]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958 Output',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [off]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958 Playback AC97-SPSA',0
  Capabilities: volume volume-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Capture channels: Mono
  Limits: 0 - 3
  Mono: 3 [100%]
Simple mixer control 'IEC958 Playback Source',0
  Capabilities: enum
  Items: 'PCM' 'Analog In' 'IEC958 In'
  Item0: 'PCM'
Simple mixer control 'Beep',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pvolume-joined pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Limits: Playback 0 - 15
  Mono: Playback 0 [0%] [-45.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Aux',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined cswitch cswitch-exclusive penum
  Capture exclusive group: 0
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 31
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-34.50dB] [on] Capture [off]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-34.50dB] [on] Capture [off]
Simple mixer control 'Mono Output Select',0
  Capabilities: enum
  Items: 'Mix' 'Mic'
  Item0: 'Mix'
Simple mixer control 'Capture',0
  Capabilities: cvolume cswitch cswitch-joined penum
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Capture 0 - 15
  Front Left: Capture 0 [0%] [0.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Capture 0 [0%] [0.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Mix',0
  Capabilities: cswitch cswitch-exclusive penum
  Capture exclusive group: 0
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Front Left: Capture [off]
  Front Right: Capture [off]
Simple mixer control 'Mix Mono',0
  Capabilities: cswitch cswitch-exclusive penum
  Capture exclusive group: 0
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Front Left: Capture [off]
  Front Right: Capture [off]
Simple mixer control 'Channel Mode',0
  Capabilities: enum
  Items: '2ch' '4ch' '6ch'
  Item0: '2ch'
Simple mixer control 'Duplicate Front',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [off]
Simple mixer control 'External Amplifier',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'Input Source Select',0
  Capabilities: enum
  Items: 'Input1' 'Input2'
  Item0: 'Input1'
Simple mixer control 'Input Source Select',1
  Capabilities: enum
  Items: 'Input1' 'Input2'
  Item0: 'Input1'
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexandrion


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 02:27    Post_subject:  

Code:
#! /bin/bash

if [[ $1 -eq 1  ]]
then
     P=`amixer sset 'Master' 1+ | grep 'Front Left:' | awk '{print $5}' | sed 's/\[/Master: /g' | sed 's/\]//g'`
     M=`amixer sset 'PCM' 2+ | grep 'Front Left:' | awk '{print $5}' | sed 's/\[/PCM: /g' | sed 's/\]//g'`
     yaf-splash -text "$P $M" -timeout 1
else if [[ $1 -eq 2 ]]
then
     P=`amixer sset 'Master' 1- | grep 'Front Left:' | awk '{print $5}' | sed 's/\[/Master: /g' | sed 's/\]//g'`
     M=`amixer sset 'PCM' 2- | grep 'Front Left:' | awk '{print $5}' | sed 's/\[/PCM: /g' | sed 's/\]//g'`
     yaf-splash -text "$P $M" -timeout 1
else if [[ $1 -eq 3 ]]
then
    P=`amixer sset 'Master',0 toggle | grep "Front Left:" | awk '{print $7}'`
    if [[ ''$P'' == '[off]' ]]
    then
    P="Volume is off"
    else
    P="Volume is on"
    fi
    yaf-splash -text "$P" -timeout 1
fi
fi
fi

odd, this should work
backup the old script and paste this one instead and run
Code:
alivol 1
alivol 2
alivol 3

inside a terminal
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TLM


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Central United States

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 18:28    Post_subject:  

alexandrion wrote:
Code:
#! /bin/bash

if [[ $1 -eq 1  ]]
then
     P=`amixer sset 'Master' 1+ | grep 'Front Left:' | awk '{print $5}' | sed 's/\[/Master: /g' | sed 's/\]//g'`
     M=`amixer sset 'PCM' 2+ | grep 'Front Left:' | awk '{print $5}' | sed 's/\[/PCM: /g' | sed 's/\]//g'`
     yaf-splash -text "$P $M" -timeout 1
else if [[ $1 -eq 2 ]]
then
     P=`amixer sset 'Master' 1- | grep 'Front Left:' | awk '{print $5}' | sed 's/\[/Master: /g' | sed 's/\]//g'`
     M=`amixer sset 'PCM' 2- | grep 'Front Left:' | awk '{print $5}' | sed 's/\[/PCM: /g' | sed 's/\]//g'`
     yaf-splash -text "$P $M" -timeout 1
else if [[ $1 -eq 3 ]]
then
    P=`amixer sset 'Master',0 toggle | grep "Front Left:" | awk '{print $7}'`
    if [[ ''$P'' == '[off]' ]]
    then
    P="Volume is off"
    else
    P="Volume is on"
    fi
    yaf-splash -text "$P" -timeout 1
fi
fi
fi

odd, this should work
backup the old script and paste this one instead and run
Code:
alivol 1
alivol 2
alivol 3

inside a terminal


Thank you. I had to put the hyphen in alivol (ali-vol) to run in terminal, and now the new script is running both my Master and PCM incrementally with each press of Up or Down as follows: (beginning with both at 0)

3 6
6 13
10 19
13 26
16 32
19 39
23 45
26 52
29 58
32 65
35 71
39 77

In other words the Master is going up 3 (4 every 4th time) and the PCM is going up 6 and then 7 every other time.

It is working, and in any case i can also launch alsamixer or zmixer (i installed) if i need to tweak audio level via a GUI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alexandrion


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Sun 01 May 2011, 22:49    Post_subject:  

well, it means it works Smile that's how it's supposed to behave Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1844s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0517s) ][ GZIP on ]