Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 19 Mar 2019, 02:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to Make a Bootable Flash Drive using ISObooter
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 18 [266 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18
Author Message
hamoudoudou

Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 1467
Location: rabat

PostPosted: Sat 24 Feb 2018, 22:12    Post subject: How-to-install Puppy has yet been solved  

ISObooter is really an efficient tool. About mikeslr opinion i fully agree. people should think that the answer to How-to-install Puppy has yet been solved. Just search in the forum in the right place. No need to build new systems which loose newbies in hazardous expermental boot systems.
Don't ignore Grub4Dos, Don't ignore Isobooter Or loose yourself in Grub2... or img2key, or Porteus, or casper..
People don't read how-to, they transfer research to helpers. So well don't ask them to use Linux booter for Ubuntu or Porteus, listen to Puppy Linux tools
Failing to dual-boot puppy and windows 7 is unbelievable.. Just consider that sda1 not to be touched..
Some VIPs still think that a Puppy cannot be boot without having burn a CD... And don't want to admit different ways.
TO be positive This topic has been translated to french by esmourguit Utiliser ISObooter traduction en français
isobooter.jpg
 Description   2 Puppies Fr Slaxen and Stretch by expert Puppy Dev Josejp2424 (latino) and 2 dogs
 Filesize   59.03 KB
 Viewed   750 Time(s)

isobooter.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hamoudoudou

Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 1467
Location: rabat

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jun 2018, 02:49    Post subject: see topic Nilson Morales  

see topic Nilson Morales Ayuda al pueblo latino
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1644

PostPosted: Tue 25 Dec 2018, 13:54    Post subject:  

Hi rcrsn51,

I still think ISOBooter is one of the best things you've ever done, and that's saying something since I use so many other of your created things.

Currently, I have ~24 ISOs I use on ISOBooter, from pups to ddogs to many Linux distros, and they all work/boot great (except sometimes Fedora-based ones get picky).

But I have only one question: I know Fat32 has a max file limit size of 4GB (if I recall correctly). Well, I forgot this, and I went and downloaded the latest CentOS-7 64-bit (size 4,7GB) and then tried to transfer it into ISOBooter. Then I remembered the limitations of FAT32. Knowing this, I was wondering, is there any chance in the future that a re-vamped ISOBooter (using different partitioning) could/would work with the bigger ISOs from the mainline Linux distros like the 4.7GB CentOS-7 iso?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12625
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 30 Dec 2018, 10:15    Post subject:  

Quote:
But I have only one question: I know Fat32 has a max file limit size of 4GB (if I recall correctly). Well, I forgot this, and I went and downloaded the latest CentOS-7 64-bit (size 4,7GB) and then tried to transfer it into ISOBooter. Then I remembered the limitations of FAT32. Knowing this, I was wondering, is there any chance in the future that a re-vamped ISOBooter (using different partitioning) could/would work with the bigger ISOs from the mainline Linux distros like the 4.7GB CentOS-7 iso?

Not to my knowledge. ISObooter uses a Grub4Dos technique that only works with FAT32.

Although, I don't know anything about exFAT.

[Edit] It looks to me like Grub4Dos does NOT recognize exfat partitions.

You could always "burn" the CentOS ISO onto a flash drive with dd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3762
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 30 Dec 2018, 15:34    Post subject:  

Hi Belham,

Quote:
Then I remembered the limitations of FAT32. Knowing this, I was wondering, is there any chance in the future that a re-vamped ISOBooter (using different partitioning) could/would work with the bigger ISOs from the mainline Linux distros like the 4.7GB CentOS-7 iso?


It can be done with GRUB2, but it's a bit complicated "manual way", i.e. install GRUB2 to a partition (not write MBR) e.g. sdb2.
Then add entry in menu.lst that chainloads GRUB2 and have entries in grub.cfg to boot ISO's that are on the second (ext3/4 formatted) partition.
If you are interested, just tell me and I'll try to explain the steps.

The advantage of using GRUB2 for ISO booting is that fragmenting is not a problem (in contrary to using grub4dos (problem can be that the ISO is "not contiguous")).
Disadvantage is that booting ISO "from splash screen" (displaying isolinux screen with the entries) like grub4dos can do) is not possible with GRUB2 AFAIK (but anyone correct me if I'm wrong).

Best Wishes Wink

EDIT: Tried earlier GRUB2 booting with Debian and Ubuntu ISO's, now tried a Puppy, and it didn't boot to the desktop.
Error is: main .sfs not found. Maybe needs some special parameter that I don't know of.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1778
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2018, 00:16    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:

EDIT: Tried earlier GRUB2 booting with Debian and Ubuntu ISO's, now tried a Puppy, and it didn't boot to the desktop.
Error is: main .sfs not found. Maybe needs some special parameter that I don't know of.

Fred


Extract the main sfs from the iso to the same partition where it is and boot again. This worked for me in several cases.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12625
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jan 2019, 14:55    Post subject:  

Update: Some BIOSes won't boot an ISObooter flash drive because they mistake it for a ZIP drive. Your flash drive may appear in the BIOS incorrectly under Removable Devices. Here is a work-around.

1. Run Gparted and make two partitions:
a. Make a SMALL ext2 partition and flag it bootable.
b. Make the rest of the drive into a FAT32 partition.

2a. Copy the ISObooter script onto the first partition. Do NOT put any ISOs there.
2b. Run ISObooter. Make the drive bootable.
2c. Add the following menu.lst file:
Code:
timeout 10
default 0

title More ISOs (see the instructions)
configfile (hd0,1)/menu.lst
commandline

3a. Copy the ISObooter script onto the second partition. Add an ISO file.
3b. Run ISObooter. Do NOT make the drive bootable. Create the menu entry for your ISO.

4. Boot the flash drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7976
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 15:37    Post subject:  

Bill,

Do you know how I may need to setup the latest 64b Slax ISO in order to gain persistence?

My 2g stick is partitioned with a 262mb FAT primary with the remainder as an ext4 primary.

Thoughts or suggestions?

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12625
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 16:35    Post subject:  

No. But there is lots of documentation for installing Slax on a USB device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3762
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 16:53    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Bill,

Do you know how I may need to setup the latest 64b Slax ISO in order to gain persistence?

My 2g stick is partitioned with a 262mb FAT primary with the remainder as an ext4 primary.

Thoughts or suggestions?


Sorry, off-topic reply because it hasn't got to do with Isobooter, anyway:
Don't know how to do with Isobooter, but for a frugal install I've created 'slax' directory on sdb1 (ext4 filesystem), copied the contents of the Slax ISO to it and have as grub4dos menu.lst entry:
Code:
title Run Slax (Persistent changes)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /slax/boot/vmlinuz from=/slax/ vga=normal load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw printk.time=0 slax.flags=perch,automount
initrd /slax/boot/initrfs.img

(change "root (hd0,0)" to what it is for you)

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7976
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 16 Mar 2019, 20:52    Post subject:  

Fred,

While I don't fully understand the menu.lst layout when defining a bootable partition on thumb drives, I believe the answer lies within this post.

I suppose there's no harm in a little trial-n-error to navigate the waters..

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 18 [266 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0721s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0280s) ][ GZIP on ]