Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 09:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Mouse Pointer Problem (it clicks everything constantly)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Puppy_Zee

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 10:33    Post subject:  Mouse Pointer Problem (it clicks everything constantly)  

Hello,

I have just recently installed (Lucid) Puppy Linux. I went for the frugal install.

Its my first time with Linux, it went pretty well, I got it connected to wireless and my epson printer/scanner easily enough.

I am now having problems with the pointer - it moves very sluggishly and if I move it over anything (icons) it clicks them automatically. (If I move over the word icon - it opens half a dozen new word documents in the time it takes me to move across the icon).

Sometimes rebooting fixes this problem - sometimes it doesnt.

Sometimes it starts ok - but will start up again later.

I tried running pupply linux from the live cd (as it seemed to work ok at first but I have only noticed it more recently) this made no difference.
It sounds as if the left click button has been jammed down - but as far as I can tell this is not the case.

This is on an old dell (inspiron 1300) laptop.

Any ideas?

Also I cant find how to access the "start" menu using the keyboard only.

Many thanks for any replies.
rjbrewer

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2011, 12:05    Post subject:  

Flsynclient is in the menu for adjusting touchpad, etc.

I use a little usb mouse on my 700m Dell.

Right click on background will open menu.

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.