Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 00:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Network Config Needs Fixing
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
SimpleWater

Joined: 19 Apr 2011
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 04:17    Post subject:  Network Config Needs Fixing  

I created a similar topic on the beginners section and did not get it resolved so i am going to alert as a bug.

The Network setup wizard will not automatically connect through wifi upon boot no matter how many times you save, and it disconnects you as well.

The simple Network setup will remember your setup and connect you on boot but like network setup wizard it disconnects you randomly.

This is really annoying because it happens very frequently and should be handled immediately by the developers, thank you for reading

Last edited by SimpleWater on Wed 20 Apr 2011, 23:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 04:54    Post subject:  

Yes, there is a bug, but you have incorrectly defined it as "wifi support".
The fault relates to network configuration, and it's most likely due to an old (or bad) version of dhcpcd contained in the Puppy 5.x series.

Competent puplet developers such as jemimah have upgraded their versions of dhcpcd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5396
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 09:15    Post subject:  

What are your computer specs?
What version of Puppy?
How are you running Puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SimpleWater

Joined: 19 Apr 2011
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 23:08    Post subject:  

Oh that is good to hear! How do i go about upgrading dhcpcd like the jemimah fellow?

Bigpup, this machine has never had any problems with wifi connectivity on windows vista, so i seem to not understand how that will help. But it you must know, here it is:

sys-model: HP Pavilion dv6500 Notebook PC
sys-type: X86-based PC
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-core processor TK-55, 1800 MHz, 2 Core(s)
BIOS: Hewlett-Packard F.07, 8/9/2007
RAM: 1.00 GB
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 7150 / nForce 630M
Storage Size: 149.05 GB

Latest version of puppy: LUPU-525

Full install on internal hard drive>decicated partition>ext 3 format>10 GB


Edit: i apologize tempoutous for not using more correct terminology
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 23:39    Post subject:  

SimpleWater wrote:
How do i go about upgrading dhcpcd like the jemimah fellow?

Well I will do a forum search now to find jemimah's improved dhcpcd ....
... but in the meantime, maybe you could please edit the title of your post to something like
"Network config needs fixing"
or
"dhcpcd needs fixing"

because the current title is incorrect and misleading.


And by the way, jemimah is a she.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SimpleWater

Joined: 19 Apr 2011
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed 20 Apr 2011, 23:48    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Well I will do a forum search now to find jemimah's improved dhcpcd ....
... but in the meantime, maybe you could please edit the title of your post to something like
"Network config needs fixing"
or
"dhcpcd needs fixing"

because the current title is incorrect and misleading.


And by the way, jemimah is a she.


Fixed title. Thank you for your efforts Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5396
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 01:06    Post subject:  

Quote:
Bigpup, this machine has never had any problems with wifi connectivity on windows vista, so i seem to not understand how that will help. But it you must know, here it is:

This is not Windows.
Puppy does not come with every possible driver or is supported by manufactures .
Sometimes people do not run Puppy the way it is designed. A lot of things could cause your problem. Having as much info as possible makes it much easier to help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 02:17    Post subject:  

OK, here is where you will find jemimah's dhcpcd-5.2.9-i486.pet -
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64472
... but it was compiled for Fluppy, not Puppy 5.x, and it's in a location not expected by Puppy 5.x.

UPDATE April 26 2011
I have just repackaged jemimah's improved version of dhcpcd for Puppy 5.1/5.2, available here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=448997#448997

Last edited by tempestuous on Tue 26 Apr 2011, 00:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SimpleWater

Joined: 19 Apr 2011
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 04:34    Post subject:  

before i download dhcpcd-5.2.9-i486.pet, should i be discarding dhcpcd in /usr/local/sbin and also dhcpcd and dhcprelay in /usr/sbin/?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 04:51    Post subject:  

SimpleWater wrote:
should i be discarding dhcpcd in /usr/local/sbin

It doesn't matter; in Puppy 5.1/5.2 /usr/local/sbin/dhcpcd is just a symbolic link to /usr/sbin/dhcpcd
and the dotpet will overwrite it, anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SimpleWater

Joined: 19 Apr 2011
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 05:45    Post subject:  

After I install the package it says to run it from
network on the menu. Was I supposed to download frisbee?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 06:56    Post subject:  

No, you don't need Frisbee, you only need the dhcpcd component.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SimpleWater

Joined: 19 Apr 2011
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 08:03    Post subject:  

that didn't exactly work. I let my computer idle for a moment and it disconnected when i returned. Any more ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 08:29    Post subject:  

First make sure that Puppy is actually using the newly installed dhcpcd, with this command
Code:
dhcpcd --version

You should see this -
Code:
dhcpcd 5.2.9
Copyright (c) 2006-2010 Roy Marples


It appears that you have 2 problems:
i)your network configuration is not set up at each boot up.
The upgraded dhcpcd should have fixed this.

ii) your wifi connection randomly disconnects.
I don't know why this is happening, but it sounds as though your wifi driver is at fault. Now would be a good time to tell us what wifi driver is being used - it's listed in the Network Wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5396
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 12:48    Post subject:  

Quote:
I let my computer idle for a moment and it disconnected when i returned. Any more ideas?

Some people have to use Stay connected to internet program to keep a connection from disconnecting.
In Lucid Puppy 5.25
menu->internet->Stay Connected to Internet

What this program does is ping the connection, so that it is being accessed, and not idle for long periods. Seems some hardware needs this to keep connection.
Probably something built into hardware, that drops connection, after set period of no activity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0717s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0030s) ][ GZIP on ]