Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 11:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
firewall useless for puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 13 [182 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 07:53    Post subject:  

Nooby, you may be thinking of Echolink....

btw Internet over Ham Radio has been done for quite a while

The 'problem' with it is, you have to broadcast 'in the clear' open transmissions on Ham, so no encryption, AFAIK

We have a few Hams here on the forum using Puppy successfully


@B_b_t_S

I'm surprised with all your knowledge and wealth you haven't bought yourself a wifi or satellite repeater/amplifier and a decent high gain aerial

Distances of over 100mls are possible on Wifi, and further on Satellite

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long-range_Wi-Fi

or how about an old TV station link

http://www.gizmag.com/broadband-via-unused-tv-channels/13178/

I would've thought you'd have seen this lack of service as a business opportunity....seeing as you're a leader and all Wink

B_b_t_S wrote:
I'm just not a social creature. Smile


I'd never have guessed..... Laughing Laughing

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bernie_by_the_Sea


Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 329

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 13:24    Post subject:  

Aitch wrote:

@B_b_t_S

I'm surprised with all your knowledge and wealth you haven't bought yourself a wifi or satellite repeater/amplifier and a decent high gain aerial

Distances of over 100mls are possible on Wifi, and further on Satellite

I'm not surprised you keep making impractical or impossible suggestions. I have no idea what "100mls" is supposed to mean. The average American knows nothing of the metric system, and while I did use it in medicine, lengths there are seldom over two meters (unless you count the length of the intestinal tract). "Mls" seems to be a measure of weight.

Aitch wrote:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long-range_Wi-Fi

or how about an old TV station link

http://www.gizmag.com/broadband-via-unused-tv-channels/13178/

Total waste of my time looking at these.

Aitch wrote:

I would've thought you'd have seen this lack of service as a business opportunity....seeing as you're a leader and all Wink

I haven’t been in the market for “business opportunities” since the 1970‘s. I buy bonds from assorted governmental units backed up by the power of taxation and I buy real estate, usually raw land, for speculation. That’s the extent of my investments. I haven’t seen anything worth leading in a long, long time. My last leadership venture cost me around 15 million dollars and what I got was basically a computer program that will only run on a supercomputer. That was over ten years ago and it’s badly outdated now. However, that venture did help clarify my philosophical outlook on the nature of reality and humanity. It was an artificial intelligence venture and it became obvious to me that the species that will make mankind extinct will be computers. It’s only a matter of time until humans are slaves of robotic machines. Think Terminator.

For any future suggestions, I live at various times in four (or perhaps I should count only three) remote areas. Remote means remote. Where I am at the moment in is an oak-hickory forest amidst rolling hills. The nearest wifi that I might possibly tap is about 30 miles over these hills and through the woods. No line of sight. The nearest TV station is about 100 miles. Before I switched to satellite TV in 1985, I could only get two stations at night with heavy snow using a double-amplified system with a 125-foot tower. I see no “business opportunity” in a county of 4,000 people of whom maybe 400 have a computer and nearly all of those have access to broadband via landline phone company fiber optic cable. I would be looking at a market of maybe 10 people at the most and most of those hillbillies on welfare. My places in Maine and Arizona are even more isolated. The one in Arizona is not only forested but it’s in the mountains, not just rolling hills. The one in Ontario I rarely visit these days. I bought it in 1972 right after I became relatively wealthy as an investment but it’s not worth much more today than what I paid. It was my only bad investment in real estate. It does have a good-sized decent cabin and it's a good fishing spot. Years ago I used to fly in some poker-playing buddies -- lawyers, judges, federal agents -- for weekend parties but those days are long gone. I outlived all of 'em.

I talked to the phone company about running a fiber optic line to my property. When I first built this place in Missouri only an eight-party phone line was available. I paid to have a private phone line run to my property. That cost me $3K. With inflation and all they want $10K for fiber optic. That’s not worth it either. Obama promised rural broadband but with all the billions spent it’s not close to me. I did try satellite Internet four times about three months at a time but each time I decided it wasn’t worth the money. The first two times were earlier systems with uplink by dialup and downlink by satellite. The last two were two-way satellite which of course still means delays that make some things on the web unusable. I still have a satellite dish and receiver/modem. On topic, one thing is that the satellite provider handles the firewall.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bernie_by_the_Sea


Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 329

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 13:52    Post subject:  

ADDENDUM

Speaking of Internet connection costs back when I paid one dollar per minute (phone company) for a long distance web connection through Juno (free) I used agora to browse the web. Any of you ever heard of agora? You sent an email with an URL to an agora server and they sent you back the web page by email. Minimum connection time. Only three or four dollars to see a web site instead of ten or twelve dollars. Boy, I really miss the good old days. I could download a simple graphic for only thirty or forty dollars.

Quote:
From: agora@dna.affrc.go.jp
Received: from x1.boston.juno.com (x1.boston.juno.com [205.231.100.21])
by x2.boston.juno.com (8.6.13/8.7.Alpha.4/1.34.kim) with ESMTP id RAA03058
for <bernieb@x2.boston.juno.com>; Wed, 26 Jun 1996 17:44:39 -0400

On topic, no worries about a firewall then. Agora checked for viruses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 14:58    Post subject:  

Quote:
I'm not surprised you keep making impractical or impossible suggestions. I have no idea what "100mls" is supposed to mean.The average American knows nothing of the metric system,.....


I never mentioned metric....100mls is simply 100 of those plain old imperial miles....thought Amerika was resisting metric, but didn't realise moving to the bookwoods made you backwood [backwoods by the sea...?]

Sorry, but AI's got a long way to go before it'll replace 'intelligent' human lifeforms, even for mundane stuff....and it won't be running any version of windoze

Anyhow, since you clearly prefer the sound of your own voice I'll shut the f**k up and leave you to carry on annoying everyone else....eventually

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
miriam


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 281
Location: Queensland, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 20:48    Post subject:  

Okay, at the risk of straying way too off-topic, I can't resist this:
Quote:
It was an artificial intelligence venture and it became obvious to me that the species that will make mankind extinct will be computers. It’s only a matter of time until humans are slaves of robotic machines. Think Terminator.
There is increasing evidence that considerably higher intelligence brings a more caring and ethical mindset. Humanity's intelligence grows with each generation (it is known as the Flynn Effect) and becomes more peaceful and morally careful. Contrary to the badly skewed viewpoint presented by big media, we live in the most peaceful time in history. We also live longer and more healthily and care more about our fellows. Racism and tribalism are falling away with increasing numbers of people having broad respect for each other's rights (not very long ago women and children had no rights; now even animals do).

The only real danger is the military's interest in making intelligent killing machines (as Bernie pointed out -- Terminator), but having begun in the '60s, the pressure against such military exploits is building and I really can't see them being allowed to go down the Terminator path.

Domestic AI, on the other hand is growing by leaps and bounds. It is unlikely to ever be a threat as its design is all about helping... and consider the dogs; if one so much as bites a person it is instantly destroyed and there is a great debate about disallowing that breed. Any potentially dangerous domestic AI simply will not be allowed. We humans are much too paranoid to let it be.

Sorry about the distraction.
We now return you to your normal program. Smile

_________________
A life! Cool! Where can I download one of those from?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 21:23    Post subject:  

There is a 'firewall' in place to ensure that higher human activity, the sort we venerate in people such as prophets and the enlightened can be engaged in by those barely beyond 'best monkey in the region' mentality.

AI can be perverted to financial and military use, just as higher ethical and peaceful teachings are hijacked by soft spoken terrorists and rabid preachers.

How does this ethical firewall work? Well . . . if you attune to your self interests, that is where you will remain. A little self.
Aim for something higher and that will begin to manifest.

Does a firewall or tin foil hat work? I imagine all sorts of things work . . . but often in a completely different way to expectation . . . Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Sun 15 May 2011, 21:42    Post subject:  

http://www.transalchemy.com/2010/04/intelligent-killing-machines-wage.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
miriam


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 281
Location: Queensland, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2011, 20:03    Post subject:  

jonyo wrote:
miriam wrote:
There is increasing evidence that considerably higher intelligence brings a more caring and ethical mindset.

hmmm any more info?
Couple the Flynn Effect http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flynn_effect with the knowledge that violent crime has been decreasing ever since we started keeping records (as any criminologist knows) and calculations of violent deaths from large-scale conflicts (see Steven Pinker's TED talk on the myth of violence http://www.ted.com/talks/download/video/5422/talk/163) and finally the growth of acceptance for people of different races, religions, sexualities over the years, and the conclusion is pretty inescapable.

We are becoming smarter and more peaceful.
Sorry, I didn't mean to divert the conversation off-topic.

_________________
A life! Cool! Where can I download one of those from?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Tue 17 May 2011, 04:53    Post subject:  

ok i'll start it in off topic
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=523547#523547

back to topic there was a firewall discussion awhile back where i was surprised to read from a long time puppy user that he did not use (wording was ~ never) a firewall in puppy or feel any need to do so
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 17 May 2011, 05:30    Post subject:  

Well, I use puppy from 1.08 on.
And as many long time users, I have stated also that I don't feel the need for a firewall in puppy.
My ISP blocks almost all ports.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Tue 17 May 2011, 05:35    Post subject: Re: the point of the post
Subject description: see i made a post, and there is a point to it. you, too can read more about it TODAY!!
 

sickgut wrote:
Why would puppy have a firewall as standard if it didnt need to use it?

my recollection is that it was a topic that kept coming up from winnoobs
so a standard light easy ~ good to go firewall came into the picture
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SimpleWater

Joined: 19 Apr 2011
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Tue 17 May 2011, 22:52    Post subject:  

I was so caught up in puppy security, but then i remembered the OS(vista) I've been using for 4 years has gotten no virus/malware, which is why i removed the useless internet security months ago.

Bernie, not to sound offensive or anything, but can i ask where you get your information? Seems to me like it is overly exaggerated, at least in my point of view. Perhaps you meant javascript and flash are dangerous on phishing sites like heavy download/upload sites or pornographic websites, you know, the usual know bad places. I assure you, from my experience, JavaScript and flash are safe, at least most of time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bernie_by_the_Sea


Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 329

PostPosted: Tue 17 May 2011, 23:34    Post subject:  

SimpleWater wrote:

Bernie, not to sound offensive or anything, but can i ask where you get your information? Seems to me like it is overly exaggerated, at least in my point of view. Perhaps you meant javascript and flash are dangerous on phishing sites like heavy download/upload sites or pornographic websites, you know, the usual know bad places. I assure you, from my experience, JavaScript and flash are safe, at least most of time.

The majority of viruses my Windows security captured in the past three or so years came from forums much like this one riding in on javascript -- one on BlackBerry software (in Indonesia with some pirated software so generally an unsafe place), one on garden tractors and one on architectural design. However, I never paid much attention to where I was getting viruses since I enjoyed having them fall into my traps. My information comes from the major Linux distros. If you check the major distro forums you’ll find constant discussion about the dangers of flash. Some large multiple DVD distros don’t include flash, don’t have it in their repositories and by default have javascript disabled. Some of the most popular Firefox addons are those that disable flash and javascript. Millions of people have downloaded these but for a variety of reasons not always having to do with security.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11109
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 18 May 2011, 05:02    Post subject:  

Aitch wrote:
...thought Amerika was resisting metric, but didn't
realise moving to the bookwoods made you backwood [backwoods by
the sea...?]


I think we just can't figure it out. Oh yeah, sure we can work it out with
pencil and paper, a conversion chart, a calculator, whatever.

It just don't stick.

We all know what 12 Gauge is, if that helps. Out here in the backwoods,
somethings wrong with you, if you don't have one.

~

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bernie_by_the_Sea


Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 329

PostPosted: Wed 18 May 2011, 06:15    Post subject:  

Quote:

Since I’m seldom in Canada I've had trouble mentally calculating how much Canadian gallons are in real gallons. Or has Canada gone to liters? I drove across Canada sea to sea in 1963 and there were Imperial gallons all the way.

jonyo wrote:

yup liters for a few decades now

Aha, then I would have the Mexican problem. I've been in Mexico more often than in Canada. Mentally I figure a gallon is 4 liters (since I can only think in gallons). I get 32 liters, think 8 gallons and I'm safe since it's really 8.45.

I was in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick last summer but I came in by boat and someone else bought the gas.

What does this have to do with firewalls you ask. Danged if I know.

Last edited by Bernie_by_the_Sea on Wed 18 May 2011, 12:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 13 [182 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1200s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0102s) ][ GZIP on ]