Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 22 Sep 2019, 16:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Skype static 2.2.0.35 [SFS]
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [54 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 768
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 13:22    Post subject:  

difedepe wrote:
Terryphi wrote:
difedepe: What version of Puppy are you using and what type of install?
Have you checked Boot Manager after reboot to see that the SFS is loaded?

It has been tested on frugal installs. See first post about versions it has been tested on and note about additional libraries required by some versions.

What do you see when you type skype at terminal?


Hi,
I use the 5.25 and after rebooting I see the SFS module loaded... It's strange.
Now I installed skype from the repository but it is 2.1.0.81 version...
This one should be newer, right?
Any suggestion?


If you want the later version uninstall the older version using Puppy Package Manager and type fixmenus at terminal. Reboot and try typing skype at terminal. What do you see?

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
difedepe

Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 14:03    Post subject:  

Terryphi wrote:
difedepe wrote:
Terryphi wrote:
difedepe: What version of Puppy are you using and what type of install?
Have you checked Boot Manager after reboot to see that the SFS is loaded?

It has been tested on frugal installs. See first post about versions it has been tested on and note about additional libraries required by some versions.

What do you see when you type skype at terminal?


Hi,
I use the 5.25 and after rebooting I see the SFS module loaded... It's strange.
Now I installed skype from the repository but it is 2.1.0.81 version...
This one should be newer, right?
Any suggestion?


If you want the later version uninstall the older version using Puppy Package Manager and type fixmenus at terminal. Reboot and try typing skype at terminal. What do you see?


done: I read: command not found.
And the sfs module is loaded... strange...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 768
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 14:17    Post subject:  

difedepe: I am assuming you are using a frugal install. Is this correct? If so, can you do this:

From menu select Pfind file finder and search with All files setting for skype .

Select List>Export list to TextEditor

Copy list into a post here.

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
difedepe

Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 15:07    Post subject:  

Terryphi wrote:
difedepe: I am assuming you are using a frugal install. Is this correct? If so, can you do this:

From menu select Pfind file finder and search with All files setting for skype .

Select List>Export list to TextEditor

Copy list into a post here.


Yes, it is a frugal install.


Now I installed the 2.2 but not by sfs...
Here the result:
/root/.packages/skype_static-2.2.0.25.files
/root/.Skype
/usr/bin/skype
/usr/local/skype
/usr/share/applications/skype_static.desktop
/usr/share/pixmaps/skype.png
/usr/share/skype
/usr/share/skype/avatars/Skype.png
/usr/share/skype/lang/skype_en.qm
/usr/share/skype/lang/skype_en.ts
/usr/share/skype/sounds/SkypeLogin.wav
/usr/share/skype/sounds/SkypeLogout.wav
/var/local/icons/skype
/var/local/icons/skype.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 768
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 01:53    Post subject:  

difedepe: I was trying to diagnose your difficulties using the SFS for 2.2.0.35 which works for everyone else. If you have now installed a different version it is not possible to do that.
_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3217

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 02:19    Post subject:  

It's a binary, so works right out of the box. Just download and drag skype to your desktop. This version seems to work better than the last...it's 3 megs larger. Great to know skype for linux is being supported.

BTW/ technically, I think it's a license violation to make an SFS or PET version without getting permission. Probably build scripts are okay.


http://www.skype.com/intl/en-us/get-skype/on-your-computer/

Last edited by jpeps on Thu 27 Oct 2011, 02:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
difedepe

Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 02:26    Post subject:  

Hi guys,
this evening i'll drag n' drop the file on my desktop and i'll inform you... now I cannot (I'm in office)
do you think it works on the last puppy slackware compatible too?

http://puppylinux.org/main/Download%20Latest%20Release.htm

I remind you that I have a frugal installation.

thansk,
Peppe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3217

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 02:28    Post subject:  

difedepe wrote:
now I cannot (I'm in office)
do you think it works on the last puppy slackware compatible too?


thansk,
Peppe.


Yes...works
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
difedepe

Joined: 12 Apr 2011
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 02:36    Post subject:  

jpeps wrote:
difedepe wrote:
now I cannot (I'm in office)
do you think it works on the last puppy slackware compatible too?


thansk,
Peppe.


Yes...works



great... this evening I try immy Smile
Thanks!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jockjunior

Joined: 29 Jan 2008
Posts: 150
Location: Lancashire,U.K.

PostPosted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 07:59    Post subject:  

Acer laptop Aspire 5310
SFS doesnt work for me and neither does the pet from repo

I get the sign in screen but when I try to login it just disappears
If i start it in a terminal as I try to type my login it disappears and a message
address not supported by protocol or something similar appears in the terminal
If I start the pet version in a terminal I get something about libQT4

I'm using lupu528 frugal alongside Mint 11

Skype works in Mint.


Amy ideas?

thanks

Jock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3217

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 02:41    Post subject:  

jockjunior wrote:

If I start the pet version in a terminal I get something about libQT4

Try downloading a static copy directly from skype. It don't think it uses libQT.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drtank

Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 29 Dec 2011, 11:58    Post subject: unable to install skype
Subject description: the sfs file is loaded but skype is not installed
 

hi every body !
i am new to puppy.
have used ubuntu.
but approx 130 mb of OS which is also potable !!
unbeliveable....
so trying it....but failed to install skype. ( used puppy package manager for downloading)
checked Boot Manager after reboot and the SFS is loaded.
but there is no skype anywhere.
in ROXTerm on typing skype it says:- command not found.
i am running Puppy from usb and choose save option when shutdown for the 1st time. i am saving in the usb and have alloted it 512mb.
the skypeSFS is at /mnt/home .
any help???????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 768
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Thu 29 Dec 2011, 12:17    Post subject:  

drtank,

This thread was about the Skype SFS described in the first post with full instructions about what is works with. It adds a menu item for Skype.

The thread has been hijacked by general discussion about Skype and you appear to be using a different SFS downloaded using Puppy Package Manager. Does it not add a menu item for Skype? Take a look.

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drtank

Joined: 29 Dec 2011
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 29 Dec 2011, 13:04    Post subject:  

Terryphi wrote:
drtank,

This thread was about the Skype SFS described in the first post with full instructions about what is works with. It adds a menu item for Skype.

The thread has been hijacked by general discussion about Skype and you appear to be using a different SFS downloaded using Puppy Package Manager. Does it not add a menu item for Skype? Take a look.


Double checked ..no skype in menu...
now what should i do???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 768
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Thu 29 Dec 2011, 14:17    Post subject:  

You could try downloading my SFS ( see first post). Replace the SFS in /mnt/home with the new one. Select the new SFS in boot manager and reboot. Hopefully, you will have a menu item for Skype. Then you will need to configure the mixer for your microphone and webcam (if you have one).
_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [54 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0687s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0181s) ][ GZIP on ]