Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 02:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
"welp" for help - a sfs to be rw not ro \ installs into it?
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
scsijon

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2011, 21:23    Post subject:  "welp" for help - a sfs to be rw not ro \ installs into it?  

I'm not a programmer although I can script a bit, and would like a bit Embarassed lot of help please!

This is for my Puppy58 concept.

Having first learn't how woof works (sort of \ enough anyway) thanks to playdayz and 01micko getting me though the first stages.

Having proven the first step of the concept by moving the standard set of user applications from the puppy.sfs and into their own apps.sfs works without degridation (including stu using the apps.sfs for puppy525lite so proving it definately works), it's on to the next which after nearly a month of trying to work out 'how, where, uH', i've realized i'm well out of my depth.

Thus this "welp" for help.

I'd like to be able to do two things:

1. Have a newapps.sfs (hidden ?sfspartitionfile?) loaded as readwrite, rather than as is usually set readonly as is via the bootmanager. Maybe even dynamic in size if possible so it grows as needed?