Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 03:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
IcePuppy-014 for newer and Ice Puppy-015 for older computers
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 51 of 56 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 03:05    Post_subject:  

I have now uploaded the pet and sfs of the newer java I used and tested last night.

http://smokey01.com/pemasu/Pets/jre-1.6u25-i586.pet

http://smokey01.com/pemasu/Sfs/jre-1.6u25-i586.sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 03:07    Post_subject:  

Béèm wrote:
jim3630 wrote:
Béèm wrote:
For a java application to run, the system must know where your java binary is.
In a console issue PATH=<the path to your java binary>:$PATH


mine is in /mnt/home/ and it can't find it.

# PATH=/mnt/home/:$PATH
bash: the: No such file or directory

then install angryIP it won't run from menu. did the # PATH=/mnt/home/:$PATH again with no luck.

from the console #angryIP show no such command.
The path to your binary isn't correct
Should be something like /mnt/home/jrexxxxxxxx/bin


Thanks Beem, sorry don't have the keyboard to spell your name correctly.

# /mnt/home/java/bin/java
Usage: java [-options] class [args...]
(to execute a class)
or java [-options] -jar jarfile [args...]
(to execute a jar file)

But angyIP even from the console shows no such command.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 03:49    Post_subject:  

Fresh frugal test install of Ice Puppy-014. I installed the above jre pet and after that my java application acpi tool gui started ok, also Angry Ip worked and scanned my network.

So for me that jre pet works. People with previous jre, I suggest to remove your previous jre installations and test the above jre pet or sfs.
Separate application over 10 mb, I have tendency to use as sfs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4211
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 12:15    Post_subject: Component test for JRE in ICE14  

Works
Code:
sh-4.1# java -version
java version "1.6.0_25"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_25-b06)
Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 20.0-b11, mixed mode, sharing)

sh-4.1# java
Usage: java [-options] class [args...]
           (to execute a class)
   or  java [-options] -jar jarfile [args...]
           (to execute a jar file)

where options include: ...
Thanks for this addition. You are a master in understanding a specific area and addressing it! This is truly a premier effort that comes from you.

I have appealed to 01Micko for any knowledge he may have on problems with QuickPET, as, he may know something to help.

Hope this helps.
P.S. I find it hard to believe you are just one person. You have 3 distros simultaneously helping this community. Wow! My hat's nod to you for this contribution. The automation in yuor factory has to be enormous. Thanks Pemasu.

I now will turn my head to do some systems testing for you on Polar.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4211
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 12:29    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:
... Separate application over 10 mb, I have tendency to use as sfs.
I understand your preference.

For me, the I prefer PETs as the vehicle to adding functionality to my Live media environment. This is because after adding various useful item while running a Puppy session, i can shutdown and have Puppy save all work for me back to the Live media. This save-session (a point-in-time backup) allow my PC to restart at the point I left off. I am aware of other Puppy mechanism for doing this (frugal-full), but my preference is to maintain the OS on an off-line rewrite media for many good reason. I have not found SFSs to offer this kind of flexibility for Live media. And on reboots, I have to restart SFS load tools to use meet the application requirements I need.

Your PET(s) work extremely well. The size advantage is of NO meaning to me as the running RAM OS nowhere closely saturates my system memory. And, with SWAP on an USB/HDD, I have NEVER been able to saturate my PUPs....not yet.

Thanks PEMASU for your work in changing the performance definition, positively, for all of us in the community who have used your contributions.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 12:41    Post_subject:  

Gcmartin. Thank you of clarification why even big pets are needed. I tend to forget different needs with CD usage which is also Puppies strong property.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5084
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 13:14    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:
It looks like quickpet needs updating. I try to search if there is easy remedy for it.

Yes you need Quickpet version 4.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 13:24    Post_subject:  

Thank you Bigpup. I will try that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 13:26    Post_subject:  

jim3630 wrote:
Béèm wrote:
jim3630 wrote:
Béèm wrote:
For a java application to run, the system must know where your java binary is.
In a console issue PATH=<the path to your java binary>:$PATH


mine is in /mnt/home/ and it can't find it.

# PATH=/mnt/home/:$PATH
bash: the: No such file or directory

then install angryIP it won't run from menu. did the # PATH=/mnt/home/:$PATH again with no luck.

from the console #angryIP show no such command.
The path to your binary isn't correct
Should be something like /mnt/home/jrexxxxxxxx/bin


Thanks Beem, sorry don't have the keyboard to spell your name correctly.

# /mnt/home/java/bin/java
Usage: java [-options] class [args...]
(to execute a class)
or java [-options] -jar jarfile [args...]
(to execute a jar file)

But angyIP even from the console shows no such command.
In your case the command should be PATH=/mnt/home/java/bin:$PATH
I went to the directory where the ipscan-linux-3.0-beta5.jar is and issued
Code:
java - jar ipscan-linux-3.0-beta5.jar
and the application did run.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5708
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 18:06    Post_subject:  

Ice Puppy 014 live pfix=ram on a different old quad-core.Everything working good on initial boot.

Sun 12 Jun 2011 Operating System: Ice Puppy-014 Linux 2.6.38
5.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 3200 Graphics
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: RS780 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.7.6
dimensions: 1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R600 (RS780 9610) 20090101 x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE2 TCL
OpenGL version string: 1.5 Mesa 7.7.1

AMD Phenom(tm) 9650 Quad-Core Processor
Core 0: 2312 1: 2312 2: 2312 3: 2312 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.

# glxgears
IRQ's not enabled, falling back to busy waits: 2 0
9222 frames in 5.0 seconds
10235 frames in 5.0 seconds
10422 frames in 5.0 seconds
10429 frames in 5.0 seconds
10423 frames in 5.0 seconds

-Computer-
Processor : 4x AMD Phenom(tm) 9650 Quad-Core Processor
Memory : 3888MB (215MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sun 12 Jun 2011 05:17:22 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI R600 (RS780 9610) 20090101 x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE2 TCL
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA ATI HDMI
-

-OpenGL-
Vendor : Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Renderer : Mesa DRI R600 (RS780 9610) 20090101 x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE2 TCL
Version : 1.5 Mesa 7.7.1
Direct Rendering : Yes

Looking pretty good on this old box too. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jun 2011, 21:58    Post_subject:  

Béèm wrote:
jim3630 wrote:
Béèm wrote:
jim3630 wrote:
Béèm wrote:
For a java application to run, the system must know where your java binary is.
In a console issue PATH=<the path to your java binary>:$PATH


mine is in /mnt/home/ and it can't find it.

# PATH=/mnt/home/:$PATH
bash: the: No such file or directory

then install angryIP it won't run from menu. did the # PATH=/mnt/home/:$PATH again with no luck.

from the console #angryIP show no such command.
The path to your binary isn't correct
Should be something like /mnt/home/jrexxxxxxxx/bin


Thanks Beem, sorry don't have the keyboard to spell your name correctly.

# /mnt/home/java/bin/java
Usage: java [-options] class [args...]
(to execute a class)
or java [-options] -jar jarfile [args...]
(to execute a jar file)

But angyIP even from the console shows no such command.
In your case the command should be PATH=/mnt/home/java/bin:$PATH
I went to the directory where the ipscan-linux-3.0-beta5.jar is and issued
Code:
java - jar ipscan-linux-3.0-beta5.jar
and the application did run.


when opened the pet and it installed to /mnt/home/ now can't find it. think left it in a temp dir and now lost.

did install pemasu new jre pet in Snow Pup 20 Polar Pup01 with angryIP and it works. Beem thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2011, 09:41    Post_subject:  

All right now I had time to do Quickpet problem fixing. I started quickpet in console and then I clicked the More Pets option. Command gtkmoz not found was the error.
Well, I copied /usr/local/bin/gtkmoz from lucid 525 and voila, Quickpet works. Lucid news started to work also. The solution was so simple.

The missing script is in the attached pet.
quickpet_fix-0.0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  quickpet_fix-0.0.1.pet 
Filesize  690 Bytes 
Downloaded  157 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2011, 10:04    Post_subject:  

It will be soon time to compile 2.6.38 kernel with conservative specs, without highmem + pae. I have been thinking to take most conservative route with 486 optimization. About low latency I am still unsure, would it be best to enable it as demand only. There is that halfway option also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2011, 13:48    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:
It will be soon time to compile 2.6.38 kernel with conservative specs, without highmem + pae. I have been thinking to take most conservative route with 486 optimization. About low latency I am still unsure, would it be best to enable it as demand only. There is that halfway option also.


got quickpet fix in ip14 and of course works well.

Regarding conservative 486 I do have ip14 installed in a dell D610 while it speeds along it heats up to cook sausage.
Ice Pup14.png
 Description   
 Filesize   79.55 KB
 Viewed   752 Time(s)

Ice Pup14.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2011, 15:58    Post_subject:  

Posting now from Ice Puppy-015. It has freshly compiled 2.6.38-4 kernel. It is now conservative 486 optimization, which means automatically that is not highmem+pae kernel. Also it has voluntary preemptive low latency desktop option enabled so it is not quite low latency kernel. It is SMP though and all the previous drivers are enabled. Seems to work.

I have updated Pidgin to 2.8.0 and Transmission to the 2.31. Fotoxx has been updated also.

I forgot one important lib package and I will recreate the packages to be sure the build is sane.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 51 of 56 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1173s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0207s) ][ GZIP on ]