Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 10:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Is mozilla really a good/the best browser?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
PeterSieg

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Germany, 37603

PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar 2006, 07:16    Post_subject:  Is mozilla really a good/the best browser?  

Hi. I have experienced difficulties with 1.0.8 and mozilla, rendering very complex web pages with probably the need to rescaling images.

The system uses almost 100% CPU. You can't do anything then..?
(Only ctrl+alt+bs or ctrl+alt+del)

I think I had this before also in 1.0.7 etc. with mozilla.

With opera and firefox, I don't experienced such problems..
I have 'only' 120MB Ram (8MB for graphic card)..
CPU is Duron 1300MHz - should be plenty enough..
Screen size is 1280x1024+16 using Xorg.

For example: www.asus.com ...

More simpler pages like www.goosee.com, Puppy forum etc. are no
problem at all!

PS

_________________
Have fun Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar 2006, 08:51    Post_subject:  

We have discussed this many times.
If you prefer Opera or Firefox, install them. Smile

Mozilla seems the most stable. I think composer is the stumbling block but there are ways around that. What you seem to be asking is please make something else the default because I prefer it. No? I have a feeling we will move to Firefox eventually, simply because it is easier and simpler to use. I really liked the triple version of Puppy we had (I think it was roundabout the 1.0.0 version) Three versions of Puppy Opera, Firefox or Mozilla - Now that is choice.

I suppose someone if they were really interested could remaster and upload Puppy Firefox 1.0.8r1

I am using Firefox at the moment (in Ubuntu) and yes it is great.

Is anyone up for it? Peter?
Perhaps you might start a Poll because I never hear anyone who prefers Mozilla - ahhh . . . now there is a big clue . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
PeterSieg

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 361
Location: Germany, 37603

PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar 2006, 09:21    Post_subject: What is the >>best<< browser  

Hi Lobster.

Quote:
Mozilla seems the most stable. I think composer is the stumbling block but there are ways around that. What you seem to be asking is please make something else the default because I prefer it. No?


My point is, that IF mozilla would be a stable browser, I personally would NOT care, whether mozilla, firefox or opera would be the default browser in Puppy...

BUT, it seems to me (from own experiences), that mozilla is actually the weakest browser from the selection above!

Now my question is probably, do I only have such bad experiances with mozilla..? Or are there anybody out there having same/similiar experiences..?

If someone wants to start a poll, it should be not 'which one is the >>best<<', but rather which one is the most stable one and does the job you asked for.. (of course keeping size in mind)..

One occasion was not nice for Puppy, when I showed puppy, browsing to
such a bloatet site and puppy freezing, compared to doing the same in win$ and it works without a problem Sad

I do prefer firefox for browser and seamonkey for mail, but as I said,
I can use also mozilla and sylpheed - if they do the job!

Maybe you are right.. probably we should start a voting for browsers and
also email program.. Just to see what the community thinks..

Didn't we had that before, or was it just the window manager issue..?

PS

_________________
Have fun Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11121
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar 2006, 09:35    Post_subject:  

I haven't yet had a problem with Mozilla. I prefer it because it comes with a full-featured (html) e-mail program and some tools that other browsers don't. Of course, Firefox plux Thunderbird is pretty much the same thing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar 2006, 11:20    Post_subject:  

petersiege wrote:
Now my question is probably, do I only have such bad experiances with mozilla..?
I wouldn't know. I only use Puppy's default browser to install Opera as soon as I install a new version. Wink

Actually the default browser is one of the issues I prefer to leave to the preferences or wisdom of Barry.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
slvrldy17

Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 292
Location: Mid western USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Mar 2006, 12:49    Post_subject: Preferred Browser  

In the short time that I have been working with Puppy I have at least looked at the major browser choices and my choices are as follows:

1. Firefox combined with Thunderbird for E-mail - for ease in setting up and using tabbed browsing and the range of extensions that will work and allow customizing of this combo.

2. Opera - A VERY close second place to the above and since it includes a mail client perhaps a first choice if space/size footprint is an issue.

3. Dillo and Sylpheed - useable alone if your needs are simple or as an adjunct/backup/supplement to Firefox and/or Opera.

4. Mozilla suite/Seamonkey - a bloated and less capable/flexible substitute for any of the above. When you stop and think about it there is a good reason why the folks at Mozilla stopped working on this project - they likely concluded that its limitations made it far less useable/flexible than #1 and 2 above and decided to concentrate thier official efforts where there was the greatest chance of reward/success.

5. As a matter of interest - my choice of the current version of Puppy - Empty Crust Puppy - no wasted space/size on stuff that I don't use or want!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mgs

Joined: 15 Aug 2005
Posts: 29
Location: Bonnie Scotland

PostPosted: Fri 10 Mar 2006, 13:55    Post_subject:  

Peter

For what it's worth on similar but even more limited system than yours -

puppy 1.07
128M - whatever integrated graphics is using (Intel 810)
900MHz Via
1024 x 768 x16 screen (xorg)

Mozilla has never proved troublesome and loads the asus web site without difficulty!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 10 Mar 2006, 18:55    Post_subject:  

I'm using Seamonkey, and the asus site loads fine, but I've got 256M RAM.
If you only have 128M and no swap partition, then perhaps there might be a problem with not enough memory?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ducwiz

Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 25
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 10 Mar 2006, 20:41    Post_subject:  

Peter,

I just installed puppy 1.07 for Win98 (sorry, BarryK ..) on a friends machine;
AMD K6-2 533 MHz, MBoard NMC 5VMX, 128MB RAM, ATI Xpert AGP 8MB Gfx.
Everything runs (just now as i'm posting) fast and smooth, no problems or even hangups, especially with the Asus site you mentioned.
You should consider to install a AGP or PCI card instead of your onboard solution with shared memory.

d.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Sun 19 Mar 2006, 15:31    Post_subject:  

Sorrry for the double post.
_________________
The truth is out there.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Sun 19 Mar 2006, 15:34    Post_subject:  

I have a Dell Dimension XPS R450 with Celeron 450 256 mg ram and AGP Rage Pro 3D with 8 mg onboard ram.
The page loaded fast in Mozilla, but the CPU monitor in XFCE stayed red even after the page was loaded. It looked like about 90 to 95 %.

I prefer Firefox because it is a little faster and highly configurable. But every time I install it the menu and tool bar fonts are so small I can't read them. I tried editing the .css file but it was not used for some reason. It seemed to be ovderriden by some other config file, or part of Firefox.

_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11121
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Mar 2006, 19:13    Post_subject:  

lostdog, would this thread be any use?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Sun 19 Mar 2006, 21:59    Post_subject:  

Thanks Flash,

Quote:
I tried editing the .css file but it was not used for some reason. It seemed to be ovderriden by some other config file, or part of Firefox.

_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11121
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Mar 2006, 22:07    Post_subject:  

So, what did you do? What happened?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
lostdog

Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon 20 Mar 2006, 00:06    Post_subject:  

Some suggested the same post in a diferent thread. I followed the instructions to the letter, and when I restarted firefox, there was no change. The tool bar, menu and url bar all still had the tiny fonts.
_________________
The truth is out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0868s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0101s) ][ GZIP on ]