Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 14:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
XFCE missing window borders!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
racie

Joined: 11 Dec 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon 28 Mar 2011, 20:47    Post subject:  XFCE missing window borders!
Subject description: Due to Emerald issues?
 

Hey everyone. Puppy has done wonders for my laptop, but I'm having a bit of an issue. I installed Compiz and XFCE, but upon switching to XFCE, I have noticed that all of my window borders are gone!

I have a feeling part of this is because of issues with Emerald. I can open a theme in Emerald just fine, but when I try to click on the theme to change it, Emerald just turns off and doesn't change my theme.

I've tried to look up various solutions on the forum, but nothing has helped.

This:
Quote:
also installed Compiz Fusion and the XFCE4 desktop packages. Had some initial problems with losing the XFCE window decorations, but finally got them back by replacing "emerald --replace &" with "gtk-window-decorator --replace &" in /root/.xinitrc. Also did this in the Compiz Setting Manager - in the Window Decoration configuration dialogue.


Does not do anything after I restarted the X Server.

I basically a very similar issue to this angry fellow.

This old thread tells me to do this:
Quote:
By the way, Emerald crashes if you change or edit a theme, to solve it go to: Beryl-Manager(systray icon)>Reload Window Decorator.
The emerald binary in the dotpup was previously 'strip'ed and 'upx'ed, it also crashes with an unpacked binary.

However, I don't have Beryl-Manager. Wasn't that the old version of Compiz?

I'm not really sure what else to do. :/

Any ideas are appreciated!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
racie

Joined: 11 Dec 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Wed 30 Mar 2011, 20:53    Post subject:  

Ahh okay. I've definitely narrowed the issue down specifically to Emerald itself. XFCE works just fine by itself, but as soon as Compiz is installed (which uses Emerald), the window borders disappear.

If only I could find a way to NOT use Emerald. The solution someone else used for this didn't work for me for some reason.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1803
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 30 Mar 2011, 21:46    Post subject:  

hi racie

i've noticed this as well. Out of 4 times, installing xfce compiz, it has only worked once. I've no idea why it worked that time. I will try a few experiments with it and get back to you. I presuming that your using puppy lupu520?

666philb

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1803
Location: wales

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 13:34    Post subject:  

hi racie,

after scratching my head, and experimenting, and getting really frustrated, i was about to give up and say i don't know, when I spotted something in someones post, about having no windows borders until they rebooted. And low and behold that was the answer. On a vanilla lupu520, installed my graphic drivers, installed the xfcecompiz.pet . Changed window managers to xfce and had no windows borders. I then rebooted and yay!! had borders.
I hope this solves your problem.

And thankyou for not getting angry like that other frustrated fellow. Wink


666philb

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642

Last edited by 666philb on Fri 01 Apr 2011, 14:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
racie

Joined: 11 Dec 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 21:27    Post subject:  

Hm... I'll have to try that.

Unfortunately, there's been a problem with my Puppy lately with shutting off the computer and saving my pupsave. I think I'll have to get around to making a new bootable USB, but I'll definitely try restarting!

Thanks for your response. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
einar

Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Mon 04 Apr 2011, 06:30    Post subject: still not working  

a reboot did not help / and never has for me. Any other ideas ?

666philb does it still work for you ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1803
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 04 Apr 2011, 08:04    Post subject:  

yes it does, i even tried it again when upgrading to lucid525. Installed my graphic card drivers, then installed the 'compiz_xfce4-4.6.2-Lucid.pet' .No windows initially, then fine after reboot. Still fine now. As an experiment, try booting with 'puppy pfix=ram' so that it ignores your savefile. then install you graphics drivers, and install the compiz_xfce4-4.6.2-Lucid.pet.. And reboot. Create a new savefile when asked (you can delete this later). See if it's working now.
_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
einar

Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Mon 04 Apr 2011, 08:18    Post subject:  

are you using a laptop, im thinking this is only a laptop issue ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
einar

Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Mon 04 Apr 2011, 08:18    Post subject:  

are you using a laptop, im thinking this is only a laptop issue ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1803
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 04 Apr 2011, 09:26    Post subject:  

no i'm on a desktop..... it maybe to do with your graphic drivers,... you did install them didn't you? Did you try my suggestion above? As if it works you know that your puppy install is messed up. If it doesn't then it's probably your graphics drivers.
_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
racie

Joined: 11 Dec 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 14:18    Post subject:  

Hm... it seems that it 5.25 there is a new problem...

After installing the package compiz_xfce4-4.6.2-Lucid, Puppy Package Manager informs me that there packages libgoocanvas.so.3, libmlt++.so.3, libtcl8.5.so, and libtk8.5.so are missing. Both Compiz settings managers will run, but Compiz will refuse to do anything.

If I install Compiz and XFCE4 separately (with the two packages xfce4-4.6.2-519-beta-Lucid and Compiz-0.8.4-Lucid), there are no missing dependencies, but Compiz and both of its settings managers will not run at all.

This is proving more of a hassle than I hoped it would be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1803
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 15:16    Post subject:  

racie..... have you tried this on a completely new vanilla puppy 525? as it's working for me. I get those missing deps but it still works. those deps are probably resolved by installing python but even without that xfce still works for me. All i did was boot live, install my graphics driver, install the 'compiz_xfce4-4.6.2-Lucid.pet' shutdown, create a savefile, reboot. worked.

If you've tried the above on a completely fresh system then i don't know what else to suggest.

someone else may have an idea

666philb

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
racie

Joined: 11 Dec 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 09 Apr 2011, 01:16    Post subject:  

No no... XFCE works fine... it's Compiz that's broken now. I'm not able to get any of the desktop effects running. Is there some sort of setting I need to turn on? I tried restarting and it didn't fix the problem.

My install is not completely new... I removed the pre-installed games, but I really don't think they are needed to run Compiz properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Sat 09 Apr 2011, 07:21    Post subject:  

You could try seeing if compiz will run by itself. Exit X and type
Code:
xwin compiz-manager

Then start the xfce panels from a terminal window, and see it it plays nice.

(The above works on fluppy, with the compiz sfs)

_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
racie

Joined: 11 Dec 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 09 Apr 2011, 16:21    Post subject:  

No dice... I can't start x that way for some reason...

Compiz Manager starts fine without the command (and x is already running), but it simply doesn't work. I get no desktop effects whatsoever.

Also I am having a problem where XFCE will not let me create shortcut keys for anything!

Gahh! So many issues. :/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0784s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]