Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 21:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to add boot options.in Grub 2 (SOLVED)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 05:52    Post subject:  How to add boot options.in Grub 2 (SOLVED)  

Hi i am wanting to know how i can modify A Grub 2 entry so i can add other boot options eg pfix=ram. pfix=nox etc.

this entry will boot into a normal boot.

menuentry 'Puppy Linux' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520
initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz

i am not sure but if i changed psubdir=puppy520 to pfix=ram of another boot parameter if it will work.

any ideas.


Edit: this post has been solved by me with some help from some of the wonderful users on our irc channel #puppylinux. and i posted what i did here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64525[/b]

Last edited by HiDeHo on Sat 18 Jun 2011, 08:17; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3398
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 06:22    Post subject:  

Yes!.... boot options.

I'm running plenty of Puppies on USB.

How can I edit the menu to make those Puppies boot >>old style.

Here are some from here....bottom of page....text zip.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58305&start=30

""""""""""""

title Puppy Lucid 520 (sdc1/lucid520)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /lucid520/initrd.gz
kernel /lucid520/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=lucid520 pfix=fsck
initrd /lucid520/initrd.gz

title Ecomoney Seafarer Cybercafe (sdc1/ecomonesf)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /ecomonesf/initrd.gz
kernel /ecomonesf/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=ecomonesf
pfix=fsck
initrd /ecomonesf/initrd.gz

title Fluppy 006 (sdc1/fluppy006)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /fluppy006/initrd.gz
kernel /fluppy006/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=fluppy006
pfix=fsck
initrd /fluppy006/initrd.gz

title Puppy Studio 3 (sdc1/puppystudio3)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /puppystudio3/initrd.gz
kernel /puppystudio3/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=puppystudio3
pfix=fsck
initrd /puppystudio3/initrd.gz

title Fluppy 009 (sdc1/fluppy009)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /fluppy009/initrd.gz
kernel /fluppy009/vmlinuz pmedia=usbflash psubdir=fluppy009
pfix=fsck
initrd /fluppy009/initrd.gz

//////////

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 15:53    Post subject:  

cthisbear but then you have to show the OP how to chainboot into grub2 and it would not asnwer his or her questions still

Not criticism just me wanting to grasp what the OP says and my English is very homegrown. Moon shining style.

So here is my wild guess.

Grub2 is rather new to most puppy users. We have several threads asking about it though so some answers is possible to find.

Many ahve successfully booted using grub2 so it sure should be rather easy to find them if you use grub2 as one of the search words Smile

Now to the puppy specific kernel cheat codes as some name them.

If you are very unlucky then maybe grub2 ignore some of them but puppy should care about them.

So you have to try. if a specific one fail there is always the possibility to boot into a prompt and there you add the argument or that you make a Bash script that add it as a prgram to start i nthe startup thing.

I have only used grub2 once and that was a dual install with Ubuntu and puppy worked as usual caring about the puppy specific one gave it.

The only thing you need to consider is that if you dual boot with ubuntu then when ubuntu upgrade it can write over the file so you need to see to it that you write where it should be and then it will get upgraded too to be included. But if it get over written it is easy to manually put it back.

Even I managed to do that. So it is supereasy when one know how to. Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Sun 27 Mar 2011, 16:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 15:57    Post subject:  

menuentry 'Puppy Linux' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520
initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz

Does it not miss the final needed } there in the end

Now to how to find the grub2 threads

There is another one today so read that one too.
Quote:
How to set up grub 2 to boot Puppy frugal install

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64525

well use this search engine
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html

How to configure dual-boot of Puppy and Ubuntu?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=378332#378332

and so on. Write grub2 or grub 2 in the search and try to see what is nearest your question.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bernie_by_the_Sea


Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 329

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 16:32    Post subject: Re: How to add boot options.in Grub 2  

HiDeHo wrote:

menuentry 'Puppy Linux' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,3)'
linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520
initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz

i am not sure but if i changed psubdir=puppy520 to pfix=ram of another boot parameter if it will work.

I've used Grub and Grub4dos but not Grub 2. That said, I think you can add pfix=ram and any other options to the linux line like this:

Code:

   linux /Puppy520/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy520 pfix=ram
   initrd /Puppy520/initrd.gz


If you try this let us know if it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2011, 16:36    Post subject:  

Bernie_by_the_Sea yes sorry I should have thought of that too.

That is most likely the way to do it.
Sometime they say one need puppy pfix=ram

but I am not sure that could be when one use CD or DVD.

Hes asked the same in another thread but hopefully find this one again

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0608s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]