mupen64plus-1.99.4

Play with your Puppy.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

mupen64plus-1.99.4

#1 Post by sc0ttman »

Mupen64plus-1.99.4 - N64 emulator

Homepage - http://code.google.com/p/mupen64plus/

Needs SDL, and OpenGL installed and working.

I have compiled this on Puppy 4.2, I think it needs checking.
It is a first attempt, and should be considered for testing only.

This one does not support zipped rom files (not sure why).

There is no GUI. To use it, open a terminal and type:

Code: Select all

mupen64plus /path/to/romfile
PLEASE REPORT YOUR TESTING HERE, IF YOU USE THIS
Last edited by sc0ttman on Tue 22 Mar 2011, 17:59, edited 1 time in total.
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri 04 Sep 2009, 01:30
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

#2 Post by Makoto »

This one does not support zipped rom files (not sure why).
Probably something to do with zlib, I'm sure - I think your VBA/-M .pets have the same issue. :( Maybe they require a specific version of zlib to be installed (or even compiled into the program)?

I'll have to give this a try... maybe it won't freeze the system on me like the previous version. :oops: Although with the number of possible buttons (including pad directions) on an N64 controller, figuring out the default keys is always fun. :P

Edit: I just keep getting this:

Code: Select all

dlopen('./libmupen64plus.so.2') error: ./libmupen64plus.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
AttachCoreLib() Error: failed to find Mupen64Plus Core library
...even though the symlink and actual lib are indeed in /usr/lib/ - is it looking for them in a different directory, like the root directory? I've tried running it from both /my-documents/tmp/ and /usr/bin/, with the same result.

Edit 2: More tests. Placing an absolute (temporary) link to the lib in the root folder (with the name libmupen64plus.so.2) gives the same error. Moving it to the current folder (from which I'm executing the mupen64plus command) changes the error to this:

Code: Select all

dlopen('./libmupen64plus.so.2') error: ./libmupen64plus.so.2: undefined symbol: SDL_JoystickOpened
AttachCoreLib() Error: failed to find Mupen64Plus Core library
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [ XenialPup 7.5, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install] * [ 4GB RAM | 512MB swap ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#3 Post by sc0ttman »

Hey Makoto... Hope you're well... Thanks for testing...

Definitely worth a test, as I don't get ANY of those errors - although I've yet to get past the "SDL_SetVideoMode: could not create GL context" (even thuogh OpenGL is enabled)...

But thanks for checking... I guess I will spend a few hours today trying to track down the problems! Not sure why you get them..

If anyone else wants to test, and tell if what errors they get (if any), that would be great...

About zlib, I even compiled and installed that latest zlib when I made this (as I did with SDL as well)... So I will look at the 'configure' options again, see what I missed.
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#4 Post by sc0ttman »

Makoto, which version of SDL are you using?
Maybe this version of Mupen requires SDL 1.2.9, which can be found here: http://ppm.scottjarvis.com/libs/sdl/sdl-1.2.9.pet
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri 04 Sep 2009, 01:30
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

#5 Post by Makoto »

Yeah, I was wondering if it was still rather picky about the version of SDL installed, as you mentioned. I'd already removed all those SDL packages I had installed, and only have a single 1.2.13 package installed, now.

I'm not sure that would cause the weird behavior (on my system) with Mupen being unable to either find its libs, or know what to do with them, though. :D It could possibly have something to do with the SDL errors you're receiving (did you install your .pet and the errors stop?)
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [ XenialPup 7.5, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install] * [ 4GB RAM | 512MB swap ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#6 Post by sc0ttman »

Makoto wrote:Yeah, I was wondering if it was still rather picky about the version of SDL installed, as you mentioned.
Seems so...
Makoto wrote:I'm not sure that would cause the weird behavior (on my system) with Mupen being unable to either find its libs, or know what to do with them, though. :D
I agree... Not SDL related, and still puzzling me... :oops:
Makoto wrote:It could possibly have something to do with the SDL errors you're receiving (did you install your .pet and the errors stop?)
I am just about to test a new SDL package, having found that my SDL setup was not quite right at the time of posting... I installed a different SDL .pet and AssaultCube started working again...

So, I think this SDL package is a good one: http://ppm.scottjarvis.com/libs/sdl/SDL-1.2.14-i486.pet

I'm gonna test Mupen now, as I I have the above SDL package installed at the moment, and I will let everyone know how it goes.
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#7 Post by sc0ttman »

Woooooo, it works.... :D

I have linked to the SDL package which works for me in the first post (it's the one above).
If you have problems, try the SDL download there or in the main post.
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri 04 Sep 2009, 01:30
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

#8 Post by Makoto »

...well, the bizarre thing is, it does seem to have been related to the SDL package I had installed. :shock:

After uninstalling that package, and installing the 1.2.14 package, I no longer get those errors. (I've no idea what in the world about SDL would be causing errors like that...)

Mupen now displays the header information for most of the game images I tried (about five or six, or so). However, they all stop at this point:

Code: Select all

UI-Console: Cheat codes disabled.
Illegal instruction
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [ XenialPup 7.5, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install] * [ 4GB RAM | 512MB swap ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#9 Post by sc0ttman »

Makoto: After more testing, I must say, I cannot seem to identify the problem you are having - as it works well for me now that I got the right SDL deps installed.. Hmm... Maybe someone else who tried this might know..
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
Makoto
Posts: 1665
Joined: Fri 04 Sep 2009, 01:30
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

#10 Post by Makoto »

Mupen just doesn't like my system, that's all. :D

Is that the point where the actual emulation more or less begins? That's essentially where it would freeze on the previous version. So, maybe something similar is happening with this version when it tries to start the emulated machine.

I don't think it should be a problem with the system's hardware, but I'm not ruling that out, yet. I'll have to see if I can try other N64 emulators (such as MESS), and see if they have any similar problems.
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [ XenialPup 7.5, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install] * [ 4GB RAM | 512MB swap ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).

Post Reply