Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 25 May 2015, 07:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
GUI to download LibreOffice - beta quality
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 18 of 18 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7937
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 23 Dec 2013, 01:24    Post_subject:  

Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
version 30 appears to be working as well as the others have for me with just one little bit of weirdness: it told me i had 248 version of libreoffice to choose to build from and listed blank spaces and music files. 414 and 406 were among the choices, so not a big deal, just a bit odd.

created sfs file works fine--thanks again, 01micko! (precise 561 fwiw. LO files made under it using your program have been documented to work in 5.5, 5.6, 5.7 (upup), 531 slacko, 5.5 slacko, wheezy---). really cool.

here's a shot of the weirdness:



Laughing .. an amusing conflict.. anyway I'll fix it, just a matter of making sure the temp files are unique.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 860
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2014, 23:31    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
version 30 appears to be working as well as the others have for me with just one little bit of weirdness: it told me i had 248 version of libreoffice to choose to build from and listed blank spaces and music files. 414 and 406 were among the choices, so not a big deal, just a bit odd.

created sfs file works fine--thanks again, 01micko! (precise 561 fwiw. LO files made under it using your program have been documented to work in 5.5, 5.6, 5.7 (upup), 531 slacko, 5.5 slacko, wheezy---). really cool.

here's a shot of the weirdness:



Laughing .. an amusing conflict.. anyway I'll fix it, just a matter of making sure the temp files are unique.


micko, i was wondering if you could modify the script so that it doesn't necessitate the unloading of the previous sfs/the uninstallation of the previous pet. the temp file weirdness actually brings a little suspense to the build process so you may want to leave that part unchanged.

Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7937
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2014, 02:30    Post_subject:  

Well, the feature of stopping the program if libreoffice is loaded is so users won't jam up their system and make a mess, however I suppose I could make it more developer friendly. I'll see what I can do.. perhaps add a CLI switch. The last thing noobs need is another confusing gui option.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 860
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Wed 16 Apr 2014, 02:59    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Well, the feature of stopping the program if libreoffice is loaded is so users won't jam up their system and make a mess, however I suppose I could make it more developer friendly. I'll see what I can do.. perhaps add a CLI switch. The last thing noobs need is another confusing gui option.


after requesting the change i figured it was there to keep people from having things pile up, but yeah, the process can pretty much choke the machine (if i understand you correctly).

the interface is very straightforward. you can add a "be sure to unload your sfs before you load this one" or a similar pop-up. and maybe, "your system may be floundering about for the next few minutes if you know you don't want to build in ram..." i have one machine that doesn't notice the process, one that can do nothing else during it, and a 2 gig machine that makes me wonder, how much ram do you need to build in ram and what are the advantages? (speed, i'm guessing. usb installs, the first page informs me...2gig...or minimum of one and one...).

anyway, thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2632
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 02 Aug 2014, 09:13    Post_subject: get_libreoffice-0.29.1  

LibreOfice has large icons up to 512x521 which makes large icon cache on pupsave.
Removed icons 128x128 and larger:
get_libreoffice-0.29.1.pet
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/pup5/

_________________
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 785
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Nov 2014, 09:36    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Thank you and LibreOffice 4.3.4 for Fatdog64 700B2
 

Thank you for the script to get and make a sfs for LibreOffice. I took your pet version 0.29 and extracted the script. I used the script with Fatdog64 700 beta2 to create a sfs for the latest 64 bit English version (4.3.4) of LibreOffice.
If anyone is interested, the sfs can be found here: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/contrib/sfs/700/
Thanks again for the great tool.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 860
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Sat 22 Nov 2014, 23:42    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Thank you and LibreOffice 4.3.4 for Fatdog64 700B2
 

JustGreg wrote:
Thank you for the script to get and make a sfs for LibreOffice. I took your pet version 0.29 and extracted the script. I used the script with Fatdog64 700 beta2 to create a sfs for the latest 64 bit English version (4.3.4) of LibreOffice.
If anyone is interested, the sfs can be found here: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/contrib/sfs/700/
Thanks again for the great tool.


LibreOffice-4.3.4_64_en-US_xz.sfs mirrored, and the proper authorities (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=85915) notified.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BobSongs


Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Thu 12 Mar 2015, 15:30    Post_subject:  

Heya 01Micko! Smile

I downloaded get_libreoffice-0.30.pet from this thread because 0.29 is giving me an odd error message lately:

[Failed to download . Please try again later]

Suggestions, notes, on the script get_libreoffice-0.30.pet.

1. Availability. While script get_libreoffice-0.30.pet is considered a beta, I suggest adding it to the first page of the thread. The impression I got by not seeing it as part of the list is that there is no version later than get_libreoffice-0.29.pet.

2. Locales. Is there something I could modify in the script itself to allow me to get LibreOffice under the locale en_CA.UTF-8? A noticeable difference between 0.29 and 0.30b is the disappearance of the locales choice. Note: I can right-click the ruler bar to switch in to cm, however settings in documents created in Windows run into some interesting oddities! Very Happy Tab demarcations done in the metric system end up with 3 digits (0.374) that LibreOffice doesn't actually support.

LibreOffice 32-bit version 4.4.1. Happy to answer any questions if something above doesn't have enough details. LibreOffice_4.4.1_Linux_x86_deb.tar.gz was once downloadable but no longer is, it seems.

EDIT: I've downloaded LibreOffice_4.4.1_Linux_x86_deb.tar.gz and LibreOffice_4.4.1_Linux_x86_deb_helppack_en-US.tar.gz. Is there a set of commands to convert these into .SFS files myself at the command prompt?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1997
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Thu 12 Mar 2015, 17:05    Post_subject:  

01micko is taking a seachange at the moment.

Attached below is a script from Fatdog-700, written by jamesbond, that worked for me. I was in FD700 though but it may work in other distros. Report how you get on.

BobSongs wrote:
I downloaded get_libreoffice-0.30.pet from this thread because 0.29 is giving me an odd error message lately:

[Failed to download . Please try again later]

Suggestions, notes, on the script get_libreoffice-0.30.pet.
getlibre.sh.tar.gz
Description  Script to download LibreOffice and make a SFS. Run it from a terminal.
gz

 Download 
Filename  getlibre.sh.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.96 KB 
Downloaded  40 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BobSongs


Joined: 06 Feb 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Thu 12 Mar 2015, 18:50    Post_subject:  

Heya Smokey01!

Thank you so much for your speedy response. It is appreciated. I will download it immediately and post successes, etc.

EDIT #1: hehehe, the script halts very early on. It looks for a file called /bin/dash. Wondering what the heck "dash" was, I did a search under PupControl's Add/Remove Programs. Having found nothing that resembles that name I opened the script in LeafPad and saw this:

Code:
#!/bin/dash

and I just had to chuckle.

Correcting it to #!/bin/bash the script seems to be working just fine. More to follow.
_________________

EDIT #2: The script was written for 64-bit LibreOffice. My copy of Puppy is still running in 32-bit.

I've edited the LibreOffice site references in the script to reflect x86/ instead of x86_64/. Results to follow. (If this works, I'll post the corrected script as a downloadable option).
_________________

EDIT #3: So, it seems dash is a scaled down version of bash (news to me). So, I'm going to install dash and see if this helps with the execution of the script.

The script fails to execute step #8:

Code:
# 8. extract package
for p in $MAIN_PKG $HELP_PKG $LANG_PKG; do
   echo $(eval echo `gettext 'Extracting $p'`)
   tar -xf ${p}.${PKGFORMAT}
done


I imagine this is the same as running tar -xf on each of the 4 downloaded packages, so I can do this manually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 18 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0888s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]