Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 12:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
GUI to download LibreOffice - beta quality
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 10 of 18 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2530
Location: Moved from Hosla to www.eussenheim.de

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2012, 09:41    Post_subject: GUI to download LibreOffice - beta quality
Sub_title: 0.18-3
 

version 0.18-3 compatible also with 431JP now

Have fun Laughing
get_libreoffice-0.18-3.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  get_libreoffice-0.18-3.pet 
Filesize  28.26 KB 
Downloaded  431 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2012, 18:25    Post_subject: Re: GUI to download LibreOffice - beta quality
Sub_title: 0.18-3
 

L18L wrote:
version 0.18-3 compatible also with 431JP now

Worked the on 431JP2012 and on 528JP, with PUPMODE=13.
Thank you for the good job Exclamation

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 04 Sep 2012, 19:45    Post_subject: get_libreoffice-0.17-L64.pet
Sub_title: For testing in Lighthouse64
 

For testing in Lighthouse64...

http://www.lhpup.org/update/L64-514/Office/get_libreoffice-0.17-L64.pet

(Identical to 01micko's except for custom /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash from Lighthouse64.)

[Edit: Removed, see next post]

-TaZoC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2012, 18:36    Post_subject: get_libreoffice-0.18-3-LH64.pet  

Thank you L18L and shinobar. I've included your latest work, and also updated /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash to include a shinobar update that I missed before.

I would like to thank 01micko as well! Very Happy

Regards,
TaZoC
get_libreoffice-0.18-3-LH64.pet
Description  For testing in Lighthouse64
pet

 Download 
Filename  get_libreoffice-0.18-3-LH64.pet 
Filesize  29.19 KB 
Downloaded  283 Time(s) 

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2012, 06:47    Post_subject:  

Hi.

It says LH64. Even so it made a brilliant LO-GB.sfs using Slacko 5.3.1 Main.

It's a star pet developed by stars. My desktop m/c is old but with 2.0 GHz and 640 MB RAM, though, with slow broadband, the total time was about 20 minutes to automatically produce (apart from a few really helpful options) what seems to be a perfect LibreOffice sfs outcome.

My regards and thanks

As is my habit, I extracted the pet and then used dir2sfs so that I only use it from a usb stick with my Muti-session-live-CD-all-in-RAM Slacko when I need It.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 21 Oct 2012, 21:35    Post_subject:  

I have now added support for USB installs. This is done by building in /tmp which of course is always a linux filesystem. This avoids any problems with building in a vfat environment and broken symlinks. It also avoids slow media prone to errors which is why I haven't supported USB installs. You need at least 1GB RAM and 1GB swap or 2GB RAM (no swap needed).

If you don't have much RAM and have a HDD frugal or full install the build will still work in /mnt/home or / so there should be no problem.

Be aware that if your RAM is near full (ie: lots of apps open or sfs loaded) you may experience RAM crash and lose open work or corrupt open documents. You have been warned.

I have not added any of the forked stuff by shinobar or L18L, as usual, you guys feel free to fork this development. Cool

I have tested in a full, frugal (PUMODE=12), frugal-USB (PUPMODE=13) and it works on all 3. It also stops as expected on a LOW RAM usb install (512MB, 1GB swap).

See main post
capture13167.jpg
 Description   monitoring "free" while building on my lappy, USB install, 1GB RAM, 1.6GB swap
 Filesize   33.85 KB
 Viewed   820 Time(s)

capture13167.jpg


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DC


Joined: 30 Apr 2006
Posts: 359
Location: Maidenhead, England

PostPosted: Mon 19 Nov 2012, 14:35    Post_subject: Failed install  

Hi 01micko,
Here's what happened with

get_libreoffice-0.19.pet install to a new frugal of precise puppy 5.4.1

Code:
# get_libreoffice
ok
en-GB
Is it ok to build in RAM? yes
building in /tmp
this is 3.6.4test
major ver: 3.6
/usr/sbin/get_libreoffice: line 734: 21654 Terminated              gtkdialog-splash -close never -icon /usr/share/pixmaps/throbber.gif -bg green -text "$INFOMSG1"
true
true
LibO-Dev_3.6.4.1_Linux_x86_helppack-deb_en-GB
/tmp/libre_download/LibO-Dev_3.6.4.1_Linux_x86_install-deb_en-US/DEBS
/usr/sbin/get_libreoffice: line 495: cd: /tmp/libre_download/LibO-Dev_3.6.4.1_Linux_x86_install-deb_en-US/DEBS/workdir/opt/libreoffice3.6/share/xdg: No such file or directory
/usr/sbin/get_libreoffice: line 372: 22943 Terminated              gtkdialog-splash -close never -icon /usr/share/pixmaps/throbber.gif -bg yellow -text "$INFOMSG2a $LIBO_EN_US $INFOMSG2b"  (wd: ~)
cp: cannot stat `usr/share/icons/hicolor/48x48/apps/libreoffice3.6-base.png': No such file or directory
/
_en-GB
EXIT="Exit on timeout"
#


The testing version of Libre office was selected.
My test PC is a AMD 4 core with 4gig of ram and a 2gig save file


best regards

DC

_________________
a little bit of knowledge and I'm dangerous
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1727
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2012, 22:31    Post_subject: LibreOffice, get_libreoffice and Slacko on bootable usb  

get_libreoffice-0.18-3 creates a script,pinstall.sh, that changes the run action associated with the write, calc, paint and draw desktop icons to use LiobreOffice instead of the deafult values. The script works with slacko5337, but not with 5.4

This occurs with a USB installed Slacko 5.4

The following menu options do not work with either 5.4 or 5.337 installed as a bootable USB

document > compose > new document
business > sheets > new database
business > sheets > new spread sheet
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 06:51    Post_subject:  

tlchost,

Try the 0.19 version in the main post, the forks haven't caught up yet. Works fine for me in a fairly pristine 5.4 (tested on a USB install, 1GB RAM, 1 GB swap).

-

DC

Trying testing right now. It's grabbing 4.0.0.0-beta1 [ Shocked ]. Should have a result shortly.

LATER: DC, it mostly works as long as I add missing deps, gnomevfs [ Rolling Eyes ], ORBit [ Rolling Eyes Evil or Very Mad ] and libbonobo [ Rolling Eyes Evil or Very Mad Sad ]. i don't care about menu icons in the beta versions or the %U bug. If it works in the stable version then I'm happy. Beta is for testing, do we need the frills? Stable is of course recommended in the GUI. Beta works good enough.
capture9229.jpg
 Description   menu entry, no icon, yes a bug but not to worry as it's the beta, works in stable
 Filesize   16.74 KB
 Viewed   1229 Time(s)

capture9229.jpg

capture11644.jpg
 Description   showing the beta on start
 Filesize   29.93 KB
 Viewed   1205 Time(s)

capture11644.jpg


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 08:37    Post_subject:  

Hi 01micko et al,

If you load LO using load-on-the-fly (or say, seaside's SFS-Exec) and
then unload - do you still have a 20 MBish LO folder in /root/.config?

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1727
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 09:25    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
tlchost,

Try the 0.19 version in the main post, the forks haven't caught up yet. Works fine for me in a fairly pristine 5.4 (tested on a USB install, 1GB RAM, 1 GB swap).


Thanks.....all the menu items now work correctly.
I got this error:
cp: cannot stat ‘/usr/local/bin/defaultpresentation’: No such file or directory

Also, the script did not ask what drive(device) I wanted to use....I run bootable USB. It wrote the sfs file to /tmp ... took me while to find it. Perhaps add back in the ability to specify where you want the sfs file created?

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 17:36    Post_subject:  

tlchost

The "defaultpresentation" error is meaningless. Really I should suppress it, but it does no harm. Noted for next version.

If shinobar or L18L want to fork version 0,19 I'm sure they can add a choice where to save. Since this is designed to load the sfs with sfs_load (shino) you are given the choice to copy to /mnt/home anyway. Also, if you notice the splash messages they tell you where the sfs is being built so you can easily find it that way. The idea is that you can build the sfs even if you don't have a hard drive as long as you have the RAM.

-

Jasper,

The size of the hidden libreoffice directory will vary with how much you use it and what you do. Mine is only 2 M. Feel free to delete it or link it, whatever you choose.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1144
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 13 Dec 2012, 17:52    Post_subject:  

Hi 01micko,

Thank you for your helpful response.

Whilst I could test to see what happens if I link/save my
LO config folder, I ask (for the benefit of all) might I
expect my LO sfs to load faster than usual when I reboot?

My regards

PS I use a multisession CD with sfs files on a USB stick,
which is where I save new sfs files and data as I work - so
I very rarely add anything or make any changes to the CD.

ADDENDUM:

Hi - I tried it - there is a huge impovement in load speed.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1727
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2012, 00:51    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
tlchost

The idea is that you can build the sfs even if you don't have a hard drive as long as you have the RAM.


Good idea...and I overlooked the splash messages.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2012, 04:23    Post_subject: GUI to download LibreOffice
Sub_title: get-libreoffice and wary 5.3
 

Versions 0.19 of get-libreoffice fails to obtain a working sfs for wary 5.3. In precise 5.4.3 it works. The sfs obtained with version 0.19 in wary 5.3 can't be mounted. With version 0.13 of get-libreoffice previously used by mine to obtain a earlier sfs of Libreoffice3.5.0 I was instead able to obtain a sfs of libreoffice3.6.4 working in wary and precise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 18 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 16, 17, 18 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0930s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]