Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 03:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
DraftSight Beta
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [32 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Sun 13 Mar 2011, 10:04    Post subject:  DraftSight Beta
Subject description: Lucid - 2D CAD
 

http://www.3ds.com/products/draftsight/free-cad-software/
Quote:
Welcome to a better way to create, edit and view DWG files – and the place to do it all.
DraftSight is a professional-grade, open 2D CAD product for users who want a better way to create, edit and view DWG files. DraftSight is easy to use and is available for professional CAD users, students and educators to download and activate for free.

requires free activation

Built and tested on Lucid Puppy only.

.sfs
http://smokey01.com/stu90/lucid.puppy.pets/draftsight_beta_520.sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6464
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 20 Mar 2011, 07:18    Post subject:  

Thanks - I haven't tested thoroughly, but it looks really good. I'll try using it instead of LT next time I do some drafting.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nickdobrinich

Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 77
Location: Cleveland OH USA

PostPosted: Thu 24 Mar 2011, 22:06    Post subject: DraftSight CAD sfs
Subject description: posted to Lighthouse forum
 

@stu90
I posted this to the Lighthouse Pup forum.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=507405#507405

Thank you for making this into an sfs.
It runs well on Lighthouse Puppy.
DraftSight has tremendous potential, even in beta.
It is one of the essential apps I need to wean my groupies from their fatal Windows addiction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ben

Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 30 Mar 2011, 14:03    Post subject: DraftSight Beta crashes
Subject description: Lucid - 2D CAD
 

stu90 wrote:
Built and tested on Lucid Puppy only.


Hello stu90,
thank you very much for your work, I was so much looking forward for a good CAD programm to come out for Puppy. (I'm using it in lubuntu already, but now, I can take it on my USB-chainring with me Smile )

I downloaded your .sfs file in /mnt/home. Then I went to menu --> System --> Bootmanager configure bootup and chose the extra .sfs file to load at bootup.

Rebootet Lucid Puppy 5.2. Found DraftSight in the menu --> Graphic --> Draftsight. So far so good. Klicked on it, it seemed to start with the Logo, then disappeared/crashed.

Did I forget something during the install?

Thank you all in advance for your efforts and help.
Ben
PS. Using PL Lucid 5.2. on a 8 GiB USB-stick "out of the box".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Wed 30 Mar 2011, 22:51    Post subject:  

Hi Ben,
I am not 100% certain but i think it requires an accelerated graphics driver. I will check in the morning.

You can check for and install accelerated drivers from the drivers tab in Quickpet:
Menu > Setup > Setup Puppy > Quickpet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nickdobrinich

Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 77
Location: Cleveland OH USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 00:27    Post subject: DraftSight fail to load  

@Ben,
How much RAM do you have?
What are your machine specs?
I have found that DraftSight will run in 512 Mb but needs 1 Gb for larger drawings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ben

Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 05:51    Post subject: DraftSight needs accelerated graphic driver  

stu90 wrote:
... i think it requires an accelerated graphics driver. ... install accelerated drivers from the drivers tab in Quickpet:
Menu > Setup > Setup Puppy > Quickpet


@stu90
Thank you, that did it. So, now, I installed the Xorg_High driver for the Matrox Graphics MGA G550 APG (rev 01).

@nickdobrinich.
On the Laptop 2 GiB RAM, and on the Desktop 3,5 (?) GiB with MS XP-SP3 -- don't know how to find out within Puppy.

(Now, I'm searching for a good forum on DraftSight for beginners. Or is anybody here interested in a sample .dwg - file with three dimensions, 2544 K? -- It's a pedal powered side-by-side tandem) - I can't find out how long the frame tubes are).
2seater.GIF
 Description   
 Filesize   31.03 KB
 Viewed   6161 Time(s)

2seater.GIF

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nickdobrinich

Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 77
Location: Cleveland OH USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2011, 15:58    Post subject: Frame length  

The easiest way is use the DI command and then click a segment entity on the frame.
The command window will show you delta x, y, z lengths and the overall segment length in 3D.
You will have to do this on each segment and add them to get the overall frame length.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ben

Joined: 02 Mar 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 02:54    Post subject: Re: Frame length  

nickdobrinich wrote:
... use the DI command ...

Thank you, nickdobrinich. That works Smile .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nickdobrinich

Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 77
Location: Cleveland OH USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Apr 2011, 20:18    Post subject: DraftSight mouse problem
Subject description: Erratic mouse on laptops
 

Has anyone else encountered problems with jerky delayed mouse movement in DraftSight?
I only see this on Dell D600 series laptops with Synaptics touchpads and an external USB mouse.
I've adjusted the mouse acceleration and threshold in Lighthouse Pup 5 although the mouse works fine in Lighthouse itself.
And I have adjusted the mouse pointer options as suggested on the DraftSight forum.
But the mouse is still almost unusable in DraftSight on these laptops.

PS These machines are dual boot Linux and windows and have the same problem with DraftSight (but not Windows AutoCAD) on both sides.

Edit: I tested this on a faster Dell laptop and mouse movement is much smoother.
Works fine on any desktop machine I've tried it on.

Last edited by nickdobrinich on Sun 10 Apr 2011, 09:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Sat 09 Apr 2011, 08:09    Post subject: Re: DraftSight mouse problem
Subject description: Erratic mouse on laptops
 

Hey! A decent CAD system that doesn't cater exclusively to circuit board design! Alright!
Thanks a lot! It's working very nicely for me on Lucid 520.

(I keep expecting CATIA v5 to launch when I see "Dassault Systemes" on the splash image, but that's my problem, not yours. Rolling Eyes)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6464
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 06 May 2011, 19:40    Post subject:  

Has anyone figured out how to report bugs in it? Surely it isn't only people paying for support who can report bugs?
(N.B. it isn't a bug with the program I've found, just a deficiency of its fonts)

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1510
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 13 May 2011, 01:58    Post subject:  

Seems to work in Quirky 1.20, well it does for me, just had to make a system link to libaudiofile.so.0.0.2 when it couldn't find libaudio.so.2.

disciple said "Has anyone figured out how to report bugs in it? Surely it isn't only people paying for support who can report bugs? "

It says in the license agreement "The Non-Commercial Release Version also automatically collects certain system data and transmits the data to Dassault Systèmes for support purposes."

edit:

there is this, FreeCAD it's a lot smaller http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/free-cad/index.php?title=Main_Page
might be worth a look.

Last edited by Geoffrey on Fri 13 May 2011, 02:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6464
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 13 May 2011, 02:28    Post subject:  

Yes, but apart from crashes problems can't generally be automatically collected.

I was testing it on Windows (out of interest really, as we actually have a surplus of AutoCAD licenses at the moment). I noticed in some drawings from Standards NZ that it was displaying question marks instead of "smart quotes" and an unusual type of hypen. I've never seen these characters used on a drawing before, but they should at least make it possible to report things like this, so they have as good a chance as possible to compete with AutoCAD.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6464
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 17 May 2011, 22:07    Post subject:  

disciple wrote:
Has anyone figured out how to report bugs in it?

Ah, here it is:
Go to https://swym.3ds.com/#community:70/iquestions, and there is a "Report a Problem" button down on the right-hand site.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [32 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0829s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]