Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 27 Aug 2016, 04:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to add another repository to PPM?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
Buster

Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed 09 Mar 2011, 14:33    Post subject:  How to add another repository to PPM?  

I want to add this repository to the puppy package manger in puppy lucid 520.

it says here file:///usr/local/petget/README-add-repo.htm how you are supposed to be able to add a repository but when I open the files that it says to edit inside puppy, they look totally different from what is described, then I have no idea how or where to add my custom repository to the files.

What would be great is if someone could add http://scxd.info/pub/ as a repository for me to the files and let me download them and replace my existing files with edited ones cause I have no idea how I could do it myself.

It's a very complex method that most probably don't understand how to accomplish even advanced user would have trouble with this method at least I think so I am barely a Linux novice.

Also I would suggest that in future versions they built into the PPM a non-manual method of adding repositories like one where the user can put the url into the program and have PPM update the files for them.

For any advice you can provide, Best Regards..

http://cl.ly/260H1o052Z3C1J0x1z1x
past above into your browser and click go to download the add repo htm file if you don't have it already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12054
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 09 Mar 2011, 16:23    Post subject:  

Buster, that last link in your post doesn't work. When you figure out why, you can edit your post to correct it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
recobayu


Joined: 15 Sep 2010
Posts: 235
Location: indonesia

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2015, 22:19    Post subject:  

In ubuntu, we can add our hard drive repositories by add
Code:
deb file:///media/muktyas/repoku/repo-14.04/ trusty main restricted universe multiverse
deb file:///media/muktyas/repoku/repo-14.04/ trusty-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb file:///media/muktyas/repoku/repo-14.04/ trusty-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb file:///media/muktyas/repoku/repo-14.04/ trusty-backports main restricted universe multiverse
deb file:///media/muktyas/repoku/repo-14.04/ trusty-proposed main restricted universe multiverse

to the top of /etc/apt/sources.list.

How to do that in PPM?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 7740
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2015, 23:03    Post subject:  

First, you need to understand that the repositories, you want to show in PPM, need to have stuff that is known to work, in that version of Puppy.

With Linux, you can not just put any program package in any version of Linux.
The program needs to be compiled for the Linux version.

For example:
Precise Puppy and Tahrpup are made using the program packages from specific versions of Ubuntu Linux.
So, some of the Ubuntu repositories will be in their PPM.
However, even those repositories may have program packages that will not work correctly in Puppy, due to the way Puppy works.
Most of the packages, you add from these non Puppy repos, will need a large number of dependency files or programs, added to Puppy, for them to work.

I agree, the process to add repositories to PPM is a little confusing, but that could be for a good reason. The developer of the Puppy version should really be the only one to do it. He/she should know what repositories have program packages, that should work, in that version of Puppy.

You can go to repositories and download deb packages of programs.
They can be clicked on, to install, just like a pet package.
Understand, if a package was not specifically made for Puppy. It will probably not make a menu entry or a desktop icon.
You will have to do that or run it from command line, in the console.
The program may or may not work or may need a lot of tweaking and troubleshooting.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1071

PostPosted: Wed 21 Oct 2015, 02:29    Post subject:  

I think you should manually edit /root/.packages/DISTRO_COMPAT_REPOS but you have to know what are you doing. Ppm2 has in configure a button to add a repos.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0398s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0030s) ][ GZIP on ]