Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 14:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Lost start menu and window switcher in panel: Puppee/Opnbox
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
theZoid


Joined: 21 Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Location: Orlando, FL

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 01:08    Post subject:  Lost start menu and window switcher in panel: Puppee/Opnbox
Subject description: still have those items with Icewm/panel
 

I need to know how to add the start menu back and window list/switcher...I can find the right file. It seems Openbox and Flwm use a different panel than Icewm, which has no problems. I deleted the window task switcher by mistake I know, but the start menu was gone after a boot up and an "applet failed to load" error dialog.

thanks much as I preferred the Openbox setup ..

_________________
DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //W7P x64/Saline OS Xfce x64
MSI Wind Netbook Puppeee Linux (atom)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GustavoYz


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 897
Location: .ar

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 01:33    Post subject:  

What panel use this puplet?
If you 'change to' OpenBox from JWM its possible that you were using the JWM tray.
OB doesn't have a tray/panel.

If you write something in the OB menus.xml or rc.xml, its always possible to scrub it easilly... Are you seeing a 'Warning' message at every bootup?

Any case, pls be specific and you'll get better help.
Regards.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theZoid


Joined: 21 Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Location: Orlando, FL

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 16:12    Post subject:  

GustavoYz wrote:
What panel use this puplet?
If you 'change to' OpenBox from JWM its possible that you were using the JWM tray.
OB doesn't have a tray/panel.

If you write something in the OB menus.xml or rc.xml, its always possible to scrub it easilly... Are you seeing a 'Warning' message at every bootup?

Any case, pls be specific and you'll get better help.
Regards.


Ok Thanks. I'm using Puppeee which comes with Flwm, Icewm, and Openbox. Icewm is using one panel, while the other two use another panel, i.e. the panel that is missing the start menu and window switcher. I'm digging thru the files and can't tell which panel Flvm and OB are using (Ice "looks" like fbpanel, OB and Flvm could be what, lxpanel or tint2...I don't know). I'm on my SalineOS (Squeeze) machine now....will boot up the netbook that has Puppee in a few and see what else I can find out. Does this help any? Sorry, very Noobish to puppy.

EDIT: the panel that OB and Flvm use that is missing the items comes with an analog clock on it...if that rings a bell with anyone.

_________________
DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //W7P x64/Saline OS Xfce x64
MSI Wind Netbook Puppeee Linux (atom)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theZoid


Joined: 21 Mar 2009
Posts: 24
Location: Orlando, FL

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 21:57    Post subject:  

Here's where I think I need to insert the proper text/code for my start menu and window selector:

contents of /root/Choices/Rox-Filer/OpenboxPanel:


Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<panel side="Bottom">
  <start>
    <icon label="Eee-Control Eee Settings">/usr/local/apps/Eee-Control</icon>
    <icon label="Rover SpeedLaunch (Alt-Space)">/usr/local/apps/Rover</icon>
    <icon label="Pager">/root/my-panel-applets/openbox/Pager</icon>
  </start>
  <end>
    <icon label="SystemTrayN">/root/my-panel-applets/SystemTrayN</icon>
  </end>
</panel>


What you see here is all I have on my panel. Can someone give me the missing entries for Start Menu and Window Selector?

thanks much !!!

_________________
DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //W7P x64/Saline OS Xfce x64
MSI Wind Netbook Puppeee Linux (atom)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon 14 Mar 2011, 12:36    Post subject:  

The applets are located in /root/my-panel-applets. Just select the ones you want and drag them to the panel. You can rearrange them with mouse button 3 (or both buttons simultaneously if you don't have a 3 button mouse attached).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0515s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0033s) ][ GZIP on ]