Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 17:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How or where do I configure puppy to NOT start xwin at boot?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
ap72

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun 06 Mar 2011, 23:57    Post_subject:  How or where do I configure puppy to NOT start xwin at boot?
Sub_title: I need to set up puppy to boot to command prompt
 

Hello puppy linux forum users and moderators,I'm trying to get puppy 5.2 to NOT start xwin at bootup time,I want everything elase to load as normal but just no xwin,is there a configuration file I can edit to do this?,your help and knowledge is greatly appreciated Smile thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3229
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 00:19    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Read the instructions at the boot prompt...
Entering "pfix=nox" starts Puppy without the xserver..
It is even in the example given...
Hope that helps...

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ap72

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 00:41    Post_subject:  

I forgot to mention I need to do this on a hard drive install so the f2 option is not there at boot time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3229
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 01:08    Post_subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Go to /mnt/home/boot/grub
Open the file "menu.lst" in a text editor
Find the line that begins with "kernel=" and at the end add:
"pfix=nox" (without the quotes, of course)
Save the file and reboot...

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ap72

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 16:12    Post_subject:  

hey puppyluvr thanks,but I've tried pfix=nox in menu1st and nothing happens,xwin starts as usual,what am I missing Confused Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ap72

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 17:18    Post_subject:  

I just tried the live cd with pfix=nox and it argued about not finding the kernel or somthing to that effect then booted as usual,whats going on here!!! Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9373
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 17:38    Post_subject:  

Please post your menu.lst entry. You may have put "pfix=nox" in the wrong place.

With the CD, you must type "puppy pfix=nox".
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ap72

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 18:07    Post_subject:  

okay here it is,I've tried both pfix=nox and puppy pfix=nox in the menu 1st file but no luck Confused
thanks a lot for your help Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ap72

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 18:14    Post_subject:  

I thought .png would display and not be a download,sorry bout that[/code]
menu1st.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  menu1st.png 
Filesize  113.21 KB 
Downloaded  167 Time(s) 
menu1st.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  menu1st.png 
Filesize  113.21 KB 
Downloaded  143 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9373
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 18:32    Post_subject:  

I just checked a frugal install of Lupu 520 and "pfix=nox" did work. Maybe these kind of arguments don't get passed to a full install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ap72

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 18:44    Post_subject:  

man what a bummer Crying or Very sad
can I delete or modify some other system file more or less breaking xwin or somthing Question ,I really don't need it anyway for this particular puppy project,thanks again Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ap72

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 19:31    Post_subject:  

Well you know,no worries Very Happy I have plenty of space and the drive and did a frugal install on one of the partitions and it works like it should.
Still scratching my head tho,I wonder just why the pfix=nox don't work on a full install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
racepres


Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 531
Location: Central Michigan, US

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 19:41    Post_subject:  

ap72 wrote:

can I delete or modify some other system file more or less breaking xwin or somthing Question ,I really don't need it anyway for this particular puppy project,thanks again Smile

I bet if you delete xinitrc, the thing won't come up in X!!!
Want me to try it?? Twisted Evil

ap72 wrote:
Still scratching my head tho,I wonder just why the pfix=nox don't work on a full install?


Curious.. but I never tried it.
RP
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 20:28    Post_subject:  

Edit /etc/rc.d/rc.local and add the following code. If it works, let me know - I'll explain why it works. If it doesn't work - well, I don't need to explain anything right? Laughing
Code:
touch /tmp/bootcnt.txt

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2011, 20:37    Post_subject:  

ap72 wrote:
I thought .png would display and not be a download,sorry bout that[/code]


Your 2nd entry (on sdb) says sda1 on the kernel line;
should say sdb1.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0677s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]