Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 02:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
lucid pup 520 creates a swap file?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 14:05    Post_subject:  lucid pup 520 creates a swap file?  

i saw this during boot up and lok for the file and its named pupswap.swp

why didn't it use the swap partition i've made using the gparted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 14:34    Post_subject:  

others have referred to it too. Where does it get created on your HDD?

Did you do full install or a frugal isntall or using CD or USB or what

I try to find it on my acer too.

Pfind says that I have no such file on my HDD. So where can I look for it?
pupswap.swp

I did a frugal install of both luci252 and of Snowpup 013 yesterday and if it is like you say I would ahve two such files because both OS are Lupu 5.2 based

Eidt, Now I have manually looked through three partitions andthere are no pupswap file nowhere to be found.

Have you made a full install then?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 15:04    Post_subject:  

its in /mnt/home

frugal install and the lucid just stays in the boot directory.

i have slack installed in the 1st partition and lucid in the 2nd.

i've attached a shot.
swap.png
 Description   
 Filesize   20.61 KB
 Viewed   866 Time(s)

swap.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 15:18    Post_subject:  

Thanks Enhu, we have to wait then for explanation from those who knows what the internal scripts are doing at that time it creates that file there.

another user complained about why it did not make use of the swap file he already got. Maybe they have answered him there in that thread. I try to find it and refer to it here too?

More difficult to find using google than I thought. I do a manual search of two threads and then I give up on it. okay? Smile

Ha ha it could be this thread and starting here

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=483873&search_id=432337698#483873

As I get it. If the RAM memory is less than 256MB and regardless if there already exists a swap file or swap partition the woof? script does create such a file in case it is needed.

Could that be as I get that text?

Check it out that could explain why you have it and me not. I have 1GB of memory so the script did not create one. Do you have 256 or less?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3517
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 15:58    Post_subject:  

1. Perhaps the swap FILE had already been made by the time you got around to making the swap PARTITION.

2. Use some OS that doesn't make use of either the swap partition or file, to delete the swap file.
e.g. I used the "Seagate Disk Wizard" to delete my Linux swap partition.
What I use to delete a swap file would depend...
Windows could do it if is capable of reading/writing the partition_file_system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 16:25    Post_subject:  

could it be because i only have 256 of RAM?

from dmseg command:

Code:
NET: Registered protocol family 23
via-rhine.c:v1.10-LK1.4.3 2007-03-06 Written by Donald Becker
via-rhine: Broken BIOS detected, avoid_D3 enabled.
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [ALKD] BIOS reported IRQ 0, using IRQ 23
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [ALKD] enabled at IRQ 23
via-rhine 0000:00:12.0: PCI INT A -> Link[ALKD] -> GSI 23 (level, low) -> IRQ 23
eth0: VIA Rhine II at 0x1e800, 00:11:5b:03:bc:c0, IRQ 23.
eth0: MII PHY found at address 1, status 0x7869 advertising 05e1 Link 45e1.
Adding 204792k swap on /initrd/mnt/dev_save/pupswap.swp.  Priority:-1 extents:55 across:806312k
input: PC Speaker as /devices/platform/pcspkr/input/input5
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [ALKC] BIOS reported IRQ 0, using IRQ 22
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [ALKC] enabled at IRQ 22
VIA 82xx Audio 0000:00:11.5: PCI INT C -> Link[ALKC] -> GSI 22 (level, low) -> IRQ 22
VIA 82xx Audio 0000:00:11.5: setting latency timer to 64
eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
ip_tables: (C) 2000-2006 Netfilter Core Team


in there is - Adding 204792k swap on /initrd/mnt/dev_save/pupswap.swp. Priority:-1 extents:55 across:806312k
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 1811
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2011, 16:28    Post_subject:  

Are you sure it's not actually using both the swap file and swap partition? Based upon what I've read, Puppy will happily use all of the swap files/partitions it finds, even more than one at a time.

Open a terminal/console and use the "free" command to see how much swap memory is being used. If you know both the sizes of your swap partition and the pupswap.swp file, it may indicate both are being used.

Could the pupswap.swp be a remnant of an earlier Puppy setup? I've heard some setups do automatically create a pupswap.swp file, regardless...

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install | 1GB RAM | 1.3GB swap ] * My Pidgin Builds for Puppy 4.3.1+
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
enhu


Joined: 26 May 2009
Posts: 301

PostPosted: Thu 03 Mar 2011, 00:53    Post_subject:  

the attached file is the result using the free command.

so what i did is reformat my swap partition so now pup uses 1gb of swap.
yet still the pupswap.swp file in /mnt/home is still there after rebooting. Very Happy

during its booting, i can see that sda3 [ the swap partition] is now used.
free.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  free.png 
Filesize  5.2 KB 
Downloaded  179 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0610s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]