Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 12:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 5.03 203M Wine 1.3.14 (not being maintained)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 16 [228 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
someone_else

Joined: 18 Oct 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 14:53    Post subject:  

Thanks for the input! Wink

Btw, managed to f**k up everything, by trying to increase the savefile by 1 gb, then doing it again without fixing it during boot. (yeah, read too late about that bug Razz )

The savefile became 3 gb but puppy used it as if it was still 1 gb, and there is no way I could fix it. Tried to fix it from a Lucid puppy I had around, and then from the lighthouse CD, and the only thing I managed to do is screwing up the installation. So I decided to relax and reinstall.

Saved the only thing worth saving (the virtual disk of Virtual Box where I installed Windows XP, which would be a true PITA to reinstall-redownload patches) and I'm ready to begin.

A last question, is there a way to save your stuff without using the savefile? Sounds incredibly dumb to have a ext3 filesystem savefile in a filesystem partition that is already ext3.

EDIT: clarified a little.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1289
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 08:08    Post subject:  

someone_else wrote:

A last question, is there a way to save your stuff without using the savefile? Sounds incredibly dumb to have a ext3 filesystem savefile in a filesystem partition that is already ext3.


You can save most of your stuff outside the save file.

Configuration data that automatically stores within the linux filesystem will go in the save file.

You can save external data files outside of the save file as you wish.

If there is a configuration setting you can also save other automatically generated files outside the save file. The first thing most users find is that the browser temporary file cache starts grabbing lots of save file space. The solution is to set the browser conguration so that the temporary file space is on your hd filesystem rather than the linux filesystem.

In order to save stuff outside the save file you need to have an understanding of mounting disk partitions because you cannot save to the partition until it is mounted. Secondly you need to know what your partitions are known as to Puppy Linux when they are mounted.

You should find that the partition with the sfs file on it is already mounted and is known as /mnt/home.

You can mount other partitions by clicking the desktop icon for the partition.

If I remember rightly the first primary partition of the first sata/ide hard disk is known as /mnt/sda1 when mounted.

The second primary partition is /mnt/sda2

The first logical partition in an extended partition is known as /mnt/sda5

The first primary partition on the SECOND sata/ide hard disk is known as /mnt/sdb1

When you click on the disk icon to mount it then the filesystem will open as well and you can see what it is known as.

Hope the pattern is understood now. When saving a file just save to the appropriate directory.
e.g to save to the document directory of the second primary partition of the first sata/ide hard disk then save to:
/mnt/sda2/document

Of course, if you did a full install rather than a frugal install you wouldn't have to worry about save files and all this. One of the advantages of a full install. However, that is not a recommendation for a full install. You do what is best for you. I prefer frugals myself.

These questions are becoming Puppy generic rather than specific to Lighthouse Pup. I would suggest if you have further questions like this you start a thread in the Beginners Forum so that we can leave this thread to discuss Lighthouse specifically.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 13:02    Post subject: Keep VirtualBox or Wine from filling up your save file  

someone_else wrote:
Saved the only thing worth saving (the virtual disk of Virtual Box where I installed Windows XP, which would be a true PITA to reinstall-redownload patches) and I'm ready to begin.

A last question, is there a way to save your stuff without using the savefile? Sounds incredibly dumb to have a ext3 filesystem savefile in a filesystem partition that is already ext3.
ICPUG's reply is right on the mark. /mnt/home is your friend--with as much space as that partition has, and outside of the save file.

I would add that VirtualBox is especially prone to filling up the save file, (OS installations can be huge) as you've found. What I do is close VirtualBox, move /root/.VirtualBox to, or make a folder, .VirtualBox on another partition or within /mnt/home. Then in ROX-Filer I drag and drop it to /root and choose 'Link (absolute)' when prompted. That way VB will work with /root/.VirtualBox as before, even though it is actually on another partition.

In Lighthouse, you can also do that by pasting this into a terminal:
Code:
frugal-symlink /root/.VirtualBox .VirtualBox
(There is a space before the last .VirtualBox.) That method will put the large .vdi disk images and all VB settings into a folder at /mnt/home/LHP_503_Programs/.VirtualBox

The same method can be used for browsers e.g., Firefox with /root/.mozilla or Wine with /root/.wine
Code:
frugal-symlink /root/.wine .wine
For usage, type frugal-symlink --help in a terminal.

Hope that helps,
TaZoC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nickdobrinich

Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 77
Location: Cleveland OH USA

PostPosted: Tue 25 Oct 2011, 22:24    Post subject: Dell laptop wireless
Subject description: Frisbee connect problems
 

I am having intermittent problems connecting a variety of Dell laptops via wireless.
These have Dell Wireless DW1490 pci cards in them.
I can successfully connect maybe 1 time in 20.

Frisbee tries hard but does not succeed.
The network connection wizard does not work either, can't even see the wlan.
Older puppies like 4.3.1 do work.

Is there some way to use Barry's Simple Network Setup?
Or could it be a kernel upgrade problem?
I was able to connect with an earlier Lighthouse which I have since deleted.
I've searched all over the forum and tried various pieces parts to no avail.
Mind you, I love Lighthouse too much to give up.
I went so far as to drop a CAT5 cable from the attic to direct connect.

I have attached both working and nonworking pnetworkdiag files.
Perhaps someone can point me to the error of my ways.

EDIT
It may be that I have a hardware initialization problem tho the wireless card is known good and works under Windows and Pup Server 4.3.5
Plus I have this problem on at least 4 similar Dell laptops.

This is the boot error message I usually get.
I was finally able to trap it with ctrl-S during boot up:

Dynamic linker (ldconfig)udevd-work[13713]:
'firmware --firmware=b43/b0g0bsinitvals5.fw
--devpath=/devices/pci0000:00/0000.00.1c.1/0000:0c:00.0/ssb0:0/firmware/ssb0:0'
unexpected exit with status 0x000b

Looks like the card is not getting initialized.
The advice I found in /var/logs/messages is to flash the firmware on the wireless card from linuxwireless.org
But I've never tried this before.
I'm not sure if I am up to doing this.

EDIT2
For work I got a refurbed Dell D631 with a different Dell Wireless PCI card which is not even seen by the OS, though it works in XP and PupServer.
I ran thru all the Lighthouse AutoProbe drivers but still can't connect wirelessly.
So I think it's a driver and/or firmware problem.
Solution: I added a switch to the CAT5 I dropped from the attic. My wife is less than thrilled at my klugery.
pnetworkdiagNONworkingWlan.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pnetworkdiagNONworkingWlan.tar.gz 
Filesize  27.95 KB 
Downloaded  244 Time(s) 
pnetworkdiagWorkingWlan.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pnetworkdiagWorkingWlan.tar.gz 
Filesize  31.07 KB 
Downloaded  249 Time(s) 

Last edited by nickdobrinich on Mon 31 Oct 2011, 01:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nickdobrinich

Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 77
Location: Cleveland OH USA

PostPosted: Sun 30 Oct 2011, 23:39    Post subject: Wine 1.3.14
Subject description: regressed to an older Wine
 

I could not get Wine 1,3,14 working.
I grabbed Wine 1.1.39-p4 from the PPM and all is well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2011, 07:03    Post subject: increasing number of sfs  

Hi i am in the process of creating a puplet. i am wanting to know how you have added up to 40 sfs to load on startup. i would like to do something similar to this. you seem to be the only puppy based os with this ability.

can you also let me know if you do not want to give this information away.or send me a message via the forums if you prefer. .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hugh


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 136
Location: Imperial Warmongering Dystopia of Amerika

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 01:21    Post subject: Re: Keep VirtualBox or Wine from filling up your save file  

tazoc wrote:

...
What I do is close VirtualBox, move /root/.VirtualBox to, or make a folder, .VirtualBox on another partition or within /mnt/home. Then in ROX-Filer I drag and drop it to /root and choose 'Link (absolute)' when prompted. That way VB will work with /root/.VirtualBox as before, even though it is actually on another partition.
...

Hope that helps,
TaZoC


I got lost in your procedure above.

Where do you move /root/.VirtualBox to?

Which folder is being dragged and where precisely
in /root is it being dropped?

Any procedure for redirecting storage area from
within ROX is valuable to me - I'd prefer not to use
the console unless it is absolutely necessary.

Can you clarify please? Many thanks in advance!

_________________
Shuttle Spacewalker HOT-661/P Main Board:
PII-350MHz: 640MB RAM: First Puppy: 2.00
HDD Filesystem: FAT32/NTFS/ext3; Frugal Always
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1289
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 08:56    Post subject: Re: Keep VirtualBox or Wine from filling up your save file  

Hugh wrote:

I got lost in your procedure above.

Where do you move /root/.VirtualBox to?

Which folder is being dragged and where precisely
in /root is it being dropped?

Any procedure for redirecting storage area from
within ROX is valuable to me - I'd prefer not to use
the console unless it is absolutely necessary.

Can you clarify please? Many thanks in advance!


Assuming you are going to use /mnt/home as your storage area:

1) MOVE the folder /root/.VirtualBox to /mnt/home

When you have done that the folder .VirtualBox should now be in /mnt/home and NOT /root. That is, there exists a folder /mnt/home/.VirtualBox but /root/.VirtualBox no longer exists.

2) Now drag the newly created folder .VirtualBox, which is in /mnt/home, back to /root, (not a subdirectory of root), BUT when prompted choose 'Link (absolute)'

When you have done that the folder .VirtualBox will still be in /mnt/home but .VirtualBox will now be back in /root again as a Link.

Virtual box still saves to /root/.VirtualBox but as this is now a link and not a folder it really stores to the folder that is linked to, /mnt/home/.VirtualBox. This means all storage from VirtualBox is outside the save file and in the /mnt/home partition.

Hope that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hugh


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 136
Location: Imperial Warmongering Dystopia of Amerika

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 04:10    Post subject:  

ICPUG,

It does indeed! Crystal clear! Thank you.

_________________
Shuttle Spacewalker HOT-661/P Main Board:
PII-350MHz: 640MB RAM: First Puppy: 2.00
HDD Filesystem: FAT32/NTFS/ext3; Frugal Always
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 00:22    Post subject: Re: increasing number of sfs  

HiDeHo wrote:
Hi i am in the process of creating a puplet. i am wanting to know how you have added up to 40 sfs to load on startup. i would like to do something similar to this. you seem to be the only puppy based os with this ability.

can you also let me know if you do not want to give this information away.or send me a message via the forums if you prefer. .
I studied the scripts posted by Leon Zobec for Puppy 4.1.2.

The mods are not easy--need to extract the init script from initrd.gz, edit the script as Leon did, add loop device nodes in /dev and directories up to /pup_ro42, then rebuild the new initrd.gz and test. Also, the main file might need similar nodes and directories as well as tweaking of /usr/sbin/bootmanager.

So other than just using a Pet like SFS Combiner by MU or SFS_Load on-the-fly by Shinobar, it requires some knowledge of bash scripting and lots of patience...

-TaZoC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3215
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 06 Dec 2011, 21:30    Post subject:  

I just bought an old IBM M52 Thinkcentre computer
and I discovered that it has an Intel integrated graphics chip.

I found it very difficult to boot up with Puppy.

I found an old CD with Puppy3 would boot it
and the most recent version of Racy 5.2.2 would at least boot
it from the CD, but I found lots of buggy behaviour.

So far the best Puppies that I have found to use with
this computer are Lighthouse 5.03 and Fluppy012
(but NOT Fluppy013 !!! which wouldn't boot at all)

Fortunately Fluppy012 is still available
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/aarf/

________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Fri 23 Dec 2011, 13:22    Post subject: Lighthouse Puppy for Acer Travelmete notebook  

Greetings. I've done a frugal install of Lighthouse 5.0.3g on my 8-yr-old desktop PC and like it very much;almost worked out-of-the-box.
Now I intend to frugal install it on my Acer Travelmate TM630 notebook(since 2002), cpu Pentium 4 1.6Ghz,ALI chipset motherboard, 512MB ram, onboard NVidia Geforce2Go graphics using shared memory 16MB, 80GB harddisk, cardbus wireless adapter model DLink DWL-G630 (based on RT61.sys or RT2500). Based on this specs,I wonder if this version of Lighthouse Puppy will work. Hope someone can advise me as I've tried other puppies,eg Slacko 5.3,Wary 5.2.2,Brunopuppy(based on 431) - each of them seems to give me some problem ,such as touchpad no tapping,mouse hanged for no reason,wireless connection problem,Youtube video crappy(hardware limitation?). Even without these problems, Lighthouse Puppy is still my first choice but am reluctant to go through the hassle if it is sure not to work as I've already spent a lot of time trying to get those other puppies to work without much success,not for want of effort. Embarassed Pardon me if I've posted the query in the wrong thread.
At last,I made another livecd to test it on the notebk(OS WinXP),only xvesa works and the touchpad no tapping problem. Is there a way to resolve the touchpad problem and tweak xorg for better youtube video performance?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3215
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 16:19    Post subject: New version of mtpaint  

New version of mtpaint is out but you mustn't use the generic
version that is available because of an incompatibility with
libjpeg.


So I put together a special version that works just for Lighthouse 503.
The only known problem is that to uninstall this package you have to
do it by hand ( not PPM).

________________________________________________
mtpaint-lighthouse-3.40.pet
Description  Special version for Lighthouse 503
pet

 Download 
Filename  mtpaint-lighthouse-3.40.pet 
Filesize  303.73 KB 
Downloaded  232 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3215
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jan 2012, 16:33    Post subject:  

Dave S gave this advice in using Flsynclient which is the
software that controls the touch pad.



Quote:
Go into /root/ in your filemanager. set it to show hidden files. Load the file .flsynclient into a text editor (right click, select 'open as text') Look for the entry 'clickfinger3=' and set the value to '1', so : clickfinger3= 1


I found this advice on this page. It also describes how to turn off
the touch pad.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=538055&sid=3928fb2e8466c3a74bda5061a3684f9c

Also Jemimah gives some advice here.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=48011


______________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jan 2012, 06:45    Post subject:  

The problem is Flsynclient doesn't run in xvesa. I'm been hoping to get xorg NVidia driver working for my notebook NV11 Geforce 2 Go graphics chipset using 16MB onboard memory. Xorg probing correctly identifies my graphics as 'nv" but my external LCD monitor screen,in place of my faulty notebook screen, is garbled unless I switch to xvesa. Is there a workaround for me? I've posted for help before and am still waiting for some kind soul to assist me.
So far,Puppy Linux has been a happy and exciting discovery for me, even more than Ubuntu which I've tried without satisfactory results for my older PC hardware. Now,I use Puppy exclusively for my old PCs,in particular Lighthouse which,unfortunately,is too much for this notebook to handle but it works beautifully in one of my older desktop PC with slightly better hardware. Keep up the great work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 16 [228 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1183s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]