Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Jun 2018, 23:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 5.03 203M Wine 1.3.14 (not being maintained)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 16 [228 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
Jimm

Joined: 31 Jul 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2011, 00:09    Post subject:  

@gcmartin - thanks for all your help -- I got Log Out finally working! Your first tip -- adding "lhp video=640x480" to the boot parameters -- had no effect. Logging out still resulted in the blank screen.

So I tried your 2nd tip -- adding "pfix=vesa,ram" to the boot parameters (described here; note: the boot parameters in the LHP Grub entry already had "nomodeset"). The system booted up, and in the Lighthouse Video Wizard, I choose option #1 (Auto configuration). Not sure if that was the difference, but I was able to log out to the command line!

At the command line, I was able to reboot my computer. As part of the shutdown process, I saved the session in a new file, different from the one I had originally set up. So when LHP rebooted and located session files, it now presents three choices:

    0 none
    1 sda5 /lhp/LHPsave.3fs
    2 sda5 /lhp/LHPsave-logout_works.3fs


When I select choice #2, LHP boots up and I was able to switch between X Windows and Console Messages without any problems. And again, Log Out to the Command Line worked fine.

When I reboot and select choice #1, LHP boots up, but logging out still results in a blank screen. Since the two session files are used with the same Grub entry, I assume that they must differ in some configuration settings. Is there a way to determine this difference? I'd like to know what causes the different Log Out behaviors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2011, 12:57    Post subject:  

Jimm wrote:
... Is there a way to determine this difference? I'd like to know what causes the different Log Out behaviors.
I do NOT have internal systems skills as yet. Still learning. But your problem is a video driver issue.

This is a one of 3 problem areas that is most prevalent in my experiences with Linux (Puppy) over the years:
  • Video
  • Audio
  • WiFi
This one is video.

LightHouse seems to be smart enough to determine that there are 3 distinctly different "save-sessions" and options for booting available in presenting these on-screen.

Sound like gaining the ability to run XORGWIZARD has loaded a video driver that allows the consoles (Ctrl-Alt-Fx) to display text properly.

I'd ask Taroc to refer to your request when he returns.

Lastly, there is an interesting video tutorital here. It may help with understanding this problem and other video issues you may have to address.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1304
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 09 Aug 2011, 08:10    Post subject:  

I'd like to know why the different logout behaviours as well!

I guess one possible way to look for differences is to use your 'logout works' save file and then do another sysinfo (and post it here).

Then we can try and compare to the first one you posted to see if there are any clues.

You seem to have solved the problem by letting x-org automatically configure itself.

We may also get a clue by comparing the xorg.conf file in both versions. Now, where is that file stored?? I do not have access to lhp at the moment. It is something like \etc\..X11\ ...
Use Pfind to find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 09 Aug 2011, 19:35    Post subject: NVIDIA, S3 graphics  

crshbndct wrote:
so i have a video card which needs the 173 driver from nvidia.

if i download the mariner iso and boot from that, will it be able to automatically setup my card?
IIRC the Mariner ISO does not have the NVIDIA 173 driver, however there is a 173 Pet for Lighthouse 5.03 here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=433624#433624

@Jimm,
The X Windows configuration file is at /etc/X11/xorg.conf.

If the auto-configuration option in xorgwizard works, then stick with that.

Regarding the earlier save file that freezes when exiting X, I wonder if using 24 bit color depth instead of 16 would make any difference. To test, edit xorg.conf:
Code:
Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   DefaultDepth 16
   Subsection "Display"
      Depth       16
changing the section to:
Code:
Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   DefaultDepth 24
   Subsection "Display"
      Depth       24
and restart X. Otherwise delete xorg.conf and reboot.
Hope that helps,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
theblackpig

Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 32
Location: oldham -uk

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 14:58    Post subject: Newbie loves it but needs help  

Hi,
Started playing around with Puppy 5.2.5 a couple of days ago and all though I consider it a brilliant distro it didn't quite meet my requirements.
I then found Lighthouse, not as easy to install but worth the struggle Shocked (It's even better!!!)
A few simple questions (I'm a bit of an ignoramus when it comes to the operating system Embarassed

1) I would like to make Opera my default browser - how?
2) I did an update and now have a thing called Mariner on my desktop,
how do I get rid of it?
3)I would like thunderbird as my e mail program , how do I download and install it please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 16:15    Post subject: Re: Newbie loves it but needs help  

theblackpig wrote:

1) I would like to make Opera my default browser - how?
2) I did an update and now have a thing called Mariner on my desktop,
how do I get rid of it?
3)I would like thunderbird as my e mail program , how do I download and install it please?
1) Menu -> Setup -> Choose Default Browser

2) Right-click -> Remove Item

3) Choose from a Pet or SFS at http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Thunderbird
Click on the Pet -> Save file -> Open File Manager -> locate Pet (probably /root/Desktop) -> click on it to install. (Haven't tested this particular Pet myself.)

If that doesn't work, either install the Mariner SFS from the Downloads page or
Desktop -> Update -> select EudoraOSE-1.0-L1.pet -> OK. EudoraOSE is very similar to Thunderbird.
Hope that helps,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 16:26    Post subject: Serbian keyboard layout  

Diamond wrote:
Hello Tazoc,thanx for a great relase!

I have just installed Lighthouse,but I have problem with XKB. I can't add Serbian layot. When I try, nothing is happening.

Thanx!
Hi Diamond,
Can confirm the same bug here. Am working on a fix.

Possible workaround: open /root/.xinitrc with a text editor and comment out line 27 like this
Code:
#setxkbmap -layout ${XKEYMAP}  #100609 TazOC
Then if you haven't already, use Menu -> Setup -> Advanced Xorg keyboard configuration -> Layouts -> Serbian -> OK -> Yes.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2460
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 16:30    Post subject:  

Hi TazOC,

Great to have you back.

Cheers,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theblackpig

Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 32
Location: oldham -uk

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 16:56    Post subject:  

Many thanks tazoc ,brilliant distro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theblackpig

Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 32
Location: oldham -uk

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 14:57    Post subject: Problem with free space  

Tried to install windows in Virtualbox- got to about 20% ran out of "free space" .Had to reboot delete the virtual machine and start from scratch,
tried again the same happened again at about 50% of install.

Is there any way of increasing free space without a constant reboot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 20:05    Post subject: Re: Problem with free space  

theblackpig wrote:
Tried to install windows in Virtualbox- got to about 20% ran out of "free space" .Had to reboot delete the virtual machine and start from scratch,
tried again the same happened again at about 50% of install.

Is there any way of increasing free space without a constant reboot?
Yes, paste this into a terminal window:
Code:
frugal-symlink /root/.VirtualBox .VirtualBox
That will move the large virtual disk image(s) outside of the save file into the host partition at /mnt/home/lhp503/LHP_503_Programs/.VirtualBox or similar. This will only work with a frugal install, where the save file is located on a Linux partition (e.g., formatted ext2/3/4 or reiserfs.)

On the other hand, if the host partition is formatted with fat32/ntfs, we need to use a Linux partition (or create a new ext4 partition (Menu -> System -> GParted) on a disk with plenty of free space; in ROX-Filer move /root/.VirtualBox over to it, then drag and drop the icon back to /root and when prompted select 'Link (absolute)'.

Either method uses a symlink, (symbolic link) so that VirtualBox can find its files at /root/.VirtualBox even though they actually reside somewhere else outside of the save file.

-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Darkgame

Joined: 18 Mar 2011
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2011, 04:01    Post subject:  

can u provide lxde.sfs? I want to try it out in puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
theblackpig

Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 32
Location: oldham -uk

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2011, 17:34    Post subject: Re: Problem with free space  

tazoc wrote:
theblackpig wrote:
Tried to install windows in Virtualbox- got to about 20% ran out of "free space" .Had to reboot delete the virtual machine and start from scratch,
tried again the same happened again at about 50% of install.

Is there any way of increasing free space without a constant reboot?
Yes, paste this into a terminal window:
Code:
frugal-symlink /root/.VirtualBox .VirtualBox
That will move the large virtual disk image(s) outside of the save file into the host partition at /mnt/home/lhp503/LHP_503_Programs/.VirtualBox or similar. This will only work with a frugal install, where the save file is located on a Linux partition (e.g., formatted ext2/3/4 or reiserfs.)

On the other hand, if the host partition is formatted with fat32/ntfs, we need to use a Linux partition (or create a new ext4 partition (Menu -> System -> GParted) on a disk with plenty of free space; in ROX-Filer move /root/.VirtualBox over to it, then drag and drop the icon back to /root and when prompted select 'Link (absolute)'.

Either method uses a symlink, (symbolic link) so that VirtualBox can find its files at /root/.VirtualBox even though they actually reside somewhere else outside of the save file.

-TazOC


Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 17 Aug 2011, 11:40    Post subject: LXDE Light for Lupu  

Darkgame wrote:
can u provide lxde.sfs? I want to try it out in puppy
I don't have exactly what you'd like, as LXDE is integrated into Lighthouse 5.03. However, this thread has a Pet, lxde-0.5.0-lucid.pet that might work:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59673
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 298

PostPosted: Wed 17 Aug 2011, 22:25    Post subject:  

Hi Taz,
Good to see you back on the forum. Not much action over on the LHP64 thread - It really is a good alpha!

I did something stupid (don't ask) and it took me a week of frustrating web work looking at windows blogs forums and articles, to restore (repair) the partition table and recover the Windows component of my laptop. There's lots of mis-information, and straight incorrect advice on the Win7 side. However I'm a bit wiser, and now I know how to do it (and even some of the why).

In the process I lost both my ext3 and ext4 partitions. I was able to get back most of my data through my own backups and using Testdisk (with photorec), and as a consequence I also have a brand new 500Gb backup disk courtesy of Costco.

I had to reload 503 final, and this time the pet for Chromium installed - and you set it up with thoughtful extras. I especially liked the theme you provided (sort of greeny/Jungle/Gauguin style).

However I clicked once on "use GTK Theme" in the Chrome preferences and found there was no way to get back the original theme! I do not know the name (and Chromium doesn't store its themes like Firefox does) and I've looked through to no avail. The pet for LHP64 Chromium doesn't have the same theme.

One observation on both pups - I always change the menu bar to the top, and in LXDE (503) and Openbox (L64) part of the top row of icons get covered, and when some new windows open, their title bar is covered covered and I need to press alt and drag the window a bit to work with them.
Xfce as I recall adjusts the icon placement and where windows open. Any suggestions?

B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 16 [228 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1700s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0659s) ][ GZIP on ]