Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Nov 2017, 07:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
The Official Release of Lucid 5.25 (Lucid Five Twenty-Five)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 84 of 129 [1925 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, ..., 127, 128, 129 Next
Author Message
willem1940NLD

Joined: 06 Jul 2010
Posts: 205
Location: Sittard, Limburg, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue 05 Apr 2011, 16:35    Post subject:  

Found out my problems were/are due to Hardware, think I need a new computer.

Have 525 kind of working for the time being, after low level format of harddisk.

Do not see IRC helpchat .... is it no more standard?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 855
Location: SE

PostPosted: Tue 05 Apr 2011, 18:12    Post subject:  

Hello Smile!

Took your latest offering, 525, for a spin ....

I lost internet connection quite a few times, something which never occured before Confused Sad. Had to re-configure, both with network wizard and sns. And, I'm on wired broadband internet through my router, here - just never happened before in any other puppy.

Hope you'll find a solution, just wanted to report.

Fwiw/hth Smile/
MHHP

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6713
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 05 Apr 2011, 19:38    Post subject: Re: oops late problem? maybe  

scsijon wrote:
Decided to use the "latest and greatest" 525 for a new laptop machine.

Found I could not install grub to anything, said it did, nothing there and didn't boot grub!

Could a tester or two also try this out if possible please before I try to return the box.

------------
Also, can someone tell me where I stop connections being started on the network being started, I am finding a google connection on port 80 happening before a browser is even started.


thanks
scsijon


Took me a while but ......pulled an old P3 off the shelf,did a full install of 525 and grub would not install here either. I don't like Grub4dos but it did install and boot both 525 and Spup. Anyway, there does appear to be a problem with Grub in Lucid 525.
I also went ahead and used Spup to install legacy Grub with no problem.
HTH.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9525
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Apr 2011, 19:44    Post subject: Re: oops late problem? maybe  

James C wrote:
scsijon wrote:
Decided to use the "latest and greatest" 525 for a new laptop machine.

Found I could not install grub to anything, said it did, nothing there and didn't boot grub!

Could a tester or two also try this out if possible please before I try to return the box.

------------
Also, can someone tell me where I stop connections being started on the network being started, I am finding a google connection on port 80 happening before a browser is even started.


thanks
scsijon


Took me a while but ......pulled an old P3 off the shelf,did a full install of 525 and grub would not install here either. I don't like Grub4dos but it did install and boot both 525 and Spup. Anyway, there does appear to be a problem with Grub in Lucid 525.
I also went ahead and used Spup to install legacy Grub with no problem.
HTH.

I installed Grub with no problem.
My version of Lucid 5.2.5 I got from:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-5.2.5/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6713
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 05 Apr 2011, 19:47    Post subject: Re: oops late problem? maybe  

bigpup wrote:
James C wrote:
scsijon wrote:
Decided to use the "latest and greatest" 525 for a new laptop machine.

Found I could not install grub to anything, said it did, nothing there and didn't boot grub!

Could a tester or two also try this out if possible please before I try to return the box.

------------
Also, can someone tell me where I stop connections being started on the network being started, I am finding a google connection on port 80 happening before a browser is even started.


thanks
scsijon


Took me a while but ......pulled an old P3 off the shelf,did a full install of 525 and grub would not install here either. I don't like Grub4dos but it did install and boot both 525 and Spup. Anyway, there does appear to be a problem with Grub in Lucid 525.
I also went ahead and used Spup to install legacy Grub with no problem.
HTH.

I installed Grub with no problem.
My version of Lucid 5.2.5 came from:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-5.2.5/


Interesting, I think my copy came from playdayz's server.......... guess I'll redownload from ibiblio and see if there is a difference. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2307
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Apr 2011, 20:06    Post subject:  

Quote:
I think the firewall should start out installed and ON.

Starting every newbie without a firewall makes them vulnerable, unless they have an external router/firewall.


I have been saying this for a long time. For a newbie-friendly Linux like Puppy to have such a security flaw is just wrong. At the very least, if not defaulted on, Puppy should take the Windows approach and just nag the hell out of the user that he needs to turn the firewall on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6713
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 05 Apr 2011, 20:56    Post subject: Re: oops late problem? maybe  

James C wrote:
bigpup wrote:
James C wrote:
scsijon wrote:
Decided to use the "latest and greatest" 525 for a new laptop machine.

Found I could not install grub to anything, said it did, nothing there and didn't boot grub!

Could a tester or two also try this out if possible please before I try to return the box.

------------
Also, can someone tell me where I stop connections being started on the network being started, I am finding a google connection on port 80 happening before a browser is even started.


thanks
scsijon


Took me a while but ......pulled an old P3 off the shelf,did a full install of 525 and grub would not install here either. I don't like Grub4dos but it did install and boot both 525 and Spup. Anyway, there does appear to be a problem with Grub in Lucid 525.
I also went ahead and used Spup to install legacy Grub with no problem.
HTH.

I installed Grub with no problem.
My version of Lucid 5.2.5 came from:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-5.2.5/


Interesting, I think my copy came from playdayz's server.......... guess I'll redownload from ibiblio and see if there is a difference. Smile


Downloaded a new copy of 525 from ibiblio, reformatted the partition (sda1) and did another full install of 525. Guess I forgot how to install Grub.... Laughing

Posting from it now, after I used Spup 099 to install Grub.
lucid 525 grub.png
 Description   
 Filesize   22.67 KB
 Viewed   1353 Time(s)

lucid 525 grub.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6713
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 05 Apr 2011, 21:10    Post subject:  

Other than the Grub difficulty, everything working ootb.Internet,sound and display all good on initial boot.

VGA compatible controller : Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (CGC) Chipset Graphics Controller (rev 03)
Multimedia audio controller : Intel Corporation 82801AA AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
Communication controller : Agere Systems LT WinModem
Ethernet controller : Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
karm2865


Joined: 20 Mar 2011
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Tue 05 Apr 2011, 21:41    Post subject: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=65136
Subject description: Re: oops late problem? maybe
 

had the same problem.

just because i was out of things to try I decided to give up on GRUB boot-loader, and tried Grub4Dos instead no ideal why a DOS loader would work but had nothing to lose by trying.

I managed to get Grub4Dos to work first try no problem why?
No ideal why
see
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=66573
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Wed 06 Apr 2011, 01:03    Post subject:  

Just a small, but annoying glitch for me.

I upgraded it this way:

- Backed up my /root directory in a tar ball.
- Created a new FAT32 partition.
- Created a brand new Puppy 525 frugal installation.
- Booted the new Puppy.
- Renamed /root to something else.
- Restored my old root from the tar ball.
- Rebooted.

It works. I have a very new and clean Puppy, and most of my configuration choices were preserved. I just have to install programs all over again. Fine, because I went overboard the last time and installed too much, the save file got too big etc.

But when I open the package manager, the installed programs pane indicates the presence of all my old programs, from the old installation. They are not there, they are not installed. If I reinstall them, the corresponding entry is duplicated. So I am "uninstalling" them before reinstalling them, but that's really annoying. I can only uninstall one package at a time, and each time takes considerably long.

I don't think those ghost packages should be there. I don't think they should be carried across two different systems as a stowaway in the /root directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5302
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 06 Apr 2011, 01:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
think I need a new computer.

Have 525 kind of working for the time being, after low level format of harddisk


You do not need a 'new' computer, that would be a disaster. At the very worst you would need another old computer, because Puppy is a compact distro aimed at 'old' computers and is landfill-saving. However, in your case, all you might need is another HD. But I doubt even that. Doublecheck for bad sectors with a DOS utility from a FDD because it is easier than using a liveCD and terminal.
You cannot 'low level' format an IDE or SATA HD - it is a factory operation, unless you are using an MFM device.
Too much loose HW speak here recently. One fears that the capitalist determination to make PC s commodity items like washing machines might yet succeed due to inertia, indolence and ignorance?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9525
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Apr 2011, 01:23    Post subject:  

Luluc wrote:
Just a small, but annoying glitch for me.

I upgraded it this way:

- Backed up my /root directory in a tar ball.
- Created a new FAT32 partition.
- Created a brand new Puppy 525 frugal installation.
- Booted the new Puppy.
- Renamed /root to something else.
- Restored my old root from the tar ball.
- Rebooted.

It works. I have a very new and clean Puppy, and most of my configuration choices were preserved. I just have to install programs all over again. Fine, because I went overboard the last time and installed too much, the save file got too big etc.

But when I open the package manager, the installed programs pane indicates the presence of all my old programs, from the old installation. They are not there, they are not installed. If I reinstall them, the corresponding entry is duplicated. So I am "uninstalling" them before reinstalling them, but that's really annoying. I can only uninstall one package at a time, and each time takes considerably long.

I don't think those ghost packages should be there. I don't think they should be carried across two different systems as a stowaway in the /root directory.

You did not do a Frugal install upgrade.
The best way is this example:
Upgrading Frugal install
You are using Puppy 511.
Ok, here comes the good bit. Lets assume puppy 5.1.2 is released and you want to try it.
Create another directory called /puppy512.
Copy the three new files (intrd.gz, vmlinuz, and pup_512.sfs) off the new ISO you have downloaded and place them in the directory /puppy512.
Copy the save file from /puppy511 to /puppy512.
Make the appropriate edits in the GRUB menu.lst file and reboot.
Select the new puppy 5.1.2.
It will load and convert your old save file to the new puppy. All of your settings and installed software will be available in the new distribution. The whole process will take between 1 - 5 minutes.

Last edited by bigpup on Wed 06 Apr 2011, 01:35; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 06 Apr 2011, 01:28    Post subject:  

Luluc

2 questions

Why FAT? (ok, that's your choice, puppy is about choice)

Why shouldn't certain system config files be stored in /root?

There are many of them there, all your browser bookmarks in ~/.mozilla (or whatever), all package information is stored in ~/.packages, lots of app configurations are in ~/.config, you will also find jwm settings, mtpaint, the list can go on.... and this is not unique to lucid puppy. All distros use $HOME or /etc (depending on how compiled) for config files, which in Puppy's case is root. BTW, configs in $HOME usually override configs in /etc.

You probably did other unforeseen damage to /root/.packages. I would suggest going in there and replacing the folder /root/.packages/builtin_files with the original off the CD, also all the Packages_puppy-[whatever] files will be old versions, need to be replaced with originals OR update PPM (I would use the originals), also you can delete the "ghost" packages which you introduced, and also edit the user-installed-packages file eliminating the ghost entries.

You realise you may have other problems with this method you used.

HTH

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Wed 06 Apr 2011, 01:30    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
You did not do a Frugal install upgrade.
The best way is this example:
Upgrading Frugal install
Ok, here comes the good bit. Lets assume puppy 5.1.2 is released and you want to try it.
Create another directory called /puppy512.
Copy the three new files off the new ISO you have downloaded and place them in the directory /puppy512.
Copy the save file from /puppy511 to /puppy512.
Make the appropriate edits in the GRUB menu.lst file and reboot.
Select the new puppy 5.1.2.
It will load and convert your old save file to the new puppy. All of your settings and installed software will be available in the new distribution. The whole process will take between 1 - 5 minutes.


Well, I did that at first, but the old save file was not recognized. All my stuff was gone, as if I had booted with pfix=ram (I had not). Since I wanted to make major structure changes in my save file, to wit: make it smaller and use encryption, I did it the way I did.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 768
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Wed 06 Apr 2011, 01:45    Post subject:  

tasmod wrote:
firewallstate-1.9 is available in forum Additional Software - Network.

This has the added stop and remove from bootup for the firewall. It is remembered when off.


Interesting results with gtkdialog in older version I wrote the On/Off routine with and new version.
One would echo a command and stop, the newer version execute it without any syntax change. Confused


Thanks, Rob. Much appreciated. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 84 of 129 [1925 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, ..., 127, 128, 129 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0899s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0185s) ][ GZIP on ]