Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 13:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
SFS-Exec
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 11 [163 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Fri 15 Apr 2011, 20:48    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:

But when one use Firefox or some other broswer do they really remember settings and such.

Perhaps better to have the ".mozilla" directory linked somewhere outside of the pupsave file.


Nooby, have a great weekend,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 06:54    Post subject:  

Very good advice. I will test this.

I noticed one thing when I experimented with your approach on SnowPuppy 5 which is based on lupu513 as I remember.

I had by accident made a too big savefile on Snowpup5 and when I added your program after months of using it then it shut me down to prompt and I had to xwin to get back to desktop screen.

But if I did a roundabout and instead of going to menu and then sfs-exec load instead I use Rox and go to the sfslists directory on mnt(home and there right click and chose browser opera.sfs then it survive

So I should restart with pfix=ram and place the .mozilla on the mnt/home or sda or whatever that works. and make a less big pupsavefile.


I did also test it in Fluppy which most likely is based on Puppy430 not sure.

But I failed to use Lupu 525 but maybe I did somethign wrong and should test it again.

Anyway. I hope you teach the other devs about this feature so it can be incorporated in the official Lupu or some other official Puppy because as a newbie I would have loved to get these from scratch and not to wait two years for them to emerge. Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 09:23    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:

So I should restart with pfix=ram and place the .mozilla on the mnt/home or sda or whatever that works. and make a less big pupsavefile.

You can't use "pfix=ram" because any changes you make will not be saved to the pupsave file.

Usually you move the /root/.mozilla directory to the /mn/home or sda, and then make a link back to /root/.mozilla. In order for the new link of /root/.mozilla to survive, it has to be saved to the pupsave file.

Cheers,
s

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 12:44    Post subject:  

good new first and later the bad new. Smile


1. Good news
Yes that works very well with the sfs for FF4.07 that I have an sfs for.

I did as you suggested and that way when I loaded FF.sfs using your sfs-exec then it took the private settings from the .mozilla that I symlinked to.

I have not tested if it save the new bookmarks to that mnt/home .mozilla but that is likely.

Anyway I am in Spup-100 a brand new and have only installed the sfs.exec and not done the pupsave yet and writing using the FF now and it just worked.

2. Bad news.

Snowpup5 is a lupu513 that Pemasu has remastered using a lot of codes from Jemimah on RFKILL and other such that makes it very good for Netbooks too. Snowpup is my main OS now.

But your sfs-exec shut down X and one get to the prompt and have to xwin in again. But it works if one only start the sfs up using right click using roxfiler.

I started totally fresh with snowpup iso and did everything right and it still shut it down. Have not tested on lupu525 yet which Snow15 make use of.
Will test Lupu525Lite first.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 14:56    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:

But your sfs-exec shut down X and one get to the prompt and have to xwin in again. But it works if one only start the sfs up using right click using roxfiler.


Nooby,

That is indeed strange because I can't imagine what would be different about Snowpup or Lupu513. Can you give me the detailed steps of exactly when this happens.

Cheers,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 15:31    Post subject:  

I try!


I go Menu > Files > SFS-Exec-Dir and then at that moment it shut me down to Prompt and I do xwin and it start up but the only way to get sfs-exec working is to instead go to Rox and then go to the Dir with sfs files and do right click and that works without problem.


Background

I start with a fresh .iso and I used Snowpup5 the one with the lupu_513.sfs and the reason is that it seems to work better with Flashplayer Snow15 is too modern so it treat flash in another way.

but back to what I did. I boot and change all the personal settings I need.
Then I tried both your approach to install sfs-exec and the sfs-exec-pupsave but have also only tested to use sfs-exec-pupsave after the pupsave has already been made and then save it again.

This work with Fluppy and Lighthouse which as far as I know are based on Puppy 431 and Lupu 525 Lite worked too without get shutting down.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 18:44    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:


I go Menu > Files > SFS-Exec-Dir and then at that moment it shut me down to Prompt and I do xwin and it start up but the only way to get sfs-exec working is to instead go to Rox and then go to the Dir with sfs files and do right click and that works without problem.
.


Nooby,

How strange......

What happens if you open a terminal and type "SFS-Exec-Dir" and if that works - try "SFS-Exec-Dir /name/of/your/dir-of-sfsfiles"?

Ahhh. so many puppies in the litter now........ Confused

Regards,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1146
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 19:10    Post subject:  

Hi again seaside,

As I said earlier, your program is super fast and most effective with my frugal hard drive installation of Lucid Puppy 5.25.

However,

(a) When I use the new Save-pup icon on my desktop it works but also performs a power off.

(b) If, on the other hand, instead of using the save icon I make say, a new folder in my /root directory and then use Menu > Shutdown > Reboot computer the new folder is in /root after the reboot.

Although everything works superbly I am (probably foolishly) mildly surprised that (a) powers off - as well as saves, but I am quite surprised that (b) seems to continue to work exactly as it always did.

My surprise is unimportant if the results are as you would expect.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 20:23    Post subject:  

Jasper wrote:


(a) When I use the new Save-pup icon on my desktop it works but also performs a power off.

Yes, that's as designed

(b) If, on the other hand, instead of using the save icon I make say, a new folder in my /root directory and then use Menu > Shutdown > Reboot computer the new folder is in /root after the reboot.

That should not have happened. Can you create a new file, open a terminal and type "which snapmergepuppy" and then see if it returns a path. If it does not, then do a Menu>Shutdown>Reboot and see if that newly created file appears.



Regards,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1146
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 20:50    Post subject:  

Hi seaside,

Thank you for your reply and in response:

First I made a new folder in /root named aaseasidetest and then subsequently (after rebooting) a new file named zzzseasidetest.

I copied and pasted your command and both times got only the hash "#".

I rebooted from the Menu and both the new folder and the new file appear in root after completion of the rebooting.

My regards

PS I actually like it this way, but this is not really the point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Sat 16 Apr 2011, 23:25    Post subject:  

Jasper wrote:
Hi seaside,

Thank you for your reply and in response:

First I made a new folder in /root named aaseasidetest and then subsequently (after rebooting) a new file named zzzseasidetest.

I copied and pasted your command and both times got only the hash "#".

I rebooted from the Menu and both the new folder and the new file appear in root after completion of the rebooting.

My regards

PS I actually like it this way, but this is not really the point.


Jasper,

Thanks for running that test. This is a total puzzle because the normal merging program was disabled.

When I have a moment, I'll download 525 and see if I can learn what could be happening.

Regards,
s
(Perhaps I shouldn't look too hard since it seems you would prefer the current situation Smile )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr 2011, 00:02    Post subject:  

Seaside wrote quote
Perhaps I shouldn't look too hard since it seems you would prefer the current situation /quote

whoah Nope that is not good! it should not save that way Smile

My result. I created a folder in mnt/home and did a reboot and it survived.
I made a new folder and rebooted and that one survived too.

I also did the which snapmergepuppy and that gave only the hash sign.
Snowpup5 is Lupu513 so most likely it would also act that way on all the puppies that are based on Lupu511.

I also made a more keen test of my problem with shut down to prompt.
1. Survive if one do Terminal and also
2. if one do Menu > Filesystem > Filemanagers > SFS-Exec-Dir but
3. But if one do right click on desktop and then filesystems > Filemanagers > SFS-Exec-Dir that gives an instant shut down to prompt.

So that would be needed to get dealt with unless numerous newbies get totally lost with a prompt and wild guess what to write xwin is not that intuitive to write if one are new but usually the text says so though Smile

Nope sfs-exec-dir should not allow changes without one hit save button. That is no good! But if there is no way to protect it at least we should set the save time to zero or nil or 0 and that way it would not save a lot of things?

which snapmergepuppy
what was that suppose to give in normal circumstances?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr 2011, 01:32    Post subject:  

Seaside I need your help.

I saw a warning when I rebooted. It says that I have errors in the ext3 pupsavef file.
I go out in prompt to see what they say again.

I am back from a new test and it seems it is when I do the right click on screen and it shut down to prompt that it corrupt the pupsavefile most likely so I will not do that again. Not in this my best Puppy Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1146
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr 2011, 04:52    Post subject:  

Hi seaside,

There is no rush with my query and here is a screenshot in case it may help to explain what I did:


Frugal hard drive installation of Lucid Puppy 5.25..

My regards

I loaded the sfs files by right clicking on each of the four sfs files then clicking SFS-Exec.

The clock is the Wine clock after loading the Wine sfs.

I have never unloaded (or attempted to unload) either of the two standard type files which are listed at the top of the Unloader window.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr 2011, 06:53    Post subject:  

Seaside! Jasper take up something that I also have wondered about.

Quote:

I have never unloaded (or attempted to unload) either of the two standard type files which are listed at the top of the Unloader window.


Could that explain why the files got saved?

But logically don't sfs-exec need them loaded? when one tell it to save to pupsave using the savebutton and before it shut down then it need to access these files that is loaded during boot why would you load them if the SFS-Exec did not need them?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 11 [163 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0933s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]