Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 19:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
SFS-Exec
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 11 [163 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 04:52    Post subject:  

Seaside I agree with Jasper this is a good thing. You explored what is possible within the restraints there was due to the way it is built.
So thanks for the good tools you have provided. It has been an exciting journey to follow. But Edit the first page so it is very clear what it does and what it does not do and under what circumstances Smile

Jasper thanks for all testing and idea efforts you also put into this. I feel embarrassed how I flood the thread. I got carried away out of happiness that several years of waiting could find an easy solution.
Now I have to go find the thread and post that did let me have the pupmode 13 on HD. I know I have a post on a thread that inspired a friendly guy to make one and only have to find that one again. Smile

Now to my question
I am so dense that it is beyond embarrassing. Hahah

You edited out exact everything in that file and still when you click on it it just works?

How could that be so?


And this "I have a lightning fast sfs loader and I can update my save file at any time I choose by clicking on the circular blue desktop save icon. "

Seaside if I get it. The code Bilko gave also only work if one have the pupsave file on an USB?

So what I need to do is to find a Puppy that is a series 4 puppy because then I can use your idea to make the pupsave file into a sfs and that way get my personal preferences and still not save to the savefile.

So when you do want to add a preference or change one then you open it up and do the change and then make an sfs out of it again.
As easy as pancake Smile

So I only have to find a puppy based on 431 then or 420

Maybe Lighthouse pup or latest Quirky 142 or Fluppy even?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1170
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 06:54    Post subject:  

Hi nooby,

My understanding is that seaside's SFS-exec.pet worked well in all your Puppy versions where you used it, except when you installed SFS-Exec-pupsave-noshut.pet on one of your Puppies the only side effect you noticed was that you could no longer use the fast sfs loader.

Can you try that again and just check if the save worked properly. You could test it by making a folder in root called say aasavetest (so that it shows at the start of your root directory). Then do a hard poweroff (i.e. with your hardware poweroff as opposed to using the menu poweroff). Then reboot and check if you still have aasavetest.

If that works you have succeeded with one of your two objectives.

You could then install say, shinobar's sfs-on-the-fly style pet which is likely to work well (hopefully even with your SFS-exec.pet still installed). If it works and your save still works (just delete aasavetest to check) then you have only lost the lightning speed of seaside's sfs loader.

Alternatively, you might experiment with uninstalling seaside's two pets and then reinstalling them (perhaps in a different order) and on your other Puppies.

You could wait to see what seaside thinks about my suggestion before you consider trying it - but (ideally) take a backup of your save file(s) before you test if you try it on any/all of your Puppy versions.

My regards

I have no answers to your many questions - my concern is if the magic works properly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 07:04    Post subject:  

Thanks Jasper. I will not load Shinobar's it is way too slow for my impatient brain. Smile

But I am trying to grasp the difference.

I am testing Quirky 142 and that is a proper Puppy 431 and it has Seamonkey in it and I have installed Seasides SFS-Exec and that works for Opera browser SFS but when I try to load FF.sfs two different versions then none of them start up.

So what could that be about?

Fluppy that also are puppy431 has so many preferences from Jemimah that it take for ever to change them back to what I prefer so I will not touch that one if I can find something better.
Lighthouse pup are puppy420 I guess but that one too has so many different prefs so I hesitate to test it again.

What else Puppy 431 has not the drivers I need? Refuse to boot? Not sure.

I need to find something that just works Smile

So now I am stuck in that Quirky fail to load the FF.sfs that worked on the two other os.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 07:07    Post subject:  

Hahaha I am very dense today or always:)
So much work and lost everything. Okay my fault I should have saved it first. I start all over again. And do a new test.
old text follows

okay I did as you told me but most likely I did not grasp.
if I have no save file at all how can it save anything at all?

okay I look in root now. nope nothing there Which is to expect due to me having no savefile.

I have to save using the save button that Seaside gave me and then start up again and then do what you told me.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1170
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 07:36    Post subject:  

Hi nooby,

I found shinobar's sfs-on-the-fly to be quite quick, and as I am not short of RAM I frequently leave my activated programs (sfs, portable and mainstream) minimized to my system tray so they reactivate instantaneously.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 07:47    Post subject:  

Thanks Jasper. It seems the order one do thing are imprtant.

I first activated the pupsave and then the sfs-exec and then used the sfs-exec- pup-save to save the thing and that created two save buttons

save-pup has this text
#!/bin/sh
# used with SFS-exec to enable pupsave

mv /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppyHOLD /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy
exec wmpoweroff

save-to-flash has this text

#!/bin/sh
#2007 Lesser GPL licence v2 (http://www.fsf.org/licensing/licenses/lgpl.html)
#sends a request to /usr/sbin/savepuppyd to save the session.
#v4.01 19may2008 BK: request now to /sbin/pup_eventd (savepuppyd is history).
#v411 /tmp/snapmergepuppyrequest is processed in /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d. (from v403 i think)
#101221 fix yaf-splash.

export LANG=C
export DISPLAY=':0'

#LANG=C /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash -display :0 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg yellow -text "NOTICE:
yaf-splash -bg yellow -text "NOTICE:
Request to save current session is queued. Please wait,
another message will popup when the saving occurs..." &
RETVAL=$?
YAFPID=$!

touch /tmp/snapmergepuppyrequest

while [ -f /tmp/snapmergepuppyrequest ];do
sleep 1
done

[ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && kill $YAFPID


###END###


Not sure what that means now I do your test.
Edit after test. Jay you and Seaside have brains while me don't have a brain to rely on Smile

It workd despite Quirky 142 has a built in safeguard again shutting off using the harware reboot thing. It told me it will save the changes despite me trying to not do it and it wrote that now it has saved them and then I booted up and they where gone.

So that give me a chance then if I screw up then I only have to do a hard reboot and that would start anew next time. Now I will test if the sfs works. I guess they are the wrong kernel or something they refuse to load?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1170
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 07:56    Post subject:  

nooby,

save-pup has this text
#!/bin/sh
# used with SFS-exec to enable pupsave

mv /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppyHOLD /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy
exec wmpoweroff
---------------------------------------------------
The above is not

SFS-Exec-pupsave-noshut.pet

which you tried before and I suggested you try again.

My regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 22 Apr 2011, 09:33    Post subject:  

So you want me to try that one again Hm

I as you me but it still saved the dit in root and that is surprising cause it on had the time while the power button still has power going due to the Capacitors holding 11Volt or something for some parts of a second?

Tested it two times.

What was the thing with you editing out using # in his bash script why would it still work or was that so you don't accidently hit it you change it so it would not absolute nothing?

I guess I have to revert to the brute force method.

What guy was it telling us he just take his backup and copy it over the corrupted savefile and that restore it to the backup and that way it does not remember hm that would not work because it would still save when one shut down like this one do?

one need to boot with pfixram and copy it to the directory and then reboot?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 08 May 2011, 16:57    Post subject:  

Seaside the code you gave me did no prevent me starting another Chromeium.

Does one have to reboot first? Okay I do it now in case it is important that it start kind of the usual way?

Here is how it look in that file

#!/bin/sh

#SFS-Exec loads Aufs union-layered mounted filesystems and Exec in SFS /usr/share/applications/*.desktop
# seaside 6 February 2011
# Thanks to shinobar, goingnuts, 01micko and Barry of course for the Aufs mounting and unmounting code

[ $1 ] && ADDSFS=$1 || exit
[[ `losetup | grep $1` ]] && yaf-splash -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text
"ATTENTION! $1 seems to be already mounted.
Perhaps you closed the program and want to restart it.
If the program is not in the menu list, in a terminal
run 'fixmenus' and then restart the window manager." && exit

N=$(LANG=C df | grep '/initrd/pup_ro'| sed -e "s/^.*\(.\)$/\1/"| sort | tail -n 1) #finds the highest pup_ro
[ $N ] || N=3 # precaution
N=$(($N + 1))
MNTPNT=/initrd/pup_ro$N
mkdir -p "$MNTPNT"

should it be double [ or what that some way to get it pass the forum code or something ?

Edit back from reboot and tested to start Chromium and then shut it down using the x in upper right corner and then starting a new one using the sfs.exec and it did start a new one. unloader says it is two working now.

I listen to nrk.no in one of them and use firefox to write here to you.
norwegian folkemusikk in the background.

What did I do wrong? oops it is 15 past 11PM so I should go to bed.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Mon 09 May 2011, 09:47    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:

Edit back from reboot and tested to start Chromium and then shut it down using the x in upper right corner and then starting a new one using the sfs.exec and it did start a new one. unloader says it is two working now.

What did I do wrong? oops it is 15 past 11PM so I should go to bed.


Nooby,

The edit change above is correct and after saving the edit, the change will be effective without rebooting. Of course, to make it permanent when next rebooted, you'll have to "save" the change to the pupsave file.

It wouldn't allow me to reload anything that was already loaded when I tried it on several SFS files.

Regards,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 09 May 2011, 10:52    Post subject:  

I am in Lupu513 as it behave after Pemasu made it into Snowpup 5
so maybe that makes it different. It never show the message you put there.
I did save it now when I look it like this.

#!/bin/sh

#SFS-Exec loads Aufs union-layered mounted filesystems and Exec in SFS /usr/share/applications/*.desktop
# seaside 6 February 2011
# Thanks to shinobar, goingnuts, 01micko and Barry of course for the Aufs mounting and unmounting code

[ $1 ] && ADDSFS=$1 || exit
[[ `losetup | grep $1` ]] && yaf-splash -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -text
"ATTENTION! $1 seems to be already mounted.
Perhaps you closed the program and want to restart it.
If the program is not in the menu list, in a terminal
run 'fixmenus' and then restart the window manager." && exit

I could test it in quirky 142 maybe. But I am lazy just now.

I works partly in that it sometimes don't start a new version but it does show that it did load it when one look in the unloader even it never started.

And it sometimes is difficult to unload it which has never happen before so some of the code do work.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 13 May 2011, 15:20    Post subject:  

Firstly, sorry I have not read the whole thread..

But, did you incorporate a function similar to the 'pinstall.sh' function that we have with PET files? Because when loading certain SFS files, they require extra work, as the pinstall is not normally executed...

As I see it, you, shinobar and goingnuts have all made good SFS work...

It would be great to see all 3 of you incorporate the execution of any "pinstall.sh" scripts found in the root of the SFS when it is loaded on the fly.. Then the pinstall could be optionally removed - unless that causes some problems.

I think this may be a good idea, as more OTF SFS loading will catch on, I am sure of it... Also many SFS files were convereted for PET files originally... The vbox SFS around, for example...

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 13 May 2011, 16:28    Post subject:  

Scottman sorry me flooded this thread with so many posts. Makes it hard to follow.

Important thing you take up there. so these things inside a sfs can start installing things then? that end up in a save file too. Hmm

So one would need a way to prevent these from changing things one don't want to have changed. Hopefully seaside or somebody else can build such safeguards then into the sfs-exec. I use it almost daily. So practical.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Fri 13 May 2011, 17:51    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:


It would be great to see all 3 of you incorporate the execution of any "pinstall.sh" scripts found in the root of the SFS when it is loaded on the fly.. Then the pinstall could be optionally removed - unless that causes some problems.

I think this may be a good idea, as more OTF SFS loading will catch on, I am sure of it... Also many SFS files were convereted for PET files originally... The vbox SFS around, for example...


scOttman,

SFS-Exec reads and executes a script (if there is one) before the SFS file is loaded and is the equivalent of a "pinstall".

"Sometimes you'll need special handling depending on individual SFS files. You can create a script named "SFSFILENAME"SETUP. e.g. vlc-0.9.2-i386_431.sfsSETUP and place it in the SFS directory. The script will execute before the program is started, allowing copying of config files or any other changes needed before the program starts."

Regards,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 13 May 2011, 18:08    Post subject:  

seaside wrote:
scOttman,

SFS-Exec reads and executes a script (if there is one) before the SFS file is loaded and is the equivalent of a "pinstall".

"Sometimes you'll need special handling depending on individual SFS files. You can create a script named "SFSFILENAME"SETUP. e.g. vlc-0.9.2-i386_431.sfsSETUP and place it in the SFS directory. The script will execute before the program is started, allowing copying of config files or any other changes needed before the program starts."

Regards,
s

thanks for the info... But why not just use a file called 'pinstall.sh' instead?? It would greatly increase compatibility with other tools and packages..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 11 [163 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1051s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]