Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 31 Aug 2014, 06:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to install Puppy on a Sony Viao with 64 MB of RAM?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
hairybiker

Joined: 05 Feb 2011
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 11:41    Post_subject:  How to install Puppy on a Sony Viao with 64 MB of RAM?
Sub_title: Solved Mostly
 

I have a viao pcg-c1f, (233 pentium/64Mb/4Gb HDD)

I have managed to get it to boot from the floppy but not been able to get it to see the PCICMA CDROM drive with puppy linux on it.

At the moment it is running Exclamation Win98 Shocked but I want to completely wipe it and run linux on it.

Anybody able to give me some pointers on this one?

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
racepres


Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 531
Location: Central Michigan, US

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 22:16    Post_subject:  

Hairybiker... Drop me a PM I can make it go...
RP
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5242
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 22:29    Post_subject:  

hairybiker,
I think you have one of those Sony PCMCIA CD drives which uses a non-standard PCMCIA interface, so that the Sony bios can access it as a boot device.
Back in 2005 I used one of these to boot Puppy (ver 1.04!) on a "Superslim" VAIO PCG-505TS.

The trick is to use extra boot parameters so the CD device will be recognised as an IDE interface, not PCMCIA.
At the boot prompt, type this
Code:
puppy ide1=0x180,0x386 nopcmcia acpi=off

then press enter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5242
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 22:39    Post_subject:  

Oh, regarding 64MB RAM, that's quite a limiting factor. If you're keen on running Puppy in RAM, it will be essential to increase your RAM. You will require RAM that is unique to that model of VAIO, but it should still be available on eBay. If, like my PCG-505, the maximum RAM is 128MB, you can forget about using the latest Puppies. You should go back to Puppy 214X, and maybe even Puppy 2.01.

An easier option would be to do a full HD installation. Nuke your hard drive and format it with ext3. Then reboot and do a full HD install. Now the RAM requirements are really modest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
racepres


Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 531
Location: Central Michigan, US

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 23:30    Post_subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Oh, regarding 64MB RAM, that's quite a limiting factor. If you're keen on running Puppy in RAM, it will be essential to increase your RAM. You will require RAM that is unique to that model of VAIO, but it should still be available on eBay. If, like my PCG-505, the maximum RAM is 128MB, you can forget about using the latest Puppies. You should go back to Puppy 214X, and maybe even Puppy 2.01.

An easier option would be to do a full HD installation. Nuke your hard drive and format it with ext3. Then reboot and do a full HD install. Now the RAM requirements are really modest.

Agreed.. Tho I prefer Mean Puppy..
RP

EDIT:
I have ram around here that I don't even remember what it goes to.... Give me the type/spec, please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
hairybiker

Joined: 05 Feb 2011
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 06:09    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the replies. The Ram is fixed not upgradeable.
I want to install to HD.

The cdrom is not a sony one but I will try that command line and see if it sees it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sfeeley

Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 10:36    Post_subject:  

I've got a small-form sony laptop (a bit bigger than yours though). Ultimately I had to pull the hardrive manually, and stick it in another box to load puppy (I put on a bunch of different frugal installs so that I could test which ultimately worked, and then delete some later since manually getting the harddrive out was such a chore--small screws and patience!)

If you have win98 running on it, and a network connection, maybe somebody wiser than I can figure out a way to do a network install?

214x is nice. Also be sure to put in a swap partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 11:35    Post_subject: Re: How to install Puppy on a Sony Viao with 64 MB of RAM?  

hairybiker wrote:
I have a viao pcg-c1f, (233 pentium/64Mb/4Gb HDD)
I have managed to get it to boot from the floppy but not been able to get it to see the PCICMA CDROM drive with puppy linux on it.
At the moment it is running Exclamation Win98 Shocked but I want to completely wipe it and run linux on it.
Anybody able to give me some pointers on this one?

Without a working CD drive, it will be difficult. Is your bios set so that you can boot from a CD?

What are you booting from the floppy? If you are already booting a frugal installation of puppy on your hard drive, and you have more than one partition, there may be some hope getting a full hd installation. Otherwise, your best bet will be to pull the hd and install from another computer.

I have had success with Wary, puppy 4.2, and dpup on a similar Sony vaio with only 64MB ram, however it runs very slow and is probably not worth the effort to get it installed. Puppy 2.14 did not work on mine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hairybiker

Joined: 05 Feb 2011
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 11:54    Post_subject:  

I have a working cd drive it just isn't bootable on this system - it isn't a Sony one. Twisted Evil
I have created a floppy with WkPup2x v0.2 on it but it doesn't see the cdrom drive and I only have one usb port with the floppy in it. Embarassed

I have managed to get DSL booted by putting the KNOPPIX folder on the hdd, can I do the same with a puppy install?


I really want to re-format the hdd but not being able to get anything to reformat it with I am stuck at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 12:25    Post_subject:  

Maybe you could keep the Windows 98 and use the Lin'N'Win method.In any case you need More memory/a swap file
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hairybiker

Joined: 05 Feb 2011
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 12:33    Post_subject:  

OK removed the drive and have repartitioned it on my main pc.
Now have a / (3.5Gb) and a 512Mb swap partition.

Now how do I get puppy on to the drive without it writing to any of my other drives? I will (?) need grub installed on it to get it to boot.?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sfeeley

Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 809

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 12:59    Post_subject:  

if you use the puppy universal installer, and are careful about which drive is which, you should be fine--there are lots of safety checks along the way.

Before hand, take a look at how the drives are labled on your desktop, and write down which is which (if your not familiar with how they are labeled in linux)

BUT: I always worry about such things, so I manually disconnect all the drives except the one I want to install to. (Overkill, I'm ususally the one guy who screws things up so I try to be extra careful).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hairybiker

Joined: 05 Feb 2011
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 13:03    Post_subject:  

OK well since the drive to be installed on to is only 4GB and the rest are all 500Gb+ then it should be easy to spot Wink

Just blowing puppy 2.12 on to usb drive to test before I install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hairybiker

Joined: 05 Feb 2011
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 14:19    Post_subject:  

having a problem with the 2.14 image, it doesn't like my sata dvd drive. It boots then panics because it cant find an IDECD.
Is there any parameters I can pass to use usb/sata ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hairybiker

Joined: 05 Feb 2011
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 14:36    Post_subject:  

OK used the puppylite 4 cd instead.
Have installed it but when it boots it cant find the puppy_420 file and exits to a shell.

next? Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0762s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]