Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Apr 2014, 00:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to set up grub 2 to boot Puppy frugal install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3634
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 00:02    Post subject: Your GRUB2 instructions  

Thanks @HiDeHo

If I understand, you offer, here, "a method of transforming a GRUB Menu.lst formatted file into a GRUB2 configuration for a GRUB2 boot". Is that correct?

It appears to me to suggest that I use my system that already has GRUB2 operational, to create the configuration needed for Puppy to do the same thing via a directory "/Puppy520" on the running system.

Now, so that I am totally clear, "in what folder/directory should your last steps, here, be executed?" (in other words, when I open a terminal, what folder should I 'cd ...' to run the script?)

Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Thu 23 Jun 2011, 10:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 04:55    Post subject: Re: GRUB2 and Live media  

gcmartin wrote:
Shinobar setup his WARY(s) ISOs so that when booting your Live media (CD/DVD), you were paused at a GRUB4DOS screen.

To my knowledge, "HowTo" do this was never published by him.

Is there a chance that someone (s) could
  1. show us how to do build an ISO that's using GRUB2 on the Live media to boot Puppy?
  2. show us how to boot an Puppy ISO file that one has on a HDD using GRUB2?
Thanks in advance for any guidance on these 2 separate items.


Hi gc

25 April you wrote this "successful launch of booting any ISO from a menu.lst"

Some iso:s can be booted from grub4dos but not everyone. Those that are grub2 seems to need grub2 to boot the iso?

Unless you are on an USB and use mapping which mimic CDROM booting if I get it.

If one have grub2 that would most likely boot many more isos even on NTFS HDD.

I have only tested to boot Ubuntu, Peppermint and some others.

This question
Quote:
show us how to do build an ISO that's using GRUB2 on the Live media to boot Puppy?


has not been done yet. And none seems to see any usage of it. The Puppy community seems to say No to that one.

The second part of your question
Quote:
that one has on a HDD using GRUB2


That seems to get accomplished if one install one of those many many Linux distros that make use of grub2 but then one need to know how to do that without destroying the Windows install one already have unless one have ditched that one.

A compromise would be to install a grub2 distro to a USB and that way boot up any iso on the hdd.

I nagged so much that rcrsn51 did a one time offer to make such a one and it was based on what Lance did for Pendrivelinux but rcrsn51 adjusted it to work on Puppy but it has some limitations but I did boot some three or four isos with it. But it is way above my ability to give good advices on it.

But I do give my grub2 code in that thread as examples.
but it would most likely not be proper to give them here.

We could continues in that thread or using PM
How to Make a Bootable Flash Drive using GRUB2

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67235

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 284

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 07:53    Post subject:  

ubume2 wrote:
HiDeHo wrote:

first do you have a working installed os with grub 2 i asume your ubuntu partition does.


then you will need to use that. if you read the post by its-me-again adn his link you will see alot about how to tweek grub 2 read that first then try again. adn let us know how you get on


Yes, I have a grub2 on ubuntu. I can add Puppy on it to boot it. I read the wikka posted on its-me-again's first post. That is a tutorial on how to set up grub2. I use the same procedure.

Where I ran into problems was chrisbear's? list of grub entries and an entry to boot a grub2.cfg within /puppy525. My purpose was to boot up various puppy versions (frugal) located in a separate ext3 partition. Trying to avoid cluttering ubuntu's grub. I can easily add the additional puppy's to ubuntu's grub2 menu and get them to boot.

But I can't get it to chainload (if that's the right term) to the grub2.cfg. That is to have only one puppy entry on Ubuntu's grub to boot to grub2.cfg
where other puppy versions can be booted.

I am not certain that can be done unless a full install is done of each puppy version into separate partitions, where a separate /boot/grub/menu.lat exists (grub legacy in Puppy). I did extensive searches using Puppy's Google search engine and did not find a solution.

Thank you.


ok well it is fairly straight forward. first check you point to the correct file on your computer. and use the correct uuid. for your partiti0n.

I generally put each puppy in its own folder. so for puppy 520 i would put it in a folder /pup520 on the partition the puppy is on. then make sure i have the files needed to boot the os taken from the iso. or cd and my separate grub520.config file created with the boot options for the particular puppy in it. and i make sure that the initial Ubuntu grub menu is pointing to the exact folder and file name of the puppy config for the os i am pointing to.

then i need to make sure in the puppy grub config that it is pointing to the correct path that my files are for that puppy. then it should boot. it takes tweaking and changing configs like mine to what you have.

i hope that helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 284

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 07:54    Post subject: Re: GRUB2 and Live media  

gcmartin wrote:
Shinobar setup his WARY(s) ISOs so that when booting your Live media (CD/DVD), you were paused at a GRUB4DOS screen.

To my knowledge, "HowTo" do this was never published by him.

Is there a chance that someone (s) could
  1. show us how to do build an ISO that's using GRUB2 on the Live media to boot Puppy?
  2. show us how to boot an Puppy ISO file that one has on a HDD using GRUB2?
Thanks in advance for any guidance on these 2 separate items.


good idea i suggest a new post start for this
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 284

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 08:04    Post subject: Re: Your GRUB2 instructions  

gcmartin wrote:
Thanks @HiDeHo

If I understand, you offer, here, "a method of transforming a GRUB Menu.lst formatted file into a GRUB2 configuration for a GRUB2 boot". Is that correct?

It appears to me to suggest that I use my system that already has GRUB2 operational, to create the configuration needed for Puppy to do the same thing via a directory "/Puppy520" on the running system.

Now, so that I am totally clear, "in what folder/directory should your last steps, here, be executed?" (in other words, when I open a terminal, what folder should I 'cd ...' to run the script?)

Thanks in advance


it is a grub 2 post not grub1 there cant be converted as far as i am told.

yes i used an os that had grub 2 already installed but if you install it separately it will work the same. you need a boot-loader installed. you need to use the grub 2 format not any of the default puppy ones as the grub 1 and grub for dos are not recognized by grub 2

you need to cd to a folder where you put puppy Linux. i don't use terminal much i use the file browser and point to where i want the tile to go and save it via a txt editor when i have it.. you ned to cd to the folder where you are wanting or have things set up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ubume2


Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 21
Location: Middle West, United States

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2011, 20:07    Post subject:  

It's been a while since I have read this thread.

I have several distros, some that use grub2 and some grub1.

Using grub2 in my ubuntu install, I can pick up all grub1 and grub2 entries, and XP so I can boot into any distro I want. Exception is Puppy (frugally installed inside my Ubuntu partition), which has to be manually entered into 40_custom or other whatever custom number:


Quote:

menuentry "Puppy 525 on /dev/sda5" {
insmod ext2
set root=(hd0,5)
linux /puppy525/vmlinuz psubdir=puppy525
initrd /puppy525/initrd.gz
}


And it works great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8558
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jul 2011, 20:33    Post subject:  

You might want to include the argument "pdev1=sda5". That will save Puppy from searching through the other partitions looking for its core files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ubume2


Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 21
Location: Middle West, United States

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jul 2011, 07:27    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
You might want to include the argument "pdev1=sda5". That will save Puppy from searching through the other partitions looking for its core files.


Where? At the end of the linux line? Substitute for psubdir?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1288
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jul 2011, 08:10    Post subject:  

At the end of the linux line is best. Leave psubdir there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ubume2


Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 21
Location: Middle West, United States

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jul 2011, 15:01    Post subject:  

ICPUG wrote:
At the end of the linux line is best. Leave psubdir there.


Thanks. It works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [55 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0755s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]