Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 20:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to set up grub 2 to boot Puppy frugal install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
ubume2


Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 21
Location: Middle West, United States

PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2011, 12:11    Post_subject:  

Thanks nooby for url to that search engine. Am checking into the grub issue now.

It seems to be more thorough than a regular google search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11130
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2011, 12:54    Post_subject:  

As far as Ubuntu, I figure I'll probably run into control issues.

One boot manager and one menu for me. The reason why is some
previous severe data loss doing it with two grubs.

~

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ubume2


Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 21
Location: Middle West, United States

PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2011, 15:51    Post_subject:  

HiDeHo wrote:
Hi my grub 2 experiences are as follows.
........
2 I then went to /etc/grub.d/custom_40 and.added this.

menuentry 'Puppy Boot' {
search --set --fs-uuid abff01f4-2fbd-498a-bbf3-480beb990594
configfile /Puppy520/grub2.cfg
}

(this option boots, points and loads the grub2.cfg file above). you will need to change the uuid to the one from your hdd where puppy is. then point to the config file

then in the ubuntu os open a terminal and run this. sudo update-grub and your done.

I find this a much cleaner way to do things and you then get all the boot options from the puppy linux os

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I tried your approach, and did not work with my Ubuntu grub. I did a frugal install of Puppy 525 ext3 inside Ubuntu.

I started using this url:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64525

My grub2.cfg file was placed in /puppy525
It reads as follows:
#This is a config file to get grub to boot puppy linux.
menuentry 'LUPUP 5.2.0 BOOT OPTIONS' {
insmod
set root
linux
intird
}

menuentry '01. Puppy Linux' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,5)'
linux /Puppy525/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy525
initrd /Puppy525/initrd.gz
}
-------------------------------------------
I added to my Ubuntu grub custom menu
menuentry 'Puppy Boot' {
search --set --fs-uuid 9c9e90e7-a00e-4f70-a396-d75dc8124e69
configfile /Puppy525/grub2.cfg
}
and updated the grub menu
When I select it on the menu...I get a press any key message. Doesn't work. Any other suggestions?

IMO trying to use grub 4 dos, is a regression. But I don't think the "how to" above was using that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2011, 08:27    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
Thanks for the list but I did ask for those that was not Ubuntu. Many of these are based on Ubuntu.

Rather many. It is past 11PM here so I look into the list tomorrow.

How did you set up the search?

Have you actually read that their installer use grub2on NTFS HDD in frugal install loading their Iso or does the search just find the word grub2 in the review or something. I am very skeptical to that all of these mention would not be Ubuntu based and at same time using grub2 as installer and boot up after install.

They maybe can be booted by grub2 that is another thing I talk about that they exclusively use grub2 as their main way to install and boot just like the latest Ubuntu does. That is rare outside of Ubuntu inspired OS.


nooby. ubuntu is baised on debian so debian uses grub 2 any debian baised os would also use it. noobyare you new to linux - if so y not do some research into what linux is and how things are. instead of asuming things about linux. I remember it is hard to make the switch from windows o linux, but just do research, it takes some reading tutorials and manuals when you start out and understanding basic things before posting in forums about things.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2011, 08:32    Post_subject:  

ubume2 wrote:
HiDeHo wrote:
Hi my grub 2 experiences are as follows.
........
2 I then went to /etc/grub.d/custom_40 and.added this.

menuentry 'Puppy Boot' {
search --set --fs-uuid abff01f4-2fbd-498a-bbf3-480beb990594
configfile /Puppy520/grub2.cfg
}

(this option boots, points and loads the grub2.cfg file above). you will need to change the uuid to the one from your hdd where puppy is. then point to the config file

then in the ubuntu os open a terminal and run this. sudo update-grub and your done.

I find this a much cleaner way to do things and you then get all the boot options from the puppy linux os

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I tried your approach, and did not work with my Ubuntu grub. I did a frugal install of Puppy 525 ext3 inside Ubuntu.

I started using this url:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64525

My grub2.cfg file was placed in /puppy525
It reads as follows:
#This is a config file to get grub to boot puppy linux.
menuentry 'LUPUP 5.2.0 BOOT OPTIONS' {
insmod
set root
linux
intird
}

menuentry '01. Puppy Linux' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,5)'
linux /Puppy525/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy525
initrd /Puppy525/initrd.gz
}
-------------------------------------------
I added to my Ubuntu grub custom menu
menuentry 'Puppy Boot' {
search --set --fs-uuid 9c9e90e7-a00e-4f70-a396-d75dc8124e69
configfile /Puppy525/grub2.cfg
}
and updated the grub menu
When I select it on the menu...I get a press any key message. Doesn't work. Any other suggestions?

IMO trying to use grub 4 dos, is a regression. But I don't think the "how to" above was using that.



first do you have a working installed os with grub 2 i asume your ubuntu partition does.


then you will need to use that. if you read the post by its-me-again adn his link you will see alot about how to tweek grub 2 read that first then try again. adn let us know how you get on
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ubume2


Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 21
Location: Middle West, United States

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2011, 09:16    Post_subject:  

HiDeHo wrote:

first do you have a working installed os with grub 2 i asume your ubuntu partition does.


then you will need to use that. if you read the post by its-me-again adn his link you will see alot about how to tweek grub 2 read that first then try again. adn let us know how you get on


Yes, I have a grub2 on ubuntu. I can add Puppy on it to boot it. I read the wikka posted on its-me-again's first post. That is a tutorial on how to set up grub2. I use the same procedure.

Where I ran into problems was chrisbear's? list of grub entries and an entry to boot a grub2.cfg within /puppy525. My purpose was to boot up various puppy versions (frugal) located in a separate ext3 partition. Trying to avoid cluttering ubuntu's grub. I can easily add the additional puppy's to ubuntu's grub2 menu and get them to boot.

But I can't get it to chainload (if that's the right term) to the grub2.cfg. That is to have only one puppy entry on ubuntu's grub to boot to grub2.cfg
where other puppy versions can be booted.

I am not certain that can be done unless a full install is done of each puppy version into separate partitions, where a separate /boot/grub/menu.lst exists (grub legacy in Puppy). I did extensive searches using Puppy's google search engine and did not find a solution.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2011, 10:30    Post_subject:  

ubume2 here is how it looks on my grub4dos which is on the third partition.


title lupu-525 processor.max_cstate=1 i915.modeset=1 nosmp
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /lupu-525/vmlinuz pmedia=scsihd pdev1=sda3 psubdir=lupu-525 puppy nosmp pfix=fsck
initrd /lupu-525/initrd.gz

# Windows

title Windows Vista/2008/7\nBoot up Windows Vista/2008/7 if installed
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
chainloader /bootmgr


end of quote

So that is opposite what you have but kind of accomplish something similar. One only have to change in which order them boot.

As you see it is for windows vista or win 7.

so if you have win xp or only Ubuntu then it should be even more easy but maybe not the word bootmgr there. your bootmgr may be on hd0,0 instead?

So if you are able to set it up like me then the first boot screen would have either

Win 7
Ubuntu 11.04
Puppy Linux

and then if you click on or highlight or go down to Puppy Linux
only then you would see all the puppies you have entered in that grub4dos list.

Me setting the priority opposite see the Puppy linux first with windows in the end after some 20 puppy entries and knoppix and porteus and TCL remix.

HiDeHo I very much appreciate you care about me. Not everybody do so that is a good thing indeed.

What I try to do here now is to help ubume2 because I have what he want only that on my machine it is set up the other way around but basically it is identical so he should be able to mimic my set up and get what he wants.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ubume2


Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 21
Location: Middle West, United States

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2011, 09:44    Post_subject:  

Hello,
I tried grub4dos and it created a long list of installs.
Frankly, grub 1 and 2 are much more eye appealing, and for me easier to work with.

I don't think chrisbear's method works unless a full install of each Puppy version is done into separate partitions and with separate /boot/grub/menu.lst.

It appears that placing all my puppy installs on my ubuntu grub2 is the answer for me. I can control grub2, since I am familiar with it. Grub4dos certainly was "busy" and created a full screen of menu items.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 24 May 2011, 12:17    Post_subject:  

ubume2 my guess is that I or somebody more savvy than I should ahve warned you.

From you text I trust you talk about the program grub4dosconfig and not grub4dos as such.

grub4dosconfig try to be a very handy app that do all your work for you. So it list all OS that it could find on every partition and USB too.

So we failed to guess what it would look like from your situation and what you really expected would happen.

grub4dosconfig even need some touch up after so that the titles get names that us humans like. now it will give

Title lupu-535
while we most likely would prefer

Title Lucid Puppy Linux Version 5.2.5

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Indy'spup

Joined: 11 May 2011
Posts: 50
Location: SoCal

PostPosted: Wed 25 May 2011, 02:12    Post_subject:  

I really like Grub4Dos Smile

Grub4Dos helped make the configuration of a gfxmenu with a Frugal Install painless..

To be honest I couldn't find many posts with an efficient method to boot a Frugal install using Grub2 with a gfxmenu. Thanks to "mikeb" for adding his knowledge to the gfxmenu for Grub thread, I now have a Graphical Menu 'Cat Style' to boot a Frugal install using Grub4Dos v4.4 and it was so easy..
Wink

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=527032#527032

Smile
.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4355
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jun 2011, 13:14    Post_subject: GRUB2 and Live media  

Shinobar setup his WARY(s) ISOs so that when booting your Live media (CD/DVD), you were paused at a GRUB4DOS screen.

To my knowledge, "HowTo" do this was never published by him.

Is there a chance that someone (s) could
  1. show us how to do build an ISO that's using GRUB2 on the Live media to boot Puppy?
  2. show us how to boot an Puppy ISO file that one has on a HDD using GRUB2?
Thanks in advance for any guidance on these 2 separate items.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jun 2011, 05:27    Post_subject:  

ubume2 wrote:
HiDeHo wrote:
Hi my grub 2 experiences are as follows.
........
2 I then went to /etc/grub.d/custom_40 and.added this.

menuentry 'Puppy Boot' {
search --set --fs-uuid abff01f4-2fbd-498a-bbf3-480beb990594
configfile /Puppy520/grub2.cfg
}

(this option boots, points and loads the grub2.cfg file above). you will need to change the uuid to the one from your hdd where puppy is. then point to the config file

then in the ubuntu os open a terminal and run this. sudo update-grub and your done.


I find this a much cleaner way to do things and you then get all the boot options from the puppy linux os

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I tried your approach, and did not work with my Ubuntu grub. I did a frugal install of Puppy 525 ext3 inside Ubuntu.

I started using this url:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=64525

My grub2.cfg file was placed in /puppy525
It reads as follows:
#This is a config file to get grub to boot puppy linux.
menuentry 'LUPUP 5.2.0 BOOT OPTIONS' {
insmod
set root
linux
intird
}

menuentry '01. Puppy Linux' {
insmod ext2
set root='(hd0,5)'
linux /Puppy525/vmlinuz psubdir=Puppy525
initrd /Puppy525/initrd.gz
}
-------------------------------------------
I added to my Ubuntu grub custom menu
menuentry 'Puppy Boot' {
search --set --fs-uuid 9c9e90e7-a00e-4f70-a396-d75dc8124e69
configfile /Puppy525/grub2.cfg
}
and updated the grub menu
When I select it on the menu...I get a press any key message. Doesn't work. Any other suggestions?

IMO trying to use grub 4 dos, is a regression. But I don't think the "how to" above was using that.


thats because you are aproaching it all wrong.

i did document it fully did you read the first post link by its-me-again
then my links they kinda go together.

now the puppy grub is just with the puppy boot options. you need to find the uuid for the partition that the puppy grub is on. and add that to the puppy grub entry in /etc/grub.d/custom_40 then in ubuntu run "sudo update-grub" in a terminal and then it will update teh grub config of ubuntu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jun 2011, 05:44    Post_subject:  

ubume2 wrote:
HiDeHo wrote:

first do you have a working installed os with grub 2 i asume your ubuntu partition does.


then you will need to use that. if you read the post by its-me-again adn his link you will see alot about how to tweek grub 2 read that first then try again. adn let us know how you get on


Yes, I have a grub2 on ubuntu. I can add Puppy on it to boot it. I read the wikka posted on its-me-again's first post. That is a tutorial on how to set up grub2. I use the same procedure.

Where I ran into problems was chrisbear's? list of grub entries and an entry to boot a grub2.cfg within /puppy525. My purpose was to boot up various puppy versions (frugal) located in a separate ext3 partition. Trying to avoid cluttering ubuntu's grub. I can easily add the additional puppy's to ubuntu's grub2 menu and get them to boot.

But I can't get it to chainload (if that's the right term) to the grub2.cfg. That is to have only one puppy entry on ubuntu's grub to boot to grub2.cfg
where other puppy versions can be booted.

I am not certain that can be done unless a full install is done of each puppy version into separate partitions, where a separate /boot/grub/menu.lst exists (grub legacy in Puppy). I did extensive searches using Puppy's google search engine and did not find a solution.

Thank you.


i boot frugal installs all the time. from ubuntu grub 2 it seems pritty clair on how to do it from what its-me-again and i have said.
each partition has a unique uuid on it. you need to find that and replace the one in the example below. which is taken from /mnt/sda3/etc/grub.d/40_custom
menuentry 'Puppy520 Grub' {
search --set --fs-uuid c1f178e6-6f47-4318-9223-1dc1c750c06f
configfile /Puppy520/grub2Pup520.cfg

to find teh uuid for your partitions in terminal type blkid it will find all psrtitions that are mounted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jun 2011, 05:46    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
ubume2 here is how it looks on my grub4dos which is on the third partition.


title lupu-525 processor.max_cstate=1 i915.modeset=1 nosmp
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /lupu-525/vmlinuz pmedia=scsihd pdev1=sda3 psubdir=lupu-525 puppy nosmp pfix=fsck
initrd /lupu-525/initrd.gz

# Windows

title Windows Vista/2008/7\nBoot up Windows Vista/2008/7 if installed
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
chainloader /bootmgr


end of quote

So that is opposite what you have but kind of accomplish something similar. One only have to change in which order them boot.

As you see it is for windows vista or win 7.

so if you have win xp or only Ubuntu then it should be even more easy but maybe not the word bootmgr there. your bootmgr may be on hd0,0 instead?

So if you are able to set it up like me then the first boot screen would have either

Win 7
Ubuntu 11.04
Puppy Linux

and then if you click on or highlight or go down to Puppy Linux
only then you would see all the puppies you have entered in that grub4dos list.

Me setting the priority opposite see the Puppy linux first with windows in the end after some 20 puppy entries and knoppix and porteus and TCL remix.

HiDeHo I very much appreciate you care about me. Not everybody do so that is a good thing indeed.

What I try to do here now is to help ubume2 because I have what he want only that on my machine it is set up the other way around but basically it is identical so he should be able to mimic my set up and get what he wants.


nooby thanks but this post is about how to get grub 2 to boot puppy linux frugal installs. adn grub4dos is different to grub 2 ok
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jun 2011, 08:01    Post_subject:  

ok well another thing you can do to make life even easier. what i now have found and do is this.

with the main os that has grub2 mine mint 9 (built on ubuntu 10.04) i usually disable os-prober (this is the separate app included with grub 2 that gives the auto detection of os.) i removed the extra os i added from the file 40_cusom (mentioned in my post above to) and put them in the new custom.config file. /boot/grub/.custom.config then reboot and they are added. you do not need to run the command "sudo update-grub" if you use the custom.config file. this is handy because you can add the entries now from puppy without needing to boot into my mint os anymore. awesome.

Hope this makes things even easier. for all those of you who prefer grub. this makes grub 2 pretty similar and just as user-friendly again. still need to know the new grub 2 structure.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1130s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]