Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 16:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Opera 10 wont see my flash!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
hondasid


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 259
Location: Perry, OK

PostPosted: Thu 03 Feb 2011, 23:59    Post subject:  Opera 10 wont see my flash!  

I am currently building a puplet based off the Barebones Lucid 5.01 I made. The problem is that somewhere in the building of barebones, I have seriously injured the flash install. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I have searched the forum and google. I have all the mozilla plugins but opera still doesn't see them. updated to 11 and still didnt work even ff and sm wont see it. what did I do?
_________________
Instead of looking out Windows, I'm playing with my Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
hondasid


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 259
Location: Perry, OK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 00:33    Post subject:  

ok, so a fresh install of FF 3.6 finds and uses flash perfectly. how can i port this capability to opera 10? Opera 11 didn't see it either and it was way slower than either FF or Opera 10. Plus FF 3.6 still has a page tearing problem (it tore this page I am writing). Someone said use ldconfig, but all it did was go to the next line on the terminal. Any ideas?
_________________
Instead of looking out Windows, I'm playing with my Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 02:11    Post subject:  

In Opera:

(Ctrl-F12)->Advanced->Content->Plugin Options

(screencap)

The plugin path, at least on the Opera 11.01 .pet and .sfs I created, is

/usr/lib/opera/plugins:/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins:/usr/lib/xulrunner-addons/plugins

...so if libflashplayer.so is in any of these, and provided you have run ldconfig (if ldconfig just returns to a prompt, that means it completed correctly, with no errors) then Opera should find it.

If there is no "Shockwave Flash" plugin listed in the upper window of the Plug-ins dialog...then left-click the "Find New..." button at upper right on the Plug-ins dialog, and this should find libflashplayer.so.

If you want to block Flash animations unless you tell them to play, check "Enable plug-ins only on demand" on the Preferences screen. Otherwise, just check "Enable plug-ins".

As for the page tearing, I saw this in Opera, until I installed the ATi Catalyst driver for my ATi HD 4550 video card, as per the recommendation of the Lucid 5.20 Quickpet->Drivers dialog. Now scrolling is smooth as silk.

As for Opera being way slower than Firefox, try playing with the settings of Opera Turbo (little clock in the status bar at lower left, left-click the down-arrow beside it, Configure). Sometimes Turbo Auto or Turbo On helps tremendously. Sometimes not. Depends on the site.

HTH, SHS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hondasid


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 259
Location: Perry, OK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 02:33    Post subject:  

all of those plugins are there and the options are set in the right place. it still doesn't see them, not even java.

the page tearing i was referring to was in FF 3.6.3. I experience no problems other than loading plugins in Opera. And I meant FF was slower than Opera. Opera 11 was slower than 10, but still fast than FF. The auto-turbo feature is very nice.

_________________
Instead of looking out Windows, I'm playing with my Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 02:45    Post subject:  

hondasid wrote:
all of those plugins are there and the options are set in the right place. it still doesn't see them, not even java.
Well then, something isn't right. If Firefox can use it, then Opera should be able to.

Are you using my Opera 11.01 .pet or .sfs, Michalis's, one of the installers from opera.com, or some other distribution of it?

I am finding Opera 11 to be significantly faster than 10.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hondasid


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 259
Location: Perry, OK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 03:00    Post subject:  

yeah i know, thats what i'm trying to figure out. i don't even know where to go. I'm gonna have to pull out my linux textbook and see what i can find that may help me debug this thing.

The installs I'm using have come straight from the puppy ibiblio site.

_________________
Instead of looking out Windows, I'm playing with my Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 03:12    Post subject:  

hondasid wrote:
The installs I'm using have come straight from the puppy ibiblio site.
I take that to mean,
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Opera-11.00-Lucid.pet

I'll have it downloaded in 15 minutes, then take a look at it.

Meanwhile, have you tried

View->Developer Tools->Plug-Ins

and make sure they are all Enable'd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hondasid


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 259
Location: Perry, OK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 03:20    Post subject:  

theyre not showing up to enable. when i click on plug-ins options it shows no plug ins recognized at all. I have 5 folders listed to search for plug-ins and not a single one is recognized. i have figure out the java problem and that is my fault. i still can't beat this flash thing though.
_________________
Instead of looking out Windows, I'm playing with my Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 03:42    Post subject:  

Hmm. I remember now, I tried Opera-11.00-Lucid and found it to be lacking in fit, finish, and feel. Which was one reason why I set out to create my own.

Attached is the file /root/.opera/operaprefs.ini from my present installation of 11.01. Compare it to the /root/.opera/operaprefs.ini from your present installation of Opera-11.00-Lucid and you'll see that much is left unset in the latter. Actually, I do not believe that a fresh package of Opera should contain anything in /root at all, in other words /root/.opera should not exist inside the .pet, it should rather be allowed to be created and initialized by Opera itself upon first run--in other words, not pre-set by the packager (and, yeah, I know, I violated that rule in my pre-11.01 Opera packages. With experience comes whizdumb.).

I suggest you uninstall Opera-11.00-Lucid, reboot and delete /root/.opera, then install my 11.01 .pet. And give it the mods I suggest in the second post in that thread. Set up this way, it really kicks a$$.
operaprefs.ini.gz
Description  /root/.opera/operaprefs.ini from the SHS Opera-11.01, as presently configured
gz

 Download 
Filename  operaprefs.ini.gz 
Filesize  6.47 KB 
Downloaded  149 Time(s) 

Last edited by Sit Heel Speak on Fri 04 Feb 2011, 03:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hondasid


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 259
Location: Perry, OK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 03:57    Post subject:  

ok, I'm downloading ur version now and will look at the file difference. I'll post the result in a few minutes.
_________________
Instead of looking out Windows, I'm playing with my Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 04:04    Post subject:  

Great. I'm going to bed now. Back in 12 or so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hondasid


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 259
Location: Perry, OK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 04:11    Post subject:  

Sorry, no good. It works great and ur right, it is a lot faster than the repo version, even than 10, so I'm keeping it. Now I just need to solve this pesky plugin problem. Great job on the pet and I'm sure my error has nothing to do with it. I have it working on at least 2 other pups of the same version. I believe the problem lies somewhere in a removed file in barebones. maybe I'll go back and rebuild it and leave the flash and browser libs alone.

anyone have any ideas about how i can figure out what file is missing? (terminal commands, etc.)

_________________
Instead of looking out Windows, I'm playing with my Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 19:11    Post subject:  

This is really silly.
There was a thread about it.
I found a solution, something about some dll's.
But I can't remember exactly what.

Maybe searching on opera or/and flashplayer with the puppysearch link in my sig can lead you to the thread.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hondasid


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 259
Location: Perry, OK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Feb 2011, 21:26    Post subject:  

beem, I've spent three days on this problem now. I've gone through the forum and puppy search and all of the solutions I have found have not worked.
_________________
Instead of looking out Windows, I'm playing with my Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sat 05 Feb 2011, 04:21    Post subject:  

I'm downloading Barebones-501 overnight, and tomorrow will run it through my Clipper script and see that way what the differences are between it and regular Lucid-501. Maybe something obvious will jump out at me. Also, will see if my Opera package has any problems running under Lucid-501.

Meanwhile, have you tried running
Code:
cd /usr/lib/opera
ldd opera
and see if anything shows as missing? Here it is in Puppy Studio 3.3, which is Lucid 5.20 under the hood:
Code:
# pwd
/usr/lib/opera
# ldd opera
   linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xffffe000)
   libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0xb7655000)
   libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXext.so.6 (0xb7645000)
   libSM.so.6 => /usr/lib/libSM.so.6 (0xb763b000)
   libICE.so.6 => /usr/lib/libICE.so.6 (0xb7622000)
   libXft.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXft.so.2 (0xb760e000)
   libfreetype.so.6 => /usr/lib/libfreetype.so.6 (0xb7598000)
   libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0xb7580000)
   librt.so.1 => /lib/librt.so.1 (0xb7577000)
   libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xb7572000)
   libz.so.1 => /lib/libz.so.1 (0xb755d000)
   libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 (0xb7467000)
   libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0xb7441000)
   libgcc_s.so.1 => /lib/libgcc_s.so.1 (0xb7422000)
   libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb72d9000)
   libfontconfig.so.1 => /usr/lib/libfontconfig.so.1 (0xb72a8000)
   libXrender.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXrender.so.1 (0xb729e000)
   libxcb.so.1 => /usr/lib/libxcb.so.1 (0xb7284000)
   libuuid.so.1 => /lib/libuuid.so.1 (0xb727f000)
   /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb7774000)
   libexpat.so.1 => /lib/libexpat.so.1 (0xb7258000)
   libXau.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXau.so.6 (0xb7253000)
   libXdmcp.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXdmcp.so.6 (0xb724d000)
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0742s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0075s) ][ GZIP on ]