Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 25 Aug 2019, 20:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 25 of 31 [463 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
cimarron


Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Fri 26 Sep 2014, 19:22    Post subject:  

When I installed the bash "shellshock" fix (either the first or second one, using ubuntu precise packages for my precise 5.7.1 pup) it seems to have broken frisbee somewhat. It connects okay (to the previously configured network) and I can run the manager, but no networks show up in the scan results window, and no interfaces show up in the interfaces tab window. Anyone else have this problem?

When I switch back to a save file without the bash fix, frisbee works fine.

Last edited by cimarron on Sat 27 Sep 2014, 20:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stray_dog

Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Fri 26 Sep 2014, 19:56    Post subject:  

Weird! I will test & report back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron


Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Sat 27 Sep 2014, 08:04    Post subject:  

Here's at least one confirmation, by OscarTalks:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=95819&start=65
Quote:
I was testing Slacko 5.7 with the first slackware patch applied yesterday and did notice that Frisbee seemed dead as a dodo. Other network tools were still OK.


When I uninstalled the patch, Frisbee was okay again. I'd rather have bash unpatched than lose Frisbee, but if there is a way to fix it, all the better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5345
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 27 Sep 2014, 14:14    Post subject:  

Request - if samba or samba client is running then warn the user.

_______________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Sat 27 Sep 2014, 19:53    Post subject:  

cimarron wrote:
When I installed the bash "shellshock" fix (either the first or second one, using ubuntu precise packages for my precise 5.7.1 pup) it seems to have broken frisbee somewhat. It connects okay and I can run the manager, but no networks show up in the scan results window, and no interfaces show up in the interfaces tab window. Anyone else have this problem?

When I switch back to a save file without the bash fix, frisbee works fine.


Frisbee beta4 in Carolina won't import functions with all versions of the patched bash that I've tested.

Sample:
Code:
sh: error importing function definition for `get-interfaces'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-dhcp-auto-wireless'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-bssid'
sh: error importing function definition for `start-wpa'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-priority'
sh: error importing function definition for `wpaconf-edit'
sh: error importing function definition for `wait-disconnect'
sh: error importing function definition for `reset-dhcp'
sh: error importing function definition for `set-drop-timeout'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-static-ip'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-conn-state'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-dhcp-auto'
sh: error importing function definition for `update-dhcp'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-gateway'
sh: error importing function definition for `set-ap-scan'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-status'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-enc'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-auth-alg'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-mask-wireless'
sh: error importing function definition for `connection-check'
sh: error importing function definition for `get-key'
sh: error importing function definition for `current-status'

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1876
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2014, 01:25    Post subject:  

With the patched bash there is a problem using hyphens in functions: you have to change them in underscores. I reached some success in patching frisbee but I am not a programmer. It's a job for more experienced guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1949
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2014, 12:52    Post subject: Re: stray_dog's and cimmaron's Issues  

Sorry to be so silent on these issues. Distracted by other high priority activities. I have been working the SSID prompt problem as part of my next frisbee upload, 1.2.4. The problem appears to be a timing problem in that the networks are scanned every 15 seconds and the results obtained. Independently, when the user clicks "Connect", the results are also obtained at that time, regardless of the state of scanning. In my testing, too, I sometimes see only a partial list of the available networks, indicating that a desired network may not always be seen by wpa_supplicant (which is doing the scanning).

For connecting, the SSID and encryption settings are obtained from reading the scan results. If the entry for the desired network is not obtained, the SSID prompt is issued. That prompt appears to be intended only for "hidden" SSIDs; but the other case is not separately detected. I am changing that. I am about to make a "debug" version of frisbee to log what happens in these cases, so that I can add code to handle them.

Regarding the Bash patches and frisbee's function names containing hyphens, I would like to wait to see if the intolerance of the hyphens is now permanent in Bash or is just a bug in the patch. So that I can continue working on frisbee, could some of you research the prospect for hyphens and Bash going forward? If it turns out that hyphens will be forbidden, I will change the names to use underscores. But I first need to know whether that is actually necessary.

Afterthought: Since puppy seems to use underscores instead of hyphens in function names, I think I will go ahead and convert the function names to use underscores. That just seems better, to conform to puppy convention.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3056

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2014, 15:22    Post subject:  

AFAIK hyphens were never allowed in shell names and thus variable names.
I do not think that is the new bash versions that did that.
(here is a fast ref). They are allowed in function names, however and this still works with the new bash versions.

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron


Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2014, 18:08    Post subject:  

I can verify that watchdog's advice can be used to fix Frisbee so it works with the updated bash. Mine works fine now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1949
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Sep 2014, 19:24    Post subject: Debug tool for SSID prompt problem  

Here is a debug patch to frisbee that logs info when a "Connect" cannot be processed due to absence of an SSID when frisbee needs it. Instead of the "Enter the SSID" message (unless the SSID is hidden), the message will be:
"Network information for [interface] not available. Please try again to connect."

The data will be logged to /tmp/debug.log, which will be captured by a pdiag operation.

The debug code is in the 'func' file, which contains some other fixes going into 1.2.4. It should work, though, with the 1.2.3-20140912 that you are probably using. You can uninstall the debug package to restore whatever you had before as the 'func' file.

Please send me the debug.log file or a pdiag containing it, or just post the content of the file if it is small. Thanks for your help with this.
Richard
frisbee_debug-20140928.pet
Description  Debug package for users seeing the "Enter SSID" message when trying to
connect to a wireless network.
pet

 Download 
Filename  frisbee_debug-20140928.pet 
Filesize  19.96 KB 
Downloaded  271 Time(s) 

Last edited by rerwin on Mon 29 Sep 2014, 11:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 29 Sep 2014, 00:45    Post subject:  

Frisbee is working again with the latest bash update version 4.3.27-1
_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stray_dog

Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue 30 Sep 2014, 14:25    Post subject:  

Quote:
Please send me the debug.log file or a pdiag containing it, or just post the content of the file if it is small. Thanks for your help with this.
Thank you, rerwin - I will try this when I get home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1949
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Oct 2014, 17:32    Post subject:  

Frisbee-1.3 Now Available
I have uploaded another version of the frisbee network manager, frisbee-1.3-20140930:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=780962#780962

The main improvements are further improvements to the main dialog "Connect" function, particularly a bug fix in connecting to the selected wireless network. The details are in the usual place at the above link.

I bumped the version to 1.3 because of the many upgrades to the button and field "greying out" and other bug fixes begun in 1.2.3, which constitute visible and operational improvements over 1.2.

Please report any regressions or annoyances, so that I might address them. Thank you for your continued interest in frisbee.

BTW, do not install the "debug" package on the previous page into "1.3", because it would "undo" some of the latest fixes. I suspect that the debug package is unlikely to find anything to log, due to one of the fixes in 1.2.3 -- and now 1.3 -- which appears to avoid the problem that would trigger the logging.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stray_dog

Joined: 18 Mar 2014
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Wed 01 Oct 2014, 18:53    Post subject:  

Hello, rerwin! Of course I was all ready to encounter the phenomenon, then it didn't happen. But tonight I installed your debug .pet and got the error message! The debug file contains:

add-profile - INTERFACE: wlan0 FLAGS: [ESS]
12866 add-profile - BSSID: '08:d0:9f:87:f5:a0' STATE: 'wpa_state=SCANNING' SSID: '' scan_results:
'bssid / frequency / signal level / flags / ssid'

I'll attach the pdiag tarball if it turns out to be useful. I'm using the original frisbee that came with slacko 5.6 and your updated dhcpcd for slacko. I'll try more updated versions of frisbee according to your comments above and see what happens.

Also, thank you for your explanation of what frisbee is doing in your earlier post. It's interesting - I often have clicked on a displayed network to connect to it, only to have the screen go blank & then repopulate networks bit by bit & never understood why that was happening. It's interesting!
pdiag-20141001.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pdiag-20141001.tar.gz 
Filesize  142.26 KB 
Downloaded  262 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1949
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Oct 2014, 23:08    Post subject:  

stray_dog wrote:
add-profile - INTERFACE: wlan0 FLAGS: [ESS]
12866 add-profile - BSSID: '08:d0:9f:87:f5:a0' STATE: 'wpa_state=SCANNING' SSID: '' scan_results:
'bssid / frequency / signal level / flags / ssid'
Thanks for trying the debug package. Your result confirms my suspicion that the "connect" logic looked for results while the periodic scan was in progress. Frisbee-1.2.3 and 1.3 should prevent that from happening.

In 1.3, if the scanning were to take a long time, then maybe the "connect" would see 'scanning'. If that happens we would see the new message "Network information for [interface] not available. Please try again to connect.". That would mean that I need to add logic to wait for any slow scanning. So, if anyone sees that message, please tell me about it.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 25 of 31 [463 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1845s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1141s) ][ GZIP on ]